GT Racing 2: The Real Car Experience iOS

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Stream On
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    You may already have more than enough mobile racers to keep you busy, but make sure you add GT Racing 2 to your library before settling on a favorite. It's fast, it's free-to-play - with a pretty fair cash system too - and it looks amazing. Go pedal to the metal on this one.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Overall, there’s a lot to like with GT Racing 2 but the upgrade timers and forced linearity of the campaign mode really bring down an otherwise fun experience. Obviously racing aficionados will want to check it out, but I think GT Racing 2 is also approachable enough that novices can get into the mix.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    84
    GT Racing 2: The Real Car Experience is visually awesome and brings a huge single player career, packed with lots of real cars and events. The paywall, however, seems to be right after your next turn.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    The GT Racing series returns with some more stunning visuals and a vast campaign mode, though it can become slightly too geared towards in-app purchases.
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    If you’re strongly attached to another racing game, switching to GT Racing 2: The Real Car Experience will be a hard sell, despite its lack of price tag.
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    An attractive and vast racing simulator that largely holds its own against the Real Racing series, but which requires an awful lot of hard work (or expenditure) to make any progress with.
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    While it doesn’t stray far from genre conventions, GT Racing 2 is competently executed and fun to play. There may be higher-profile racers on iOS, but few that nail the controls and upgrades quite as squarely as this does.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Nice graphic nice car feature but fxxcked up control and axxhole-like payment-forcing competitive system is so full of shxt. I played GTNice graphic nice car feature but fxxcked up control and axxhole-like payment-forcing competitive system is so full of shxt. I played GT series and Forza for 6 years and I always play racing game without any assist system and maximum difficulty level. But i couldnt beat this game with all assists on. Why? because when you upgrade, enemies also upgrade. You upgrade 1, enemies upgrade 3. Especially `grid1`. If you want to be stronger than enemies, you should upgrade to the max which is so fuxking expensive. You cant beat the game without max upgrade. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2015
    4
    The game is just bad, the driving its not that satisfating. The IAP is frustrating, there are hackers everywhere and the music is just awfulThe game is just bad, the driving its not that satisfating. The IAP is frustrating, there are hackers everywhere and the music is just awful aswell as the car sounds. Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    7
    Edit - I will give this a 7 on 10 as it did give me hours of fun before this update. But man, it;s just too bad the changed a fun game

    The
    Edit - I will give this a 7 on 10 as it did give me hours of fun before this update. But man, it;s just too bad the changed a fun game

    The new update is horrible, Before today (April 10, 2014) I would have given this an 8/10. Now, to anybody wanting to buy this game, it's now a 1/10

    All the reasons I quit RR3 to play this game, you’ve instilled into this game.

    You now have to play all previous races to move to the next event. Way to copy the stupid implementation from RR3 that made a bunch of people quit. If I have the upgraded car I should be able to choose the races I want, not be forced to do all the stupid tracks that I usually skip. What a stupid move.

    I can’t get quick “one time’ race upgrades with coins now, but with just real cash. Way to squeeze every penny from your customers – just like RR3

    Why can’t I speed up upgrades by using more than one mechanic anymore. Wasn’t this the point of more than one mechanic? Again, way to squeeze every penny from your customers

    The menu is awful. Fire whoever thought of this. Before I could view all of my cars and “where they were at” in there given series in one swipe screen. It took me 10 seconds to get that information. Now I have to find and scroll through all of them to find this information. What took me 10 seconds now takes me 15 minutes. What a completely stupid idea!! Why fix what was not broken.

    No more 24 hr free race to try to get a car on sale. Unfortunate.
    Did you guys just launch and play RR3 and decide to copy everything in hopes it would be better?
    This is just a god-awful update. It’s too bad as I was one of your good customers who paid a fair amount of real cash to get ahead. But you lost me, and that future revenue, as a customer.
    Full Review »