Ultimate Spider-Man GameCube

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2017
    10
    This game is amazing, and was easily one of my favorite games from my childhood. The novel style graphics are fantastic and make you feel as though you are playing a comic book, which is awesome for me. I have also played Web of Shadows and Shattered Dimensions (Which are also amazing), but this game has a special place in my heart.
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    The storyline is super short, a little lame, but gameplay is solid. Webslinging could probably not have been any better. I didn't enjoy the game for the story/missions though. The races, slinging through the cities, hitting all the marks, I never beat even one insane race, they were well.. insane! Awesome game, have now owned it 3 seperate times.
  3. May 31, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite Spider-Man games of all time. The gameplay is very similar to Spider-Man 2 (which is a game I love dearly) and you get to play as Venom, who is my favorite Spidey villain ever. I love feeding on people and destroying cars as Venom and I really like unlocking cool costumes (although I never unlocked the black suit for Spider-Man). The boss battles are great. You get to fight Venom four times and you also get to fight Electro and Carnage. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This is another extremely good Spider-Man video game. Spider-Man has always been my favorite comic book superhero, and this one captures the world of the comics excellently. The gameplay is the same as Spider-Man 2 the game. This is not to say it is bad, because it is quite good. This game is another free-roamer in which you play as Spider-Man, fight crime, and do story missions. However, this game also has a small twist. Spider-Man isn't the only playable character in this game. You can also play as Spidey's old foe Venom, and go on a rampage. So now you can play as both a hero and a villain in this amazing game. There aren't any buildings that you can go into like in Spider-Man 2, but that doesn't change how awesome the gameplay is. Actually, the gameplay does still have problems. For one thing, it's really hard when compared to Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2 was pretty much average at all with the story missions and crimes, but Ultimate Spider-Man shows no mercy. There are several annoying doors you have to open by hammering the R and L buttons which can get really annoying fast. Also, the amount of time you have to complete certain missions isn't as generous. I know it's unfair to judge a game by difficulty alone, but this game is hard compared to its predecessor. As for the graphics, they're still on the decent side, but are better than Spider-Man 2. Instead of trying to be realistic, they look more like a comic book. In other words, the graphics are cartoony instead of realistic. However, the best thing about this game overall is the story. The story is the same as one of the Ultimate Spider-Man comics, and they chose a really good story too. It's the story of how Peter Parker (Spider-Man), and Eddie Brock's (Venom) parents were working on a cure for cancer. After they died in a plane crash, Peter and Eddie wanted to continue from where they left off. They created a suit that they thought would cure cancer, and Peter decided to try it. This magnified his Spider-powers, but also his anger. Peter then destroyed the suit, deciding it was too dangerous. Eddie then found out who Peter really was, and used the chemicals on himself to become Venom. That was just the beginning of the whole thing. Overall, Ultimate Spider-Man is one of the best superhero games I've ever played. Collapse
  5. ShaneS.
    May 12, 2006
    5
    This game has been overhyped by a few sites. I bought it based on a couple reviews that gave it a nine or above. I enjoyed Spiderman 2, and was expecting a Cell shaded improvement. Unfortunatly the web swinging, and combat are both dumbed down, and most of the missions are mindless chase missions. You do almost nothing but chasing bad guys. It might be fun except the web slinging is This game has been overhyped by a few sites. I bought it based on a couple reviews that gave it a nine or above. I enjoyed Spiderman 2, and was expecting a Cell shaded improvement. Unfortunatly the web swinging, and combat are both dumbed down, and most of the missions are mindless chase missions. You do almost nothing but chasing bad guys. It might be fun except the web slinging is dumbed down, and the buildings are spaced out too far, making chasing extremely difficult. Not much else to say. It's short simple, and almost as bad as the original spiderman game. Expand
  6. MikeG.
    Nov 26, 2005
    6
    Fun while the main game lasted, which for me was only about four hours :(
  7. JoshH.
    Oct 3, 2005
    3
    I liked the other spidey games. You know, the one where you didn't spend half the time (three hours) chasing the villians.
  8. DraekeL.
    Oct 3, 2005
    9
    The Web swinging was a great experience, and the combat was alright. The most that i liked about the game was the fact that that the world was colorful, and you didn't see the same building twice, unless it was like your house or somthing... The story missions were a bit boring, but everything else was awsome. Gret job Treyarch! =)
  9. FiratA.
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    As a real fan of ultimate spidey i had 8 times more fun than anyone could!!!!! that would go for every single fan of ultimate spidey. cuz there are a lot of details in the game that only real fans would compeletly understand. especially the story itself :D if you are not a fan. story is still quite entertaining.but the characters will look a little weird for you spidey himself is only 15As a real fan of ultimate spidey i had 8 times more fun than anyone could!!!!! that would go for every single fan of ultimate spidey. cuz there are a lot of details in the game that only real fans would compeletly understand. especially the story itself :D if you are not a fan. story is still quite entertaining.but the characters will look a little weird for you spidey himself is only 15 years old. and that can be understood with every single action he does. finally we have a spidey game that spidey really talks like spidey. ultimate spider-man never gets serious he always keeps talking and making lame jokes then feels bad about that awful joke an makes another one!!!!!!! but i can assure you that everything except of spider-man takes everything quite seriously.every single boss is hard to fight and every building is tall enough to climb except the ones in queens which is another fun place to be at to summarize ultimate spider-man is the ultimate game for all spidey fans. and it gives you the chance to have fun with venom who simply destroys and eats everything he can see!!!! tired of being a hero be the villain as well that s fun. Expand
  10. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This is another extremely good Spider-Man video game. Spider-Man has always been my favorite comic book superhero, and this one captures the world of the comics excellently. The gameplay is the same as Spider-Man 2 the game. This is not to say it is bad, because it is quite good. This game is another free-roamer in which you play as Spider-Man, fight crime, and do story missions. However, this game also has a small twist. Spider-Man isn't the only playable character in this game. You can also play as Spidey's old foe Venom, and go on a rampage. So now you can play as both a hero and a villain in this amazing game. There aren't any buildings that you can go into like in Spider-Man 2, but that doesn't change how awesome the gameplay is. Actually, the gameplay does still have problems. For one thing, it's really hard when compared to Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2 was pretty much average at all with the story missions and crimes, but Ultimate Spider-Man shows no mercy. There are several annoying doors you have to open by hammering the R and L buttons which can get really annoying fast. Also, the amount of time you have to complete certain missions isn't as generous. I know it's unfair to judge a game by difficulty alone, but this game is hard compared to its predecessor. As for the graphics, they're still on the decent side, but are better than Spider-Man 2. Instead of trying to be realistic, they look more like a comic book. In other words, the graphics are cartoony instead of realistic. However, the best thing about this game overall is the story. The story is the same as one of the Ultimate Spider-Man comics, and they chose a really good story too. It's the story of how Peter Parker (Spider-Man), and Eddie Brock's (Venom) parents were working on a cure for cancer. After they died in a plane crash, Peter and Eddie wanted to continue from where they left off. They created a suit that they thought would cure cancer, and Peter decided to try it. This magnified his Spider-powers, but also his anger. Peter then destroyed the suit, deciding it was too dangerous. Eddie then found out who Peter really was, and used the chemicals on himself to become Venom. That was just the beginning of the whole thing. Overall, Ultimate Spider-Man is one of the best superhero games I've ever played. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

30
19
#19 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
20
#20 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. AceGamez
    60
    Ultimate Spider-Man may look very stylish and visually capture the essence of a comic perfectly, but the gameplay feels like a swing backwards in almost every department.
  2. Edge Magazine
    50
    Did a purse-holder at Activision one day grapple fruitlessly with the last game's control system and scrawl in their subsequent notes "Make the next one so that I can play it"? Speculation aside, someone sure messed-up Spider-Man. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 95
    A vibrant, eye-popping superhero disc that has more style, wit and compelling gameplay in its first 10 minutes than most games have in their entirety.