Cut the Rope iOS

Cut the Rope Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious package has arrived, and the creature inside has only one request…CANDY! Help get the candy to Om Nom, the adorable monster, in this highly innovative and addictive puzzle game. Combining outstanding physics, devilishly tricky levels, and bright colorful visuals, Cut theA mysterious package has arrived, and the creature inside has only one request…CANDY! Help get the candy to Om Nom, the adorable monster, in this highly innovative and addictive puzzle game. Combining outstanding physics, devilishly tricky levels, and bright colorful visuals, Cut the Rope is one of the most original and fun-filled games on the App Store.

    I WANT CANDY!
    Cut the Rope combines realistic physics with simple, yet accurate and precise touch controls. Cut the ropes by simply swiping your finger across them and collect the stars by touching them with the candy, but it’s not always simple. Think before you slice and be sure to avoid the enemies and obstacles. Every level is different and getting that candy to Om Nom won’t be easy!

    IT’S KNOT GONNA BE A BREEZE
    In Cut the Rope you don’t just need to feed Om Nom, in order to get maximum points you will also need to collect 3 golden stars in each stage. Some are easy, some are deviously difficult; you’re going to have to use your head to get them all-but be quick, some of these stars don’t hang around forever! Dodge jagged spikes that smash your candy to bits, and look out for sneaky spiders intend on having On Nom’s treat all for themselves!

    STAR PLAYER
    Use a variety of special tools in your effort to get Om Nom his candy. Blow candy around in bubbles using special air pumps, catapult your candy across the screen to get to those hard to reach stars, use hidden ropes and special pulleys in your effort to get every star there is!

    THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX, INSIDE THE BOX
    Easy to learn and intuitive to play, Cut the Rope is hard to put down. As you progress, Om Nom will jump from one box to another, with more levels to get through. With each new box contains new and even more challenging stars and obstacles, can you make it to the end?

    Crystal Leaderboards and Achievements: Players can see how they compare to rope cutters throughout the world via online leaderboards and achievements through Crystal!
    Cut the Rope also supports Game Center.
    Expand
Stream On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    Cut the Rope is the perfect iPhone game. Smart, easy to pick up and play in short sessions, and blessed with a sublime level design and brilliant physics-based gameplay mechanic. Don't miss it.
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    Cut the Rope is quite simply a bombshell of cute, clever, addictive physics puzzle gameplay that's hard to pass up on.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    100
    Bottom line, Cut the Rope is one of the best games for Apple's iOS and a steal at $0.99. Play it immediately.
  4. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    This has all the addictive qualities of Angry Birds – great puzzles, near-perfect use of touch controls, and cute personality. Chillingo promises that if Cut the Rope reaches some sort of critical mass, there will be even more stages.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    90
    It's arguably as good as Angry Birds, though it's missing the cute cartoon story. I really do want to know more about Om Nom and I'm hoping the developers see fit to add a story in the next update. Ultimately, though, you need to get this game. It really is the best 59p you'll have spent this month.
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    Pitched perfectly for casual on-the-move play, it's the kind of game you can happily fill a couple of bored minutes with, or power through for a couple of hours, trying to snag every star. With 100 stages included for starters, and more on the way via updates, welcome to your new favourite waste of time.
  7. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    Bright, imaginative, and supremely polished, the physics-based gameplay of Cut the Rope shows developer ZeptoLab has knack of putting a unique spin on familiar ideas.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    I'm an avid player of puzzle games (Professor Layton, Myst Series) and I still find levels of this game a challenge, they have been releasingI'm an avid player of puzzle games (Professor Layton, Myst Series) and I still find levels of this game a challenge, they have been releasing extra stages with new game play and difficulty ever since I picked it up and the game has only dropped in price since then. I've recommended this game to my friends and I often pass my phone with this game on it to iOS haters. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    This is one of my personal favorites. It's one of the few games that gets extremely tough but you don't feel cheated or like the machanics areThis is one of my personal favorites. It's one of the few games that gets extremely tough but you don't feel cheated or like the machanics are working against you. It has some amazing puzzels and the way this puzzel game is done is very unique, fun and addicting in a way that its just as difficult for an adult as it is for children. The app gets delivered updates on the regular and it's only $0.99', and it's worth all ninty-nine pennys and a 10. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games and a best seller on the app store. Perfect graphics, challenging levels and the best designed character ever! TheOne of my favorite games and a best seller on the app store. Perfect graphics, challenging levels and the best designed character ever! The game get updated quite often so there is always time to spend on it. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Cut the Rope is a brilliant, quirky puzzle game that offers users something new on every level; no room for slow thinking here! Unlike some ofCut the Rope is a brilliant, quirky puzzle game that offers users something new on every level; no room for slow thinking here! Unlike some of its competitors, Cut the Rope really feels more rewarding the more you play it. I am yet to get bored of Cut the Rope, if I ever will. 9 out of 10. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    An excellent puzzle game. It's got a great amount of variety, leaving you to think in new ways. The later levels are particularlyAn excellent puzzle game. It's got a great amount of variety, leaving you to think in new ways. The later levels are particularly challenging, mixing in the concepts of each of the boxes in diabolical ways that will leave your head scratching for hours. Cut the Rope is frantic when it forces timed challenges by throwing mice and spiders out for your candy, and when it has you switching gravity fields. There's a little bit of everything and the variety is greatly appreciated. Some of the gravity levels do get out of hand though. Some are almost too devious. Furthermore, while the puzzles have a great amount of variety, it would be nice to have a better variety of music to listen to.

    Regardless, Cut the Rope is one of the best puzzle apps on the iOS market, and is great fun for anyone who plays it.
    Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    It's fun, but it's certainly not difficult. I pretty much had no problems nabbing the three stars on each level. For a dollar, it's still funIt's fun, but it's certainly not difficult. I pretty much had no problems nabbing the three stars on each level. For a dollar, it's still fun and worth your time, but the only challenge in this game is trying to find any. Not that easy means bad, but you will breeze through it. I would still recommend the game. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2011
    5
    Next to Angry Birds, Cut The Rope is easily the second most-overhyped game for mobile devices. It's cheerful presentation and interestingNext to Angry Birds, Cut The Rope is easily the second most-overhyped game for mobile devices. It's cheerful presentation and interesting puzzle mechanics make the early puzzles seem the perfect placeholder for when the world's parents step away from Farmville for a few moments. Casual? Yes certainly. Overhyped? Most definitely. Garbage? Not really, though it's by no means a great game. It is good for the most part, however, until the touch controls sink the later, tougher, levels. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010  Image
    Published: December 21, 2010
    Whether you are a longtime iPhone user or you just received an iPad from Santa, you're probably looking for something fun to do with your Apple device. Here are this year's best-reviewed games available in the App Store.