• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
King of Dragon Pass Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The acclaimed game of magical storytelling is now on iPhone! King of Dragon Pass blends interactive stories and resource management into an epic saga of conflict, magic, and community. The game is set in Glorantha (the world of the games HeroQuest and RuneQuest). It’s immensely replayable, thanks to nearly 500 interactive scenes and two objectives. Short episodes and automatic saving mean you can play even when you only have a minute or two. The built-in saga keeps track of the story for you. And advisors with distinctive personalities help you track your cows.The gorgeous hand-painted artwork won Best Visual Arts at the second annual Independent Games Festival.Early reviews:• It's like they took the best parts of Civilization games and combined them with the best part of Choose Your Own Adventure style game books. [Touch Arcade]Playtesters say:• What an addicting game!• Above all, KoDP on iOS is *fun*. The game is ideally suited to the portable platform… I can pull it up and play a couple seasons when I'm waiting in line or standing on a train platform.• The game is completely brilliant, by the way — it fits the iOS superbly… it's quite a bit deeper (in a good way) then the bulk of the Appstore games out there, while still fitting the 'bite size' play session that you need.• A fantastic game, and so far it feels like it is darn near perfectly designed for the platform. The story and characters are so expertly written that I am actually sad that the content is finite and that at some point, no matter how long I stall, I'll begin retreading ground.• I was absolutely gobsmacked at the level and depth and complexity in the game. I can honestly say I have never seen a game with such attention to detail and background,except for something like World of Warcraft or the like! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 17, 2011
    100
    If you want a deep, ponderous, text-heavy world-building game for your iPhone, this is the one. Otherwise, pass on King of Dragon Pass.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    I've had an absolutely fantastic time playing King of Dragon Pass. Its slow pace makes it a perfect mobile game.
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    100
    The range of scenarios that crop up is impressive, and the gameplay is complex and rewarding, but only if you can get past the fact that the lack of animation, multiple menus and statistics make for rather a dry experience.
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    90
    For a fantasy-addicted player King of the Dragon Pass is the perfect game. It has no magnificent graphics or epic sound design, but with brilliant storytelling it can drag you into an extraordinary world.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    Rest assured, the audience King of Dragon Pass is aimed at will lap it up. But it's even made a metal and machine guns guy like me respect the dragons and warlocks of ye olde. I'm sure to be back blasting aliens in the face with assault rifles soon, but for now I'm off to trade that bogey in a jar.
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Choose how to rule your barbarian tribe in this remake of a PC classic.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    You have but two options : wait for an indie to craft a modernized version, as rich and enticing as The King of Dragon Pass is, or overlook the dated production values of the original in order to enjoy it right here, right now. Sure, this Sim/RPG game isn't for the faint of heart... you need to be a potential king in order to survive it. But here's all the fun.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    A very fine, unique game in which you must THINK and carefully consider the consequences of your actions. No fancy graphics, but how many books have you read that have fancy graphics? It does have fine hand-drawn art and enough scenarios that you can play the game over and over and still not discover everything it has to offer.

    You start out as the head of a small clan nearly alone in the wilderness. You explore new territory, seek the support of your gods, make new alliances (and enemies), and manage a complex yet understandable set of relationships that will result in your tribe thriving or starving. The goal, of course, is to be crowned King of Dragon Pass, but there is a shorter scenario for those without the patience (or skill) to achieve that. The built-in tutorial introduces game play in an easily understood manner. The developer continues to enhance the game, recently holding a contest which resulted in new scenes, and the visually challenged will find that the game supports Apple's enhancements in that area.

    Highly recommended for the thinking gamer. If you think Fast and Furious is the cat's meow, don't bother.
    Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This has to be one of the deepest and most original games out on iOS. KoDP is really like no other game, and plays like a mix of a choose-your-own-story combined with a roleplaying game, where you control the fortunes of an entire barbarian clan, instead of a small band of heroes. The setting, the fantasy world of Glorantha, which originates from the world of table-top roleplaying, is one of the most interesting and magical fictional universes ever created, and to be succesful in the game, you have to immerse yourself in it and think like a Gloranthan barbarian. A true masterpiece, and recommended for anyone with a sense of adventure and imagination. Collapse
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    I played this game thoroughly for a few weeks and beat it a few times so it's not like I didn't give it a chance or didn't learn how to play. I was looking for a 4x type game and after reading all the great reviews this game has here and on meta critic I dropped the ten bucks on it. If you're thinking of getting this game let me tell you, these people boasting over it are total fanboys, this game is worth 1 maybe 2 dollars max, 10 is a crime. This company should be ashamed of themselves for charging this price.

    It appears very intricate and it is hard and addictive at first but once you figure it out you discover that the gameplay is very predetermined. If you want to not die then you are forced into using the same playstyle everytime. The scenarios and storylines are plentiful but after one playthrough they become very repetitive, there is very little replay value unless you are super into learning the all the lore in the game.

    There is a lot of nice artwork and very in depth lore. If you're really into that then maybe this is the game for you. If you're looking for an actual strategy game then look elsewhere, there are great games out there that blow KoDP out of the water and cost half the price.

    By the way I've never written a review for anything before, but I had to post this because it's just wrong how all these people are misleading everyone by rating this so high.
    Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.