80 Days iOS

  • Publisher: inkle
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2014
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Stream On
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    100
    A playthrough of 80 Days will probably take two hours. You could have spent those two hours reading Beryl Markham’s memoir, catching up on episodes of Fargo, or finally watching Under the Skin. When a game is this good, this well written, with observations this relevant, memorable, and poignant, there are no wrong choices.
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    100
    It’s taken the long-ignored strengths of Interactive Fiction and Twine and applied them in the right way on the right platform to give the player an experience that feels wholly unique, and more importantly, wholly their own. Yes, you might share the odd story with another player, but not your whole trip. There are just too many variables, too many individual stories, for any one trip to be the same, and when you’re talking about a narrative-led experience, that’s a mighty fine accomplishment.
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    100
    80 Days is a great exhibition in game making that is an absolute must have title that provides a thoroughly engaging adventure numerous times over.
  4. Dec 15, 2014
    90
    Do yourselves a favour folks; spend three quid on this game and immerse yourself in it, or merely dip into it whenever you have five minutes, and make your merry way around the world. You’ll either thank me the introduction or hate me for getting you addicted.
  5. Dec 4, 2014
    90
    I had a spectacular, unforgettable adventure story to show for my three-hour adventure, and couldn’t wait to learn more about the world, its characters, and the human desire to discover.
  6. Sep 24, 2014
    90
    A fantastic adventure, well written, interesting and absorbing. Not for everyone, of course, but if you like this kind of products, this is definitely one of the best on the App Store.
  7. Aug 22, 2014
    90
    80 Days is a beautifully designed, fascinating and open travel adventure with rich storytelling.
  8. Aug 7, 2014
    90
    80 Days is a unique experience that does pretty much everything the right way. The story is well written, as well as the dialoges, and you never now what to expect in the next city that you visit. The game isn't for everyone, but for those that looking for something new it is a must buy.
  9. Aug 1, 2014
    90
    Verne fans in particular are going to have a fantastic time with this game, but I think almost anyone is going to find plenty to like in 80 Days.
  10. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    Well written, fun, easy to pickup and difficult to put down, 80 Days is not only one of the best mobile games around, it’s one of the best video games, mobile or not, to come out in 2014 so far.
  11. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    A fantastic and fascinating re-envisioning of the classic novel by Jules Verne, 80 Days is a delightful piece of interactive fiction.
  12. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    A sharp, wonderfully written adventure, 80 Days deserves your attention.
  13. Jul 30, 2014
    90
    Even in the relative infancy of the digital gamebook/choose-your-own adventure genre, 80 Days stands out as a pleasant oddity. I never would have imagined that a classic novel such as Around The World in 80 Days would be turned into an interactive experience. But I'm glad inkle did and the studio deserves high praise for creating an accessible and, ultimately, fun way for people to experience Verne’s classic work.
  14. Games Master UK
    Aug 24, 2014
    88
    This shows what old and new media can do for one another when they get along. [Oct 2014, p.73]
  15. But the real treasure here is the story, which is written beautifully and flows smoothly, even as players alter its direction by making narrative choices every few sentences. If nothing else, 80 Days makes a strong argument for interactive storytelling.
  16. Jul 31, 2014
    85
    Playing 80 Days is strongly reminiscent of the Choose Your Own Adventure books I read as a kid (albeit without the ability to stick my finger in a page if I made a bad choice).
  17. Sep 17, 2014
    80
    80 Days depends solely on its story, a travel log that described your personal journey in great detail. Even though its an interactive novel, there is greater consequence to your actions than in any TellTale-game. Every playthrough of 80 Days is different and completely personal, making this a unique experience.
  18. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 14, 2014
    80
    80 Days successfully condenses a journey of epic scale into a simple interface. [Issue#253, p.80]
  19. Aug 20, 2014
    80
    80 Days is a colorful and stylized look at a classic tome that places a new twist on an otherwise familiar game type. It's well worth your time, especially if you're looking for something a little more "out of the box" when it comes to mobile gaming.
  20. Aug 3, 2014
    80
    Overall, 80 Days is a wonderful game.
  21. Feb 10, 2015
    70
    80 Days proves that the iPad is a great gaming device. It mixes adventure and micromanagement with a great script, but only if you can read English fluently.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    I first heard about this game while I was lazily browsing the APP Store, looking for something to buy because I was getting tired of gettingI first heard about this game while I was lazily browsing the APP Store, looking for something to buy because I was getting tired of getting beaten by Kal'Thuzad in Hearthstone. I enjoy interactive adventures and classic lit, so I decided to give it a whirl fully expecting to hate everything about it (as I am one to do) but, oh my stars and garters, this game is amazing!

    First of all, let's look at what it is: It's a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure book on the iOS. It's a game in abstract only. You read lengthy paragraphs, you choose what to say and where to go, you see magnificent sights in one of THE best visualized steam-punk Universes I've ever read. The music moves and changes with whatever country you decide to take your adventure, and upon finishing your first around the world trip, you feel an enormous sense of wanderlust.

    This is an interactive adaption of Around The World in 80 Days. You play Monsieur Fogg's valet and are responsible for planning the trip. You have access to the World (literally, the whole world) and as you explore towns and cities, hear rumors and witness extraordinary events, you gain access to more and more locations. The goal is ALWAYS the same: make it around the world in 80 days.

    As you move throughout the game, you're ability as a Valet never ceases and you must make sure your master is taken care of. The "health" gauge is his comfort level and there are various ways in which you can do that. Tend to his needs or prove your character in various chats. You also have the ability to get skills that will aid you on your adventure. Things like well-heeled, acrobatics, strength (of character) that come into play in various ways. For example, I knew I was a bit more acrobatic than I was when I started the journey, so when I was in Yokohama I joined the circus and made headlines as a circus performer for extra pounds!

    This game is amazing. When I finished the first game I was ready to be content and all of a sudden, I started another one, this time heading North from Amsterdam, instead of South to Nice. It's as if I'm playing a completely different game and what's best is, when I get to cities where I've done a lot, it doesn't send me through the same story lines but I COMMENT on whether I enjoyed it the last time!

    Add to this many random encounters while you travel and you'll be coming back to it.

    But, do NOT approach this as a typical game. It's not a game, per se, but a lovely Choose-Your-Own-Adventure for the Digital Age! DO NOT MISS THIS!!!!!

    So good!!!!!!!

    Like, not to even go on further, but there's even romances you can strike up. It happened randomly with me! And it meant a lot to me since this particular one was a gay romance, and as a gay guy whose over mainstream video game representation of gay guys, it was SUPER refreshing with the way it panned out!!

    SO GOOD!

    BUY IT!
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    This is a mastermind game. Despite that, the game is not for all tastes. It is, above all, a book. In this book we can choose the heroThis is a mastermind game. Despite that, the game is not for all tastes. It is, above all, a book. In this book we can choose the hero actions, and in the end, the victory or defeat. The graphics are beautiful and make us "live" the story. The sound is good enough for the game standard. And the story... well... simply fantastic. I believe that the most obvious route is too easy, but when we explore the world, the collateral stories are amazing. In a word, Superb! Full Review »
  3. May 28, 2015
    9
    One of the best interactive fiction games ever. Every playthrough was memorable. Minor complaint is that it's annoying to switch objectsOne of the best interactive fiction games ever. Every playthrough was memorable. Minor complaint is that it's annoying to switch objects between suitcases. Full Review »