Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Amazing Alex is indeed amazing, and should appeal to any puzzle fan or anyone that likes games that make you think. Get ready to spend hours on your iPhone or iPad with this one.
  2. Aug 11, 2012
    90
    Amazing Alex is a fascinating product that demonstrates why smartphone games have gained immense popularity. It's fun, simple and inventive.
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    90
    It may have lost a little bit of its personal touch, but for better or worse, Casey's Contraptions is Amazing Alex now. And with the same great gameplay, a dauntingly endless set of custom levels, and a company behind that has the resources to churn out tons of free content? I'd say that's better. Amazing, even.
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    85
    Amazing Alex is pretty amazing. The puzzle game quickly gets a hold of you and makes you feel smart – even if you haven't got a clue on how to solve certain puzzles. An intelligent rating-system that reminds of Cut the Rope and a level editor will keep you invested in this game extra long.
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    83
    A cunning slice of mind exercising wrapped up in lovingly crafted visuals. [Oct 2012, p.94]
  6. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    What it lacks in originality, being a plain copy of Casey's Contraptions, Amazing Alex delivers in polish: everything works smoothly, the level design is great and sharing and downloading levels couldn't be easier.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Amazing Alex is a fun puzzle-game, has a tons of levels thanks to the editor and is quite challenging.
  8. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    An entertaining, replayable and complete game with a great multiplayer mode that has proven a success. Although it is a game quite similar to other games like Angry Birds or Cut the Rope, it has enough personality to differenciate itself from them.
  9. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    The been-there-done-that feeling of Amazing Alex is understandable for iPad owners who already have Casey's Contraptions, but for new-comers (including iPhone users) it's another cute, but still addictive physics puzzler to add to your collection.
  10. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Amazing Alex is a very engaging and challenging game, and presents all the proof needed that Rovio isn't just a one-trick birdy.
  11. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    The core puzzles are identical to last year's game, so Cassie's Contraptions fans may not feel the need to buy the same game again, but brainteaser fans will enjoy the creativity from the community-built stages.
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    80
    A great game. The physics are well done, it looks good, sounds good and is easy to pick up and learn. That being said, it did not grab me as much as some puzzle games out there, and part of that is the lack of motivation.
  13. Jul 26, 2012
    75
    Amazing Alex is an interesting puzzle game. With a lot of different ways to solve each puzzle and a load of content, Amazing Alex has what it takes to keep you entertained for hours. The only downside is the limitations of the level editor.
  14. Jul 16, 2012
    75
    While we mourn the passing of Casey a bit, Amazing Alex retains the same creative and enjoyable gameplay and even sports a few refinements over the earlier game.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music!Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music! One of the best and perfect fitting games for iPhone. Hats off! Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anythingThis game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anything fun, its just boring boring boring Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginningThe game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginning to look like a 1 hit wonder that will be only known for Angry Birds. So much for the guys that think they'll become bigger than Disney. Full Review »