Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 5, 2011
    90
    Rarely have we seen a zombie slaying FPS with this much life in it. Seamless online play and intense action make this an instant iPhone classic.
  2. Feb 5, 2011
    90
    While the game is limited to one survival map at the moment, it's hard not to be impressed with the overall adaptation to the iPhone, especially with online Co-op play.
  3. Feb 5, 2011
    80
    An extremely well put together, although short experience. The controls are on the cusp of being perfect for the genre, the graphics and sound are top notch, and the online gameplay is definitely a glimpse into what iPhone FPS multiplayer will be like.
  4. Feb 5, 2011
    80
    While Zombies may not feature a definite storyline and doesn't prompt an extensive play-through outside of a lame achievement system connected to the player's profile through the official game site, it does play pretty well, for a touch screen FPS and manages to capture all the things I like about the Nacht der Untoten level from World at War.
  5. Feb 5, 2011
    80
    I will divide the scores for this game as the single player experience really differs from the online experience.
  6. Feb 5, 2011
    78
    The game is certainly executed extremely well, and is a fun and faithful translation. However, with only one map so far I can't personally justify the premium price point.
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    75
    Call of Duty: World at War: ZOMBIES definitely has some promise and is a fun game to play with friends. However, at the moment there's just not really enough content here to justify the 10 dollar asking price.
  8. Feb 5, 2011
    75
    If you enjoyed the Zombie Nazi levels in Call of Duty: World at War, then you will be shocked at how well it translates into a mobile game.
  9. Feb 5, 2011
    70
    A good idea that offers too little content while costing entirely too much. Nearly $10 for an online shooter would be fine – if it shipped with more than a single level. Sorry, but that is borderline insulting.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    A great mobile port of Call of Duty: World at War Zombies. It has everything from the console version except for the muddled graphics on iOSA great mobile port of Call of Duty: World at War Zombies. It has everything from the console version except for the muddled graphics on iOS (Well it is iOS so what can I expect). The only thing that is a big issue for me is the button placement. Sometimes they do not register and get me killed. Overall a great game though (It even works on the iPhone 6). 8/10 (Great) Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    6
    Having never reviewed an iOS game before, I thought I'd take a look at Treyarch's classic zombie shooter. On a positive note, the game isHaving never reviewed an iOS game before, I thought I'd take a look at Treyarch's classic zombie shooter. On a positive note, the game is quite addictive and well-designed despite the limitations of the iPad 2's hardware. On the other hand, this game is extremely insubstantial; it only comes with two maps which quickly start to get repetitive to play. So WaW Zombies is quite good for an iOS game, but it really needs more content to be considered worth the price. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    While an excellent port of a popular game mode, Cod: WaW Zombies suffers from some fatal flaws. At its release, the app carried a hefty pricedWhile an excellent port of a popular game mode, Cod: WaW Zombies suffers from some fatal flaws. At its release, the app carried a hefty priced tag for an insultingly sparse amount of content. While the developers did release additional content and lowered the price, it was too little too late for some users who were still left with a bitter taste in their mouths. Additionally, the gaming universe is yet to discover touch screen controls that can capture a console-like FPS experience. I found fighting hell hounds a frustrating experience. The lighting, sounds, and graphics of the app help keep it ahead of its competition, and the sheer ambitiousness of the developer's undertaking is worthy of admiration. Online play, achievements, and the accuracy of the port from the console version help the app assert its worthiness as a top 10 FPS iOS game. Full Review »