Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    A few hours of solid entertainment. [Nov 2012, p.29]
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    It's a platformer completely devoted to its time attack mechanics, which leaves much to be desired in terms of graphics and extra content and thus might not appeal to everybody.
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    70
    Controls are simple and effective. A two-way control pad for movement and two large buttons for jumping and sliding under low platforms. They're responsive and work well without getting in the way.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    100
    Mikey Shorts is pure retro goodness, all wrapped up in a modern package. While its influences may be visible from space, it doesn't change the fact that this game is pure fun to play. Even after playing through the game in a matter of hours, we were desperate to go back to see if we could change those hours into minutes, and get all the coins, too.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Mikey Shorts is a speed-run platformer that's all about learning levels and nailing jumps with expert precision. If you prefer to take it slow, though, Mikey's unimaginative design will fail to thrill.
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    Mikey Shorts manages to stand tall amongst the best the platform genre has to offer, and you should make a point to download it in the very near future.
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    100
    Mikey Shorts is a game that truly has something for everyone. Want to have fun? Story mode. Looking for a serious challenge? Challenge mode. Mikey Shorts is well worth its $0.99 download price.
  8. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    There are a lot of reasons to love a game. Great challenge, fun with friends, gorgeous design-all good reasons. Despite its rough edges, Mikey Shorts gets to me because it brings me to a place where I can play and have a great time, without hitting walls, without getting frustrated, without having to pass it on to the next kid in line. It's a good feeling, one I don't particularly want to give up.
  9. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    The days of simply slugging your way through repetitive levels with no objective are thankfully long-dead and Mikey Shorts provides players with multiple objectives, achievements and modes to enjoy with flawless controls; a real platforming gem.
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    I've gotten absolutely hooked on Mikey Shorts. I felt compelled to get 100% in Story mode. I keep going back to play more of the 48 Challenge levels. I collect coins so I can run amok in a top hat, monocle, and duck bill because why not. But most of all, it's the way that the game is designed to be empowering.
  11. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    A wonderful time sink that hasn't forgotten the principles of giving back to its players. This is a title pared down to precious few actions, but designed so well that nothing ever gets stale. A glowing, beeping slice of pure, simple fun.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    If you're keen on (Game Center) speedrun competition, you will like this game. If you're after a traditional platformer with standard elements such as hazards, player death, enemy creatures, different environmental attributes (not just a palette change) then you will lose interest in it very quickly. If they do a follow-up, using the same engine and controls, but as more of a proper platform game and not just a speed-runner, it could be very good. Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Not much to say about it. This game is brilliant, simple, and flat out amazing. In my opinion it is the only iPhone game that keeps anyone intersted for more than 5 minutes. Completely unrepetative, and interesting level design. Games these days occasionally need the three Ss, Short, Sweet, and Simple. And Mikey Shorts definetialy supplies. 10 out of 10. Full Review »
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Awesome platformer game. Controls, graphics, gameplay, music, learning curve, everything work amazing. If you are looking for a fun and challenging game, I really recommend this game. Full Review »