Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory GameCube

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 31, 2005
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. While the GameCube version isn't as complete as the Xbox version, the overall quality of the gameplay is intact and the Cube exclusives are an excellent touch and worth the price of admission.
  2. 85
    GameCube owners are still missing out on the joy of adversarial, but they can still enjoy the best single player stealth-action experience on the system to date.
  3. 85
    The GameCube version adds yet another setback on top of what's in the PS2 version: no versus mode altogether. This wasn't unexpected given that the GameCube isn't an online-friendly console, but this missing feature limits the overall package a bit.
  4. The game's tweaks, graphics update, and gameplay mode additions make it one of the better games in the "bang for your buck" category. The Gamecube version is noticeable inferior to the other versions of the game, however, so those versions are recommended.
  5. The entire time I played the game, I wondered why it didn't compel me as much as I knew such a well-designed game should. I have come to the conclusion that it is because I've seen three of these games in the last couple of years.
  6. Chaos Theory gives a compelling gameplay experience that suffers a bit from a weak narrative and a failure to make consistent use of the graphical power of the Gamecube. Even with its flaws, it's one of the best games available for the Gamecube.
  7. The final difference between the Xbox and GameCube versions that I'll mention is a horrible oversight in the Displace level.
  8. No longer is there just one way to solve a treacherous night mission before the enemy picks up your audio signature: stealth will pay off just as well as good old-fashioned ultraviolence.
  9. 100
    Nearly every game area we encountered was more realistically lit, which often meant fewer places to hide. New motion-captured moves supplement Fisher's already impressive range of actions, and watching him clamber over a railing is simply one of the best animations in gaming.
  10. Though the Gamecube version of Chaos Theory suffers from tricky control and is missing online play, it's still an involved, mature game.
  11. Edge Magazine
    80
    Chaos Theory is the game that the original Splinter Cell was meant to deliver: a tight play experience within a trusty framework, one more of enjoyment than irritation, and a game that's no longer exclusively for fans of repeated reloading. [Apr 2005, p.97]
  12. games(TM)
    80
    Despite the inclusion of new gadgets and stunning visuals, the series is starting to decompose; playing the same thing over and over is beginning to wear a little thin. It's a good job the multiplayer experience continues to blossom. [Apr 2005, p.90]
  13. Play Magazine
    95
    In all things small and epic, from the palpable graininess of the game's predominantly poorly lit environments, to the endlessly thrilling second installment of the spies vs. mercenaries online competitions, Theory does not disappoint. [May 2005, p.44]
  14. It's involving, at times surprising, and vastly entertaining throughout. The tight controls, the amazingly large skill set that Sam has, and the carefully woven tale of double-crossing and high-tech terrorism all combine to make this game one of the best spy-fiction titles available anywhere.
  15. 90
    Ubisoft knows what it's doing.
  16. For all the new moves and multiplayer modes, it's still the same old Splinter Cell it's always been. Still tense, still frustrating, still endearing, still maddening.
  17. Perhaps Sam is just getting older, perfecting his skills while losing some feistiness. His games are following the same path, with increasingly sophisticated, deep gameplay but a little less flair.
  18. As good a stealth game as you'll find on the GameCube.
  19. Chaos Theory can be defined as mild revolution. It brings freshness to the series without alienating what made it good in the first place. Only calculated risks were taken here.
  20. Nintendo Power
    82
    Yes, it is a well-designed, immersive game, but there's no reason the graphics shouldn't be better. [June 2005, p.94]
  21. As soon as you can get the hang of grabbing guards and completing the objectives, the game will fly by in a whirl of fun.
  22. If you can't play the game on another console, it's still a great buy.
  23. Without a doubt the best the stealth genre can offer... One of the best games I have ever played.

Awards & Rankings

#26 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory is not a game for everyone, and not in the way of most people doing bad, but in the way of everyone wanting to doSplinter Cell: Chaos Theory is not a game for everyone, and not in the way of most people doing bad, but in the way of everyone wanting to do good. Splinter Cell makes everyone a perfectionist by the time they put down the controller and reap their rewards. For there is not a single game more rewarding than this. I've seriously never played a game in which I wanted to do so good. Playing this game I can play a level over and over again till I beat it without getting caught, without setting an alarm or dying etc. I can do this because the game works, and there is not a single better Stealth game out there. You'll be shooting sticky cameras, hanging from pipes, neutralizing enemies, disabling lights and so on. There is so much to do that the controller is riddled with combos in order to fit the complexity to your finger tips.The game is in Third Person and is all about being a spy and getting through a level without getting caught by your enemies. The enemies are also decently intelligent, and will do well to get your heart racing in moments. The gameplay is very much so slow, and doesn't let you switch things up with a firefight. It's all stealth, all the time. There are multiple places of entry into pretty much every room, and there are loads of ways to take out the enemy. The majority of the time you do better to either sneak around or neutralize them (you get more points this way). Everything is there and everything works perfectly, and it should because unlike Shooters and everything else, things are much more frustrating in a game where you lose whence getting caught once, or so it was in your mind. The Gamecube version looks great, probably the best of the three, but it's not the one worth buying for it doesn't offer the multiplayer experience. Best bets are on buying the Xbox version. The lasting appeal just isn't there for the Gamecube version like it is with the Xbox and PS2 versions. Though the campaign is worth beating multiple times. Oh yeah the story..... It's really really boring, but that's not what this game is about. It's a simple concept, wrapped in Tom Clancy complexity and does absolutely nothing in the way of interesting character development. I saved that for the last because if you want a good or interesting story in gaming, you can find a lot in a lot of other places. This is pure hardcore gameplay at it's finest. Full Review »
  2. JuanR.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    this is a very good game and i must to say that i enjoy it very much, so you need to proove it.
  3. Nout
    Feb 6, 2006
    9
    Luckily no one likes the Gamecube and no one wants an excellent game when there's a better version of the same game, so I got this game Luckily no one likes the Gamecube and no one wants an excellent game when there's a better version of the same game, so I got this game really cheap. I was preparing myself for a disappointment, knowing that graphically this GC port sucks...but it looks terrific! Yes, from what I've seen, the XBox version is better, graphically and with online multiplayer features. I prefer single player games anyway This GC port looks better than the first Splinter Cell and I still am impressed with the looks of that game. I don't think in phrases like "graphics look dated" when I'm gaming...I like my N64 games just as much and they still look great. If you own an Xbox, get that one, simple as that, but you can get a GC version for very cheap. If you can live with poorer graphics (which stiil look very good) and no online multiplayer feature this game is for you. Full Review »