Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Crazy Taxi is an arcade/console classic that has held up very well over the years and deserves a place on your iOS device.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    If you grew up with Crazy Taxi, you won't be disappointed with this iOS port. It plays well and the controls are almost as responsive as you want them to be.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    With Leaderboards and Acheivements thanks to Game Center, the original modes and music and just the infectious fast-paced gameplay it contains, Crazy Taxi is a fantastic port of a classic game on iOS.
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    I'm absolutely in love with Crazy Taxi on iOS: it's a fantastic port of a bona fide classic.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    The nature of the hit and run game sessions is nothing short of perfect for a mobile game and touch controls do not disappoint.
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Even its decades-old look and feel and decidedly untrustworthy directional arrow and vehicle controls aren't enough to sour us when it comes to enjoying this arcade classic that never pretends to be anything more than what it is.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Five bucks is a bit steep for yet another re-release, but Crazy Taxi's iPhone-sized package presents the perfect time-killer while you're waiting for a table, bustling along on the commute to work, or looking for a fun pass-and-play style game with friends. Check it out.
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Crazy Taxi for the iOS platform is a solid step back from the console and yet another step back from the Arcade release of SEGA's classic time-trial 'racer', but even despite this the madcap insanity of its gameplay shines through making it hard not to be washed away in a torrent of nostalgia.
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    You couldn't ask for a more faithful recreation of a slice of gaming history, and there's enough here to satisfy nostalgia-freaks, as well as those who missed out on the game the first time around.
  10. Oct 22, 2012
    72
    Crazy Taxi is still fun as ever, but this mobile version suffers from some cumbersome controls, both touch and tilt, that could make the overall experience less enjoyable.
  11. Oct 11, 2012
    71
    Its three-minute sessions are a great way fit for gaming on the go, to boot. The originals problems are still present, but how much that will bug you depends on how much you loved frantically delivering fares 12 years ago.
  12. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    For the nostalgics and those just wanting a short cab-mayhem-fix.
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    The iOS version of Crazy Taxi is a hard game to judge. On the one hand, it's a pitch perfect port. It's the kind of port that makes me wish more classic driving games would come to the App Store (Burnout, I'm looking at you). On the other hand, the Crazy Taxi license has so much untapped potential that it's killing us that SEGA isn't doing more with it. This release proves that the Crazy Taxi formula is a fantastic fit for mobile gamers… but SEGA needs to think about putting some new tires on this old cab.
  14. Oct 14, 2012
    70
    Crazy Taxi is big, loud and crude, and it's certainly showing its age - but this smooth conversion is still extremely difficult to put down.
  15. Oct 17, 2012
    60
    Good ol' Crazy Taxi on iOS is based on the original Dreamcast version, complete with the music tracks, Arcade, Original and Crazy Bos modes, and new Game Center features. The touch controls work rather well, even though they are less efficient than your classic controller. Overall, the experience is quite compelling nonetheless.
  16. Oct 11, 2012
    60
    One for the retro-heads only perhaps.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    When I was a kid, I would occasionally go to my friend's house. He didn't have much in the way of games or anything, but he had one game in particular that he loved, and that was Crazy Taxi on his dreamcast. Imagine my surprise to find it on the app store.

    With both the arcade version, the original, and the mission set, you've got about a 5 hour package. The game basically consists of driving like a nut on the road to get your customers where they want as fast as possible while showing of your mad driving skills. Your customers are gonna range from priests, to pregnant women, to hard-rock loving teens, to your more regular people, and they've got a lot to say, especially when you hit people.

    The game is great fun and it's great nostalgia too. Pulling off crazy jumps, crazy throughs, crazy drifts and the like are satisfying and thrilling. The fun comes in trying to compete for the top earnings, so hopefully you've got a competitive side. Oh yeah, and you're listening to Bad Religion all while doing this, which is like the icing on the cake of this oddball experience.

    There are some issues though that you need to be forewarned about.

    The control schematic took awhile for me to get a hold of, and I didn't really understand a lot of the controls until I played more of the missions. Even when you learn all of the controls, they still feel relatively loose and unresponsive at times, which makes some of the more difficult maneuvers and missions incredibly frustrating. Furthermore, this game has one crazy price tag of 5 dollars. If you aren't prepared to compete with that price tag, it may be better to find your thrills elsewhere. As for me, I just hope this doesn't affect my everyday driving.
    Full Review »