Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. Jan 31, 2014
    80
    Dungeon Keeper’s pared-down reboot is fun on its own right, even if it's not quite the same creature as the excellent classic games it’s based on.
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Dungeon Keeper’s iOS outing is most definitely not the PC classic we all remember, but as a regular old freemium game it’s actually quite enjoyable.
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    75
    Dungeon Keeper for iOS is a well-made mobile update of a classic.
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    72
    Despite the fact it has nothing to do with the original game, Dungeon Keeper still delivers a fun, enjoyable casual experience.
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    70
    It's not Dungeon Keeper, but Dungeon Keeper has enough going for it that it's worth a punt.
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    65
    If you enjoy these type of freemium games, then Dungeon Keeper is a worthy download.
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    50
    Well hidden under an aggressive F2P business model, there is a small tower defense that lacks a little variety to be truly good. The old fans of Dungeon Keeper will be disappointed by this come-back, that's for sure.
  8. Feb 4, 2014
    50
    Dungeon Keeper offers some quality gameplay elements that are spaced out from a relatively predictable free to play structure.
  9. Feb 3, 2014
    50
    The core experience is solid, but the free-to-play model won't let us get to it. If you're not willing to spend any money on it, the game becomes almost unplayable.
  10. Feb 17, 2014
    40
    The game is heavily influenced by the in-app purchases, to the point of becoming a pay-to-play title. Don't Play it.
  11. Feb 7, 2014
    40
    Dungeon Keeper is a bad game that desperately tries to emulate Clash of Clans and its business model, but with no success. There's nothing of the original franchise in Mythic's game, there are just long waits and annoying money requests.
  12. Feb 5, 2014
    40
    It could've been a chance to give a second life to an old classic, but EA got this all wrong. The managing side is poor, and a greedy microtransaction system ultimately spoils the fun.
  13. Feb 4, 2014
    40
    Dungeon Keeper is structured in such a way that you can go several days without making significant progress, and at that point the enjoyable invasions just aren't enough to make the game worthwhile.
  14. Feb 3, 2014
    40
    It's a huge shame, because Dungeon Keeper is such a great franchise. I vividly remember getting hooked on the original for the very first time, and hooking in non-strategy fans with its unique perspective and visual style. But you're getting none of that here, as you're instead presented with a hollow freemium shell of what once was.
  15. Feb 12, 2014
    30
    Instead of feeling like the keeper of a dungeon, it made me feel like I was being kept in one.
  16. Feb 6, 2014
    20
    The tragedy of Dungeon Keeper is that every so often, it shows glimpses of what makes it great. You can see the classic game is in there somewhere: its genius, and what it could have been. But then the gates slam shut, as though the Dungeon Keeper himself is kept in a larger meta-dungeon, whose bean-counting overlord tells you to come back later, or maybe even tomorrow. Or pay up.
  17. Feb 5, 2014
    20
    In the end, I can't imagine Dungeon Keeper is going to satisfy anyone very much.
  18. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Dungeon Keeper is a new mobile free to play game by EA, and one of the most aggressive games in the genre. It has elements of a game, but these are so well hidden beneath shiny buttons, childish images and tons of tough rock, that it’s better to avoid the dungeon altogether.
  19. 10
    Dungeon Keeper is an anti-game. It sucks the joy of gaming out of me and it has no redeeming qualities, not in the slightest. Calling it greedy would be understatement of the year. The already tarnished image of free-to-play could hardly receive a more devastating blow than that which Dungeon Keeper has given it. It eats at my soul every time I play it. And that's why I'll uninstall, nay, banish it from my tablet as soon as I've finished this sentence.
  20. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    What we have here is the shell of Bullfrog's pioneering strategy game, hollowed out and filled up with what is essentially a beat-for-beat clone of Clash of Clans. Every function, every mechanism, every online feature has been tried and tested already by Supercell's money machine and EA is following behind, drooling like a Pavlovian dog. That's what stings the most: not that Dungeon Keeper has gone free-to-play, but that it's done so in such soulless fashion.
  21. Feb 5, 2014
    1
    How dare you to soil a classic like that. This is the epitome of in-app-pestilence. The paid content gets a grip on the gaming experience way too quickly. What once was one of Bullfrog's finest masterpieces now is nothing more than a soulless marketing product.
  22. 0
    Dungeon Keeper is not a video game, not any more. Instead it’s just a virtual beggar, constantly demanding your spare change and offering nothing in return.
User Score
0.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 525 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 218
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    0
    It takes how long to mine a single block?! Oh and I can pay money to speed it up? How riveting. I think I'll just walk over here and watch some paint dry while I wait because clearly I have nothing better to do with my time and I have the intelligence of a semi-sentient banana. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Absolute joke of a game. This is a game about clicking on a block, either waiting a FULL DAY to do the second one of paying large sums of money. EA has completely ruined this IP... Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    A total, unmitigated sham of a game! Long story short: this is a Tapped Out style wait-24-hours-for-everything-or-pay-real-money game, don't waste your time. How any self-respecting developer could do this to revered classic such as Dungeon Keeper is completely beyond me, it's an abomination! Full Review »