Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    100
    Mega Mall Story is a brilliant tycoon game that is more fun (and economical) than spending a day at the mall.
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Mega Mall Story's subject and style seem particularly suited to younger female casual gamers; after all, malls are considered the domain of teenage girls. But the game never feels like it's deliberately aiming for a female audience, which is to its credit. If a charming, happy, absorbing game about a mall appeals to you, Mega Mall Story is worth your time.
  3. Sep 2, 2011
    90
    All of its pieces fit snug and everything you do contributes to a whole package. It's also one of its most wide-reaching games, combining social and sim aspects from all over the place.
  4. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    Any Kairosoft App Store release should be an insta-buy for sim fans at this point, and Mega Mall Story is certainly no exception. It's well worth the meager asking price, but buyer beware: it can have a profound effect on productivity. And one's social life.
  5. Aug 14, 2011
    90
    Mega Mall Story represents Kairosoft's most addictive game experience yet. It strikes the perfect balance between accessibility and simulation depth.
  6. Sep 5, 2011
    88
    Mega Mall Story shares some issues with the previous made-in-Kairosoft games, like touch controls far from perfect and its lack of replayability. Anyway there is no doubt that this one is the best and deepest sim the Japanese studio has developed until now.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    With its familiar interface, simple mechanics and hummable ditty, resistance to its effortless charm is completely futile. At this stage, you might as well buy shares in Kairosoft.
  8. Aug 15, 2011
    80
    On the gameplay side I think they trimmed out a lot of the under the hood yin and yang nonsense.
  9. Aug 10, 2011
    80
    Despite its faults, Mega Mall Story is an excellent sim game that will have fans of the genre glued to their iPhones for hours.
  10. Aug 10, 2011
    80
    Kairosoft continues its management game dominance with Mega Mall Story: our addiction levels beg for mercy.
  11. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Again I would question whether this would still be as compelling the second time around, but I think there's still enough secret stuff hidden away to keep me coming back for a few months.
  12. Sep 7, 2011
    70
    A fun simulation game with cool graphics, and a enjoyable vibe. Being on the easy and short side, and lacking online leaderboards hurt it quite a lot. Still it is worth getting if you have enjoyed the other titles from Kairosoft.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Mega Mall Story is one of Kairosoft's, IOS's best simulation games that can Hold a candle to Game Dev Story. Fans will instantly feel familiar with the basic gaming mechanics that we have all begun to love. Mega Mall Story has exstordiairy game play depth which is only seen in the best of titles. The usual graphics, funky music, addicting gameplay and sims will justify your money well spent. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, one of the, if not, best game the ios has to offer. Its a near flawless game that is almost too addictive. Why are you bothering to read this, get this amazing game now!!! Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    It's a fun game while it lasts but the difficulty is low. This is my first game by Kairosoft and I've heard that they are known for some fairly difficult games in this genre. However this is probably one of the more easier games I've played in awhile. It's a bit to easy to get money and a bit too hard to get different stores. However it's really entertaining while it lasts and can be quite fun for awhile. However Game Dev Story was definitely a better game and I would recommend playing that one first and then play this one. Full Review »