Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious package has arrived, and the creature inside has only one request…CANDY! Help get the candy to Om Nom, the adorable monster, in this highly innovative and addictive puzzle game. Combining outstanding physics, devilishly tricky levels, and bright colorful visuals, Cut the Rope is one of the most original and fun-filled games on the App Store.

    I WANT CANDY!
    Cut the Rope combines realistic physics with simple, yet accurate and precise touch controls. Cut the ropes by simply swiping your finger across them and collect the stars by touching them with the candy, but it’s not always simple. Think before you slice and be sure to avoid the enemies and obstacles. Every level is different and getting that candy to Om Nom won’t be easy!

    IT’S KNOT GONNA BE A BREEZE
    In Cut the Rope you don’t just need to feed Om Nom, in order to get maximum points you will also need to collect 3 golden stars in each stage. Some are easy, some are deviously difficult; you’re going to have to use your head to get them all-but be quick, some of these stars don’t hang around forever! Dodge jagged spikes that smash your candy to bits, and look out for sneaky spiders intend on having On Nom’s treat all for themselves!

    STAR PLAYER
    Use a variety of special tools in your effort to get Om Nom his candy. Blow candy around in bubbles using special air pumps, catapult your candy across the screen to get to those hard to reach stars, use hidden ropes and special pulleys in your effort to get every star there is!

    THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX, INSIDE THE BOX
    Easy to learn and intuitive to play, Cut the Rope is hard to put down. As you progress, Om Nom will jump from one box to another, with more levels to get through. With each new box contains new and even more challenging stars and obstacles, can you make it to the end?

    Crystal Leaderboards and Achievements: Players can see how they compare to rope cutters throughout the world via online leaderboards and achievements through Crystal!
    Cut the Rope also supports Game Center.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    Cut the Rope is the perfect iPhone game. Smart, easy to pick up and play in short sessions, and blessed with a sublime level design and brilliant physics-based gameplay mechanic. Don't miss it.
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    Cut the Rope is a charming, challenging, and-- most importantly-- fun puzzle game that nearly anyone will enjoy.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    100
    Bottom line, Cut the Rope is one of the best games for Apple's iOS and a steal at $0.99. Play it immediately.
  4. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    This has all the addictive qualities of Angry Birds – great puzzles, near-perfect use of touch controls, and cute personality. Chillingo promises that if Cut the Rope reaches some sort of critical mass, there will be even more stages.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    90
    It's arguably as good as Angry Birds, though it's missing the cute cartoon story. I really do want to know more about Om Nom and I'm hoping the developers see fit to add a story in the next update. Ultimately, though, you need to get this game. It really is the best 59p you'll have spent this month.
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    Pitched perfectly for casual on-the-move play, it's the kind of game you can happily fill a couple of bored minutes with, or power through for a couple of hours, trying to snag every star. With 100 stages included for starters, and more on the way via updates, welcome to your new favourite waste of time.
  7. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    Bright, imaginative, and supremely polished, the physics-based gameplay of Cut the Rope shows developer ZeptoLab has knack of putting a unique spin on familiar ideas.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    I'm an avid player of puzzle games (Professor Layton, Myst Series) and I still find levels of this game a challenge, they have been releasing extra stages with new game play and difficulty ever since I picked it up and the game has only dropped in price since then. I've recommended this game to my friends and I often pass my phone with this game on it to iOS haters. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Omnom is a cute and charming character. No one can resist to say no to help this little friend get its candy. Addicting but simple. Recommended for kids and adults alike. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best puzzle games I've ever played. It is so creative and charismatic! Advanced physics, cool graphics and more than 200 levels. I bought this game for my HTC for less than a pound (it is also available on Android) and I can assure you that it has enough levels and difficulty for keeping you playing for weeks. Every "box" has a different puzzle element to master, so the game never repeats the same challenge again. This app is a must have! Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    All you need to know is: yes, it's really that good :) CTR is cute, easy to learn, difficult to master. I know two non-gamers who fell in love with Cut the Rope at first sight. It's a perfect mobile puzzle with something new to offer in each small package / level. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Pretty much a perfect mobile game for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. It makes excellent use of the touch-screen controls to create one heck of a fun and addictive puzzle game. Casual gamers will love it for it's cute theme and pick up and play nature. Hardcore gamers will love it because of its addicting challenges and numerous levels. It really is just an incredibly satisfying game that is worth a download.

    Gameplay consists of simply getting a piece of candy to an adorable little creature by cutting ropes with your finger. It starts just as simple as that, but as you progress it gets more and more challenging. The game is constantly throwing something new at you so the game always feels fresh no matter how long you play it. It might not be super challenging to get the candy to the creature, but the real challenge is collecting all three of the stars in the level. My only complaint with the game is that you have to collect a certain amount of start in order to unlock the next set of levels. It's only a minor issue and it doesn't become so until later in the game.

    Overall this is a super excellent puzzle game that I can't recommend highly enough. It's addictive, charming, and fun. One of the best mobile games I've ever played.
    Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    Very vell designed, fun game. It's main advantage is a player's motivation. The moment you see this little monster you want to give him this darn candy and you feel genuine sadness if you don't manage to feed him (causes the long face)... It's kinda' incredible that only the cuteness of the character can influence the whole purpose of whether or not should I play the game.
    Many levels, many funny ideas. Unfortunately when I see so many levels I get bored after several hours. If there would be any kind of metagame in this (like in mooniacs) the game could easily get 9 or 10.
    Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2011
    5
    Next to Angry Birds, Cut The Rope is easily the second most-overhyped game for mobile devices. It's cheerful presentation and interesting puzzle mechanics make the early puzzles seem the perfect placeholder for when the world's parents step away from Farmville for a few moments. Casual? Yes certainly. Overhyped? Most definitely. Garbage? Not really, though it's by no means a great game. It is good for the most part, however, until the touch controls sink the later, tougher, levels. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010  Image
    Published: December 21, 2010
    Whether you are a longtime iPhone user or you just received an iPad from Santa, you're probably looking for something fun to do with your Apple device. Here are this year's best-reviewed games available in the App Store.