Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    GolfStar offers an enjoyable and tactical game of golf in every swing as players experience a number of different courses with gorgeous scenery.
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    50
    An entertaining, if unspectacular, mix of solo and multiplayer golf that simply isn't strong enough to warrant the constant in-app purchase demands.
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    40
    GolfStar (Free, Universal) provides a deluxe 3D golf simulation engine, but comes up short everywhere else. It’s such a super simple repetitive grind, and that doesn’t even take into account the timers, play restrictions, and locked features behind pay walls. All of the other pieces of the game tear down the simulation engine leaving a crater devoid of enjoyment.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Even though GolfStar still has some “ironing” out to do in the design department (get it? iron?), it sure is nice to look at, and when you actually get to play it, the core gameplay mechanics are smoother than any mobile golf game you’ve ever played before.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    50
    For now, it'll have to settle for being average, and we expect Com2uS to release new updates that will make it a high quality product. That said, if you're in desperate search of an outstanding golf title for your mobile, Gameloft's Let's Golf 3 is still the undisputed king.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    0
    Since you upgraded to season two I can no longer play. Won't load.
    Great job IT folks. You lost a customer. You won't take a review if it's
    less than 150 characters?
    How many characters are needed to say that you screwed up a good thing. Again great job IT folks.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    I'd like to start off with the positives: the game is fun, the design is nice and the various challenges are enjoyable. Unfortunately, the negatives far outweigh the positives. From my personal experience, and now that I am reading more about it I understand that I am not alone, the makers are doing everything possible to make you purchase various items. The game itself is free, but in order to 'advance' you really need to pay and not only once, but continuously. So pay I did. And then I discovered the customer service. I had a problem linked to an update that I believe (and others from the comment boards) was very poorly explained. After this update I lost the 'powered up' clubs (as did others, again on the comment boards) that I had spent time and money on. Of course I contacted the company looking for help. Their response was, essentially, 'the new update has a random success/fail outcome, less likely to fail if you spend more money. Once completed, if you fail, you have simply lost your money'. I wrote back to them to make sure I had understood what they had said, asking them if they were actually saying 'tough luck' and they answered me 'yes, we are saying tough luck'. There were other details in the email, but nothing that alters the above.
    In conclusion, I would happily play this game, and spend money on it, if the makers were interested in their clients satisfaction. The fact that my recent experience says completely the opposite means that I will be deleting the app, and spreading the word about how they simply want to get as much of your money as possible.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Good graphics and love how you can do custom character design. Also love multiplayer feature. I can have my friends and myself can make a small tournament between each other. Also the game gives out free currency sometimes when you level up. Furthermore, Com2uS personally gives out free stars if you join in their tournaments on the Hub Club! I gotta say, this is really a user friendly game! Full Review »