Virtua Quest Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Virtua Quest, you play the role Sei, a young boy. As you explore each stage, you'll discover Virtua Souls, data clusters that contain information about the martial arts abilities of the legendary Virtua Fighter characters. With each cluster, you gain the ability to perform complexIn Virtua Quest, you play the role Sei, a young boy. As you explore each stage, you'll discover Virtua Souls, data clusters that contain information about the martial arts abilities of the legendary Virtua Fighter characters. With each cluster, you gain the ability to perform complex fighting moves. As the story progresses, you discover that only you can unlock the potential of the Virtua Souls--a discovery that soon gains the attention of Judgement 6, an evil syndicate. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Isn't quite the RPG it originally promised to be. However, the great fighting engine and deep character customization makes Virtua Fighter Cyber Generation [Virtua Quest] stand above the average 3D brawler. [JPN Import]
  2. 66
    The action is mediocre at best, and the platform elements feel sloppy and unrefined. The graphics and sound are equally forgetful. The only glaring problem comes by way of the silly camera. It really gets in your way and detracts from the overall experience.
  3. The platforming and fighting controls are a little unwieldy. [March 2005, p.106]
  4. I found myself repeating ("stupid") endlessly as I writhed and winced my way through this lifeless and contrived adventure. [Jan 2005, p.119]
  5. How could a game with so much potential end up such a mess? [Feb 2005, p.100]
  6. What we are left with is a game without a defined audience, and is really annoying. Maybe they'll make a sequel- a fighting game where you just smack Hayami up and down the street. I'd probably play that.
  7. Fighting in Virtua Quest turned out to be rather dull. While players can pick up special abilities, most of our fights usually wound up in a button-mashing frenzy.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Kammahasse
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    I have one thing to say if you like final fantasy crystal chronicles then youll love this.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 17, 2006
    7
    It wasn't that bad! You have to admit, it was a good fighting game (though it does have an odd style) with great graphics and fun It wasn't that bad! You have to admit, it was a good fighting game (though it does have an odd style) with great graphics and fun gameplay. Though the story was hard to follow, it was a great game worth more credit. Expand
  3. CoffinSandman
    Oct 22, 2007
    3
    The worst thing Ive ever played on Gamecube. The controls and action are incredibly boring and repetative. The graphix and environments are The worst thing Ive ever played on Gamecube. The controls and action are incredibly boring and repetative. The graphix and environments are insulting to Virtua Fighter. The main character looks like a cross between Gohan from DBZ and the 11 year old Frankie Munez. While it isnt really bad enough to earn a zero, it sure aint worth playing either. Collapse
  4. Sam
    Apr 15, 2005
    3
    Although not zero worthy, i will agree with Maunel T. that this game sucks. I'd pay good money to see the f..ckin' annoyin brat Sei Although not zero worthy, i will agree with Maunel T. that this game sucks. I'd pay good money to see the f..ckin' annoyin brat Sei to get swalloed whole by a snake, the controls suck, the gameplay is on par (or even below) with the sh.tty grabbed by the ghoulies, and the plot is another f.ckin' sh.tty Cyper-world in peril by half-ass bad guys and must be saved by a half-ass dork. Avoid it like you would a party being thrown by a geek with a crush on his sister named Olga. Expand
  5. ManuelT.
    Feb 13, 2005
    0
    This game is cheap and it sucks.
  6. SteveW.
    May 6, 2005
    0
    This Game sux big Coconuts!!!!
  7. Pat
    May 15, 2005
    0
    If i had a choice of a gorilla ripping off my legs and acid pooring into my eyes or play this for 5 minutes i'd pick the gorilla and the If i had a choice of a gorilla ripping off my legs and acid pooring into my eyes or play this for 5 minutes i'd pick the gorilla and the acid. Kammahasse sucks. Expand