• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 2011
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Games Master UK
    Feb 15, 2012
    70
    A nifty card game let down by a constant nagging to spend more cash on extra decks. [March 2012, p.99]
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    The single-player campaign is fast-paced if rather unforgiving on occasion, and the online community is refreshingly vibrant given the game's steep learning curve. Recollection's only real problems exist in the form of a handful of irritating crash bugs and server disconnects, along with an unwelcome over-eagerness to drive you towards in-app purchases as you seek to bolster your sickly starter deck.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    Recollection places way too much emphasis on In-App Purchases and its battle system isn't entirely balanced, but I still have a lot of respect for Ubisoft for innovating in a major way with one of their core franchises. I can see myself returning to Recollection's online play for weeks to come.
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    Recollection is a good looking collectible card game based on the popular Assassins Creed franchise. It is at its best in multiplayer games versus human opponents, but lacks some of the depth of i's competitors.
  5. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    60
    The shameless cash-grab approach does a huge disservice to what is a surprisingly accomplished card-based strategy title. [Issue#118, p.107]
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    IAP purchases are mandatory, due not only to extremely high price / low rewards, but an actual cap to the amount of money you can earn byIAP purchases are mandatory, due not only to extremely high price / low rewards, but an actual cap to the amount of money you can earn by playing the missions. After clearing all of them, you can afford... one "assassins booster."

    You have to make a "uplay" account in order to get new cards at all. And you'll have to be online when you do it. Did I mention that the uplay servers were broken yesterday? And some of today? The best part is that I ended up losing some of the cards I had unlocked. Multiplayer is frustrating (because you'll be playing against the people who bought IAP) and very unrewarding. If your opponent quits, you get nothing. Even if you win, you get very little.

    A promising game that is made frustrating and disgusting by trying to hold back parts of it until you fork over extra cash. The app is on sale for $0.99 right now, but good luck trying to assemble a themed deck without paying $10 or more.
    Full Review »