Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    100
    The first iPhone game to make use of the Unreal Engine 3 gaming engine, Infinity Blade features stunningly-rich graphics, outstanding animations, robust music, intuitive controls, and some of the most exciting action we've experienced on our mobile device.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade is beautiful, gripping and intense. Most importantly, its creators delivered a console quality experience in your hands, so while it's a wonderfully designed and thoroughly enjoyable brawler, this title also stands out as a killer app, the type of thing that solidifies Apple's iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch as legitimate contenders to the portable gaming throne.
  3. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    It's the kind of deep, well-thought-out combat system that puts most console sword fighting to shame, and it's still only part of what makes this one of the easiest recommendations I'll make all year. You might find games that are a more perfect fit for the platform, but in terms of recreating a console-level experience on the iPhone, you simply will not do better than Infinity Blade.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade is a stunner on many levels. It's not a big game, but it's a great one.
  5. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    But if you look past the pretty fluff and the shiny-ness of your new toy, you'll find that Infinity Blade is really just the same thing over and over again. BUT, that same thing over and over again is oddly appealing… somewhat like the "same thing over and over again" mechanism of Fruit Ninja, Flight Control, etc. And for that reason, there's really no other rating for this than the Must Have.
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade turns the traditional RPG on it's head, and although I admit that it may not be for everyone, for me it is one of the best game on the iOS thus far, and it's just getting started.
  7. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade is by its very nature a game with a narrow scope, but within those limits it's a beast of gameplay, visuals and execution; this isn't just a pretty face, it's a seriously fun game to master.
  8. Jan 28, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade is a turning point for iOS gaming. Epic has proven that Apple's popular mobile devices are capable of much more than what we've previously seen, and since they're now licensing their engine out for other developers to use, we're going to start seeing a lot of other games with with Infinity Blade's level of polish.
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Delivers in spades. It reminds me of a more constrained Shadow of the Colossus, which is quite the compliment. For anyone who owns a 3rd or 4th generation iOS device this is an essential purchase.
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Without doubt, my favourite iPhone game of 2010, and the best use of touchscreen controls I have ever played with.
  11. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    An achievement on multiple levels, Infinity Blade is an engrossing game that should be recognised for its gameplay as much as its graphics.
  12. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Infinity Blade is a brand new game with an old style mechanic. Repetition is its core, as you try, death after death, generation after generation, to kill a God King and his bruisers. With never seen before visuals for a portable device, very intuitive controls and an affordable price, if you have an iPhone or and Ipad you must buy this game.
  13. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Successful iPhone games must offer quick, satisfying gameplay and an addictive quality to keep you coming back. Infinity Blade masters both, with short combat segments and a satisfying loop of self-improvement and challenge.
  14. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Despite the control flaws and the repeating levels, there is a world of good fun here. You can easily pick this up, fight a foe in a few minutes, and go back to work and still feel like you accomplished something.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Gameplay is ridiculously stale, touch controls just don't work in this one. While the visuals are great, The game is short, repetitive, and feels like a half-assed effort. But I guess that's the best you can do on iOS. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. It's easy to pick up and play, offers plenty of replayability because of the high priced weapons and arena combat, and has pretty slick multiplayer. The graphics are only outmatched by the upcoming sequel, Infinity Blade 2. Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    INCREDIBLE game. This game has the best graphics of any game I have ever played on this platform. Along with the graphics, the gameplay is great and this game really provides endless fun. Full Review »