Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 5 years ago, Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Now it’s the early 90’s and Carl’s got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all5 years ago, Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Now it’s the early 90’s and Carl’s got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets. Expand
Stream On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    100
    Despite its few flaws, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is one of the most ambitious games ever made, and squeezing it onto a portable device is a major achievement.
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is Rockstar Games’s best port yet.
  3. 90
    Rockstar returns with their best iOS release yet. Polished, great looking, tons to do, customizable controls, awesome music and just a perfect conversion job all over. San Andreas has never looked this good.
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    90
    There's no reason for not buying GTA San Andreas: this is a masterpiece that everyone should play, even if touch controls are a little clumsy. Easily the best Rockstar Games port so far.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    83
    This mobile port's every bit as fun as playing the original if you have the gamepad to support it, but the touchscreen control, while competent are not the best way to play.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Even on your cell phone, San Andreas is a big and entertaining game. Even now it looks great and some parts have even been tailored to the platform. Touch controls could be better, but that doesn't take away from the fact that you'll have a great time with San Andreas for a few Euros.
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    50
    As soon as you start driving the technical issues will start whizzing by you. The controls, the framerate, the crashes: San Andreas easily buckles under the pressure.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best games I've played on iOS in a while. The story was mind-blowing, brilliant, and it was executed perfectly.Honestly, this is one of the best games I've played on iOS in a while. The story was mind-blowing, brilliant, and it was executed perfectly. The design was slick, and the HD didn't ruin the game in any aspects. There's still the occasional glitch and a bit of lag, but it is great fun to play, and it really gets you immersed into the story. 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Where is my review ??
    Somebody deleted my review from yesterday ?
    Top game BUY IT, this is full console quality gaming BIG OPEN WORLD FREE
    Where is my review ??
    Somebody deleted my review from yesterday ?
    Top game BUY IT, this is full console quality gaming
    BIG OPEN WORLD FREE ROAM
    better then ps2 version
    Wardrum studios made this game pitch perfect for iphone 5
    You have an iphone 5 then must buy this game
    Collapse
  3. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    Recently tried the PS2 version on PS3 and it was terrible - bad sound, bad graphics, then I remembered I had it on Xbox so put it in my 360Recently tried the PS2 version on PS3 and it was terrible - bad sound, bad graphics, then I remembered I had it on Xbox so put it in my 360 and fell in love again. I saw that it was only €7 on iOS, so took the plunge and bought it. There is one thing missing from the iOS version, and that is a fairly large selection from the soundtrack (including the awesome Express Yourself), I believe a total of 17 songs are missing.

    However, that is a small problem, and doesn't detract so much from the experience. San Andreas is my favourite of all the GTA games, and it still holds up today. On iOS the graphics are vastly improved over the PS2, and even over the Xbox version. the draw distance and pop up are especially improved, making the game sometimes easier to play when driving fast.

    Touch screen controls are very good for what they are, but I struggled with them, especially on the iPhone's little screen. This game comes into its own when played with a wireless controller (Horipad in my case) which basically makes it the same as playing on a small TV. I'm playing it now on an iPad Mini Retina and it looks fantastic.

    Probably the definitive edition of this fantastic game, and any younger fans of the newer games should check this out, it sits up there with GTA V (and is also set in Los Santos - far more varied and interesting than the Liberty City of GTA 3 and 4).

    Incidentally this is now the same version as available on Steam, which has been "upgraded" to the mobile version, complete with missing songs. Playing this on iPad with the Hori controller works a lot better than the Steam version with 360 controller, which whilst supported there doesn't work perfectly. Control wise here the only difficulty is with bunnyhopping on a bike - it requires you to double tap the R2 (accelerator) button, but it only works for me one time out of ten.
    Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This was the funnest GTA game i have ever played from the series. It was such a thrill to have an open world experience where you can stealThis was the funnest GTA game i have ever played from the series. It was such a thrill to have an open world experience where you can steal vehicles, fly planes, getting a 6 star wanted level had having tanks come after you, area 51, the experience is unbelievable, and unlimited The PS2 version was a really fun experience, and it actually had good graphics on that console.
    When i played the PS3 version it didn't change me really. it was still that fun game. They didn't change anything other than the the graphics. Bottom line: 10 out of 10. on the PS2 and on the PS3.
    Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This is the best version of San Andreas IMO. Well besides the pc version of course. But this game looks fantastic on my iPod touch. It playsThis is the best version of San Andreas IMO. Well besides the pc version of course. But this game looks fantastic on my iPod touch. It plays fine with a good draw distance, easy to use controls and plus the great new coat of iaint that gives the game a shiny hd look. This is the whole San Andreas game everyone knows and loves nothing is missing here. Open world? Check. Stats? Check. Clothes and tatoos? Check. A great game has became even better. Well worth a purchase i really hope rockstar makes bully available for iOS and android next. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Re-playing one of the best GTA games, maybe even one of the best games ever with better graphics, made me feel nostalgic. The stroyline wasRe-playing one of the best GTA games, maybe even one of the best games ever with better graphics, made me feel nostalgic. The stroyline was excellent, the voice acting was excellent, the freedom was excellent. I would have never thought it to be possible to play a game this big on a portable device. Yes the controls are difficult but what do you expect. What I would love to see is GTA San Andreas to be re-re-done with the current RAGE engine, like GTA IV and GTA V. I would pay for that.
    But i'm not complaining, this game was my childhood and I still love it. One of my favorite games to date.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Sorry doesn't work well on iPad.

    I tried time and time again but I was getting is a stutter on the first part in the game and couldn't even
    Sorry doesn't work well on iPad.

    I tried time and time again but I was getting is a stutter on the first part in the game and couldn't even use the BMX.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.