Major Magnet Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Story of Major Magnet

    With an insanely funny set of characters, including loyal sidekick Gus the Guinea Pig, Major Magnet's off to save the world from Colonel Lastin, without even realizing it. Sometimes a hero can come from anyone, especially if they have a magnet to help them out.
    All he wants is his yellow cape back!

    Gone are the days of playing a game where you just run around, stomping on mushrooms — this is magnetic gameplay! Tap a magnet, swing and shoot the Major to race through each level. It's as innovative as it sounds and incredibly fun to master.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    100
    A very engaging, and enjoyable arcade flinger based on magnets, complete with impeccable presentation.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    The Major impresses where it counts: gameplay and innovation.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    90
    Major Magnet is a passionate project, one that tries to honor its forefathers while existing as its own original work. And it succeeds tremendously.
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    80
    Major Magnet is a colourful, playable, and imaginative arcade casual game that suffers from a vertical difficulty curve.
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    Major Magnet is a very clever puzzle game, original and addictive, with just some balancing issues. However, it's a recommended purchase.
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    75
    There’s a definite attraction here, but some parts manage to repel, too.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    Major Magnet doesn’t get out of its own way, and feels like just another also ran in the genre despite the neat theme, potential for speed, and high quality design. It’s also worth noting that although the game is set-up for speed, and flow the level design just doesn’t lend itself for either.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    truly superb, the visuals are mesmerising, and the soundtrack is so good I wish there was an OST on iTunes! the game gets very challenging in later levels, so prepare for some frustration trying certain levels over and over again! Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    A wonderful trip down memory lane, no game has transported me back to the golden age of 16-bit gaming like Major Magnet has. A fresh take on touch screen controls that some how feels inherently familiar. It's just superb!! Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    After hearing good things about this game, I decided to give it a shot and it didn't disappoint! I grew up playing my Sega, and this took me right back to that time. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Whoa, I saw some trailers leading up to this and totally wasn't sure of what to expect. I took a $0.99 risk in purchasing this and am certainly not sorry!! It's hard to explain what an usual game this is, it's just such a weird (yet totally wonderful) mix of Sonic and Cut the Rope that I cannot bear to put it down hardly. Stunning soundtrack and visuals wrap this up to make the best dollar I've spent so far this year. Collapse