Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 15, 2011
    75
    Ultimately, Army of Darkness Defense doesn't do anything all that surprising with the castle defense genre, but it's fun and addictive for short play sessions.
  2. May 18, 2011
    90
    While Army of Darkness Defense suffers from repetition issues, they are minor quibbles in what is one of my favorite castle defense games on the App Store. Even for those who are not fans of the Evil Dead franchise, the game has enough fun, addiction, humor, and lasting power to make it a definite recommendation, especially for the paltry sum of $0.99 for the iPhone/iPod touch versions.
  3. May 18, 2011
    80
    Though not as deep as many of its rivals, Army of Darkness: Defense makes sheer playability its focus and serves up an addictive castle defence battler.
  4. May 26, 2011
    65
    Intuitive, amusing and full of personality, Army of Darkness Defense suffers from a bad difficulty curve: it's too easy for the most time and too difficult for the last three levels.
  5. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    The gameplay's nothing new, but it's done well and is lots of fun, partly thanks to Ash and his frequent quips. [Aug 2011, p.95]
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    80
    Fans of the film won't be disappointed with how Backflip Studios handled the IP.
  7. May 16, 2011
    50
    It's got a certain limited appeal for fans of the franchise, but it isn't really good enough to be considered a lot of fun on its own merits. Players could certainly do worse than this, but they could also do a lot better.
  8. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    This comes back to my initial concern about the 'Buy' feature. It's not an issue if it doesn't affect game balance but when it does then there is cause for concern. Other than this gripe, it's a great game.
  9. May 18, 2011
    50
    Proves that even fighting skeletons with chainsaws can get repetitive.
  10. May 16, 2011
    60
    If you're one of the many people who enjoy the movie and you're after a fun defense title, there's no reason not to give Army of Darkness Defense a spin; unfortunately it suffers from many of the problems of the genre - notably the need to grind it out to finish the game.
  11. May 16, 2011
    80
    Manages to shine, and we strongly suggest downloading it, regardless of whether you're into the Evil Dead films. Kudos to Backflip Studios for respecting the license while at the same time delivering a highly entertaining experience.
  12. Jan 17, 2013
    70
    Army of Darkness Defense is surprisingly addictive in its implementation of Tower Defense mechanics in the universe of the Evil Dead 3 movie. Complete with cult lines and humour, it has one other unstoppable force for him as well : it's completely free.
  13. May 23, 2011
    80
    Army of Darkness Defense is a fun take on castle defense, and definitely a must buy if you are a fan of the trilogy or Bruce Campbell. Limited game life, strategic planning and variation draws the final impression down. Playing as Ash is always cool, and just like earlier games featuring Ash the quality isn't the best but it is still great fun.
  14. May 24, 2011
    80
    Ash is back, so get your Boomsticks ready το defend the land from the evil undead, once more. Backflip Studios has delivered an excellent tower defense title that you shouldn't miss, even if you are not an Evil Dead fan.
  15. May 17, 2011
    80
    Featuring nice graphics, RPG elements, and plenty of references to the movie (including more than 100 lines of actual dialogue), Army of Darkness: Defense provides a decent homage to its source of inspiration and an enjoyable timewaster, to boot.
  16. Jun 24, 2011
    90
    A rare treat. It couples the cult appeal of a fantastic film with a solid and entertaining game.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favourite iOS games. It could do with a few more enemy types or upgrade options, but as it is, you're unlocking somethingThis is one of my favourite iOS games. It could do with a few more enemy types or upgrade options, but as it is, you're unlocking something new nearly every level, and the entertainment it provided me before I beat it two or three times was enough to warrant its download. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    This game could been so much better, If the gameplay was slightly more strategic, and there was more minions. It's an "okay" game, but stillThis game could been so much better, If the gameplay was slightly more strategic, and there was more minions. It's an "okay" game, but still it could been better. I enjoyed the game, yes, but It's not revolutionary. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    If there's anything I hate more than defense games without replayability, it's iPhone games. Especially ones that have a difficulty curve thatIf there's anything I hate more than defense games without replayability, it's iPhone games. Especially ones that have a difficulty curve that one minute are going up at a steady pace, then all of the sudden your expected to be a master of the game. Despite what another critic said, I found the difficulty curve challenging, but necessary. I really enjoyed this game, and I've been playing it for 5 hours now total. Full Review »