User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 48
  2. Negative: 11 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    What "Angry Birds Rio" lacks are new ideas. It's basically the exact same as the previous two but with some change in scenery. If they're going to make another Angry Birds game, I really hope that there's some new additions in the features.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    5
    Rovio is all about making money these days, and Angry Birds Rio is where they shifted to just that. Pretty much the same old Angry Birds game with some movie characters. I got an overdose of this game while playing the original, and this was the third Angry Bird game with the same mechanics?
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    i love angry birds and the movie rio and this has to be the best movie licensed game.its the same angry bird fun but with new bosses,settings from the movie,and additions of characters from the movie.this game pays off.buy it now
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    i cant stand how heavily OVER RATED this franchise is, its just throwing birds at pigs, REALLY REPETITIVE and BORING! i can't see how people are liking this, and i don't post this review only to hate on angry birds, no, this game, is EXACTLY the same as ALL of the other titles in this franchise, it was fun, for like the first couple minutes, but after that it's just up and boring. period.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    "Rio" is another Angry Birds series game, that stands only as a timekiller. Forget about innovation, you're killing time. At this point I realized, that Rovio was in need of something new, not just more money, damn it. Even as timekilling machine Angry Birds will not live forever, but at the moment it's at the right place.
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    Angry Birds Rio is just like the same old Angry Birds but has a extra thing other than birds in cages. That is:
    -Graphics have improved
    -The color is more vibrant
    -Rio is excellent
    -The crowd is now and then exciting
    To me Rio is better than the original and must be downloaded for your iOS
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    It is as great as the original Angry Birds. The gameplay, visuals, features and the overall presentation of the game is excellent. I'm looking forward for more Angry Birds in the future...........
  8. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Angry Birds Rio is just a quick moneymaker for EA Games. It's the same game but with different levels. I may not be the best marketer in the world, but couldn't this have been an update to the original? It in no way deserves full recognition as an individual game. It doesn't upgrade gameplay nor evolve the graphic. The Christmas album of the Angry Birds merchandise. Any plus sides? NiceAngry Birds Rio is just a quick moneymaker for EA Games. It's the same game but with different levels. I may not be the best marketer in the world, but couldn't this have been an update to the original? It in no way deserves full recognition as an individual game. It doesn't upgrade gameplay nor evolve the graphic. The Christmas album of the Angry Birds merchandise. Any plus sides? Nice graphics and the original wasn't terrible either. Just not worth your $1. Expand
  9. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    A fun game, but at this point, I think Rovio Mobile should stop with the Angry Birds games. Not that they are bad; they are downright excellent, but that sometimes you get bored from flinging birds at pigs.
  10. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    It's great and realy funny but it's kinda annoying that you have to wait a whole month just to get to the next level.
  11. May 29, 2011
    10
    i like the game and i share it to my friends,it reminds me of a game Angry pingu .it has iphone verison.Friends can try to have a little fun.This is a cool assault game. Funny, nice grapics & really cool
  12. May 21, 2011
    9
    Rich, colorful visuals, addictive gameplay, and a whacky sense of humor -- Angry Birds Rio has all of the charm of the original, yet adds a fresh new design that makes it entirely worth the 99 cents.
  13. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    It's certainly an interesting concept based on a great film, but is really no different to the original Angry Birds, even if it is still entertaining and somewhat addictive.
  14. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This new Angry Birds new game or flavor comes with tons of new stuff. So far they have done the Original, Xmas, Halloween, St. Patty's day and now Rio, and to top it all a brand new movie titled "RIO". Be sure to try the ultimate time management game called MISTER MIGUEL is FREE! http://bit.ly/mrmigapp Check it out!
  15. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    This game is great but its just like the noermal one just with birds in cages and monkeys. I was sad when I saw that we had to wait for may before any new levles :(. plus this is the first Angry Birds game with adds was it Foxs idea?
  16. Apr 7, 2011
    0
    This new Angry Birds new game or flavor comes with tons of new stuff. So far they have done the Original, Xmas, Halloween, St. Patty's day and now Rio, and to top it all a brand new movie titled "RIO". Be sure to try the ultimate time management game called MISTER MIGUEL is FREE! http://bit.ly/mrmigapp Check it out!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 11, 2011
    80
    As popular as the series is, some evolution needs to happen if it wants to have the long term staying power of a Mario or a Pac-Man. In Rio, we're starting to see the first glimmer of that evolution.
  2. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    Its great presentation and level design and its great replay value make Angry Birds Rio a must for Apple users, both Angry Birds followers and newcomers.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    The Rio version reinforces the privileged status of compulsory purchase by those who may have access to it.