Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    Limbo comes to mobile, brining its monochromatic horror creepiness to the touchscreen.
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    85
    Limbo on iOS platforms offers the same quality level enjoyed on the previous editions. A must have classic.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    85
    Dark, creative and full of tense atmosphere: Limbo on iOS is as captivating as it always was.
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    Limbo is a benefit to the entire App Store that is a spectacular experience to take part in making it a must buy.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    100
    Puzzle design is outstanding, with many later instances requiring extremely tight timing to escape certain doom. A dozen GameCenter achievements are available for a bit of replay value, and there is even an achievement for completing the game in one sitting with 5 or fewer deaths, which can be a pretty daunting challenge. This was our first experience with LIMBO and we were pretty blown away.
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    As dark as it is beautiful, Limbo's mysterious and viscious world sucks you in and holds you captive.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    95
    The gameplay, while not overly complex and slightly less fine-tuned as its console cousin, is more than adequate. And the overall package is really quite solid. Playdead knows this and the price tag reflects that polish. But is Limbo worth it? Well, there certainly are no shortage of beautiful physics puzzle/platformers already in the App Store, but there’s not many that can match Limbo’s overall quality.
  8. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    For those who haven't played Limbo before, or for those who simply want to play it again while riding on the bus, you can download the iOS version with confidence that it is just as creepy and well-crafted as on any other platform.
  9. Sep 2, 2013
    83
    A compromised classic. [Oct 2013, p.80]
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Limbo is an incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection, and this successful transition to touch controls means even more people will get to enjoy it.
  11. Jul 11, 2013
    95
    Limbo has made the leap to iOS admirably, losing nothing in the translation and only minor quibbles with the jumping mechanics really stand out enough to drop the score slightly. Indeed, Limbo is surprisingly well suited to the sporadic habits of the handheld gamer, with well thought out checkpoint placement allowing you to tackle a few quick puzzles at your leisure whenever you have a spare minute or three and the spine tingling aesthetic of the game benefits greatly from the intimate nature of handheld gaming.
  12. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    As mesmerizing on iOS as anywhere else, Limbo is a concise and fascinating puzzle platform adventure that really sticks with you.
  13. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    Is this touchscreen Limbo a perfect port of the original masterpiece? Not quite, and there are certainly moments where you'll cry out for the precision that only a physical controller can provide. Still, these moments are rare enough to ensure that this mobile version remains nothing less than outstanding overall.
  14. Jul 15, 2013
    85
    Limbo is still a wonderful game even on iOS, but the touch controls makes it the less recommendable version of them all.
  15. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    A dark and macabre puzzle-platformer, Limbo is always experimenting with new ways to make you think, and new ways to shock you to your core.
  16. Beyond saying, “Limbo on the iOS is great for people who don’t have an Xbox 360 and want to play the game,” there isn’t much else to this version of the game.
  17. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    Limbo for iOS is a fantastic port of a classic indie platformer.
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    90
    The gameplay is simple and intuitive with a perfect graphic and sound. The level of difficulty is high and isn't easy to find any bug in this title.
  19. Jul 11, 2013
    60
    Limbo's soft-focus monochrome promises mystery and dread, but it's undercut by the very puzzles it deliberately obfuscates.
  20. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    What LIMBO did well on other platforms, it replicates perfectly in the iOS version: simple controls, an eerie atmosphere and an experience that sticks in your mind.
  21. Jul 3, 2013
    95
    The same experience we all remember jumps into iDevices, becoming the perfect opportunity for those who haven't played it yet.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    The idea, visual look, feeling, mood, atmosphere are perfect! This game is pure genius! The reason it doesn't deserve more than 8 is because the game-play is too frustrating. I couldn't play it trough, and not because it's too hard.. rather because you die a lot of times during a play-trough and every time you need to wait for 10 seconds or more and it gets way too frustrated after you had died a hundred times.. it means you had lost hours from your lifetime, not playing just watching your character die and a black screen :(
    If every time I die I could just skip that unnecessary procedure by hitting an Escape or Space or Enter.. I would give it a 9-10
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    This is a fascinating game. Of course my grandson figured out more than I could. The only problem is that it takes so much concentration that it gave me a headache. Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Great art style, fun puzzles, challenging, rewarding, entertaining, mysterious. The perfect adventure indie game, only problem that i have is that it's too short but i feel it would have gotten repetitive anyways. This game is a must buy if you own an Xbox or Ps3 and enjoy great games. Full Review »