Minecraft: Pocket Edition iOS

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 131
  2. Negative: 40 out of 131
Stream On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    Taking the famous PC game and moving it to mobile devices seems like a interesting idea, but it end up being to big of a task for the developers. What you get with "Pocket Edition" is a lifeless and barren world that you craft almost whatever you want in, but the amount of fun you have entirely depends on how much you love to build. If you enjoy exploring caves (which aren't in thisTaking the famous PC game and moving it to mobile devices seems like a interesting idea, but it end up being to big of a task for the developers. What you get with "Pocket Edition" is a lifeless and barren world that you craft almost whatever you want in, but the amount of fun you have entirely depends on how much you love to build. If you enjoy exploring caves (which aren't in this version) and fighting monsters then you're out of luck. I've never played the PC version, but it always looked like a lot of fun to team up with a friend and try to survive while building your own fortress. Unfortunately none of that transfers over into this port. The game is separated into two modes, survival and create. Create gives you endless supplies and lets your imagination run free without any distractions like monsters getting in your way. The problem with this mode is that the world you're placed in is so barren and lifeless that I couldn't stick around to play for more than a few minutes without giving up thanks to boredom. Survival mode throws you into a scarcely populated world, devoid on any monster filled caves, and tasks you with building shelter to survive the night. There's no real enjoyment to be had in this mode either. Only one monster type is available and poses next to no threat. This mode made me give up as well thanks to boredom. Overall the promise on Minecraft on a mobile device sounds too good to be true, and unfortunately it is. "Pocket Edition" is lifeless, barren, and most disappointingly boring. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    The game is an excellent transfer of the incredible indie hit to a portable device, however it's quite clear that the experience couldn't fully be brought over to the iOS platform, and while an fun distraction from work or whatever else, it's a version of minecraft that won't see you building a giant Charizard or functioning toilets with actual flushing, but still worth the asking price,The game is an excellent transfer of the incredible indie hit to a portable device, however it's quite clear that the experience couldn't fully be brought over to the iOS platform, and while an fun distraction from work or whatever else, it's a version of minecraft that won't see you building a giant Charizard or functioning toilets with actual flushing, but still worth the asking price, especially to continue supporting Mojang which will soon 'release' the actual 'final build' of the game, with many updates to follow swiftly as it has been doing so. DOWNLOAD IT. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    The pocket edition is where the PC version was 15 months ago developmentally speaking. This is an independent adaptation of an indie game, so think of this as a portable tribute instead of the real deal.
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    i'll be blunt, this is a poor adaption of the much loved (by me) of mine craft. but lets not forget this is version 0.1.2 if I'm not correct so obviously there will be a few (many - hopefully) updates that will fix the slight flaws with having only creative, only 36 items in inventory and the controls are a bit clunky if not annoying but ONLY because i'm playing on the iPhone 4. the app isi'll be blunt, this is a poor adaption of the much loved (by me) of mine craft. but lets not forget this is version 0.1.2 if I'm not correct so obviously there will be a few (many - hopefully) updates that will fix the slight flaws with having only creative, only 36 items in inventory and the controls are a bit clunky if not annoying but ONLY because i'm playing on the iPhone 4. the app is universal so i recommend playing it on the IPAD defiantly. The other thing that annoys me a bit is that the world that is generated are always quite small and this is understandable as this game is being played on a phone but with more powerful phones being made every year i hope there is a point where we can reach an unlimited world. i would recommend for the hardcore fans but think before you by as the price is a bit steep for the little amount of content they give. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    It's essentially the same as the alpha version was on the pc version. They have said they would update this game in the future like they did with the pc version as well. It's a start and it is still amazing to play any form of minecraft on a phone. It is only fair to be patient because Notch isn't like other developers. He could have released this game in a year or two when it was perfect,It's essentially the same as the alpha version was on the pc version. They have said they would update this game in the future like they did with the pc version as well. It's a start and it is still amazing to play any form of minecraft on a phone. It is only fair to be patient because Notch isn't like other developers. He could have released this game in a year or two when it was perfect, but chose to release it now and support it with updates. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Right now it's more of a solid proof of concept than a real game, but add survival mode, inprove or a least let people customise the controls better, and generally bring it up to the standard of the PC version and it could be a master piece. Also work out some way to support mods and texture packs.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    This is my second review of "Minecraft: Pocket Edition" because the game has some large updates. The game is progressing to its standards, but definitely cannot match the PC version, nonetheless. The controls aren't as straightforward and easy to use like the PC version, and I doubt that any significant changes will be made to that.
  8. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    I love minecraft on PC, and that is why this version is such a shame. The creative mode is alright, but there is a very minimal assortment of blocks to choose from and the controls, but i wouldn't expect decent controls on a touch screen device anyway. What really angers me is the what Mojang tried to pass as "survival" mode. The current survival mode is pretty unbearable, seeing as mostI love minecraft on PC, and that is why this version is such a shame. The creative mode is alright, but there is a very minimal assortment of blocks to choose from and the controls, but i wouldn't expect decent controls on a touch screen device anyway. What really angers me is the what Mojang tried to pass as "survival" mode. The current survival mode is pretty unbearable, seeing as most of the core features of survival mode dont even exist. You needto collect your own materials, but since there is no clay in the game yet you always have unlimited bricks. Same for glass, because there are NO FURNACES. No furnaces. Think about that. Think about all the uses for a furnace. Think about how necessary it is. Yea. That's half the game right there. So making torches is harder because you cant smelt charcoal, but even worse is the fact that dark places are unbearably dark. You can barely see anything. How am i supposed to go mining for coal so i can make torches, when the underground is too dark to see ANYTHING in. So by night time, the game is just annoying and not worth trying. I would just stick to creative. Survival is a disaster. Expand
  9. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    Minecraft Pocket Edition, first, It was awful, because It was only in Creative Mode, and, in Creative Mode, you can build whatever you want, but It was completely not challenging, It was without zombies, creepers, skeletons, which I would rate that version 3.0, but now, Majong added Survival Mode, which is more fun. .But, still It doesn't have so much things like in PC Version. There youMinecraft Pocket Edition, first, It was awful, because It was only in Creative Mode, and, in Creative Mode, you can build whatever you want, but It was completely not challenging, It was without zombies, creepers, skeletons, which I would rate that version 3.0, but now, Majong added Survival Mode, which is more fun. .But, still It doesn't have so much things like in PC Version. There you don't have a hunger bar, there you can kill only zombie and adding animals, for nothing, It's not necessary. It haves more things to do, but still disappointing. Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    The game is ok for IOS however if you want to play minecraft i don't see why u would want to play it on IOS same with the Xbox version its ok but it does not beat the PC version.
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    The good about Minecraft PE is that its better than LITE. But the bad is that it cant make the masterpiece of PC version as there is no Creepers, Skeletons, Spiders, chat, brewing, dropping items, villages, redstone, railways and more. There is serious work needed for PE as this do's not capture the full items of Minecraft and another thing is there is no point for mining diamonds sinceThe good about Minecraft PE is that its better than LITE. But the bad is that it cant make the masterpiece of PC version as there is no Creepers, Skeletons, Spiders, chat, brewing, dropping items, villages, redstone, railways and more. There is serious work needed for PE as this do's not capture the full items of Minecraft and another thing is there is no point for mining diamonds since the only mob are zombies. Expand
  12. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    Although it is a very basic version of minecraft, they are adding new things and it clearly says Alpha when you get to the main menu. This means there are more things to come and the game is not finished. I still think it is very fun and a good way to pass the time
  13. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    Its okay but Minecraft pocket edition needs a lot of updates like nether portals, wolfs, and many other missing stuff. But other than that its a fun game to have when your on the road away from your PC.
  14. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    I played this before the real PC version. But one thing: flint and steel is useless. it can only be used with TNT. Creative mode sucks. no crafting, no nether reactor working, NO TNT?!?! Creative is only useful in building. Survival is way better. If you want a better experience, crafting, tnt, flint and steel useful, more stuff, GET THE PC VERSION. It is worth 20 bucks. People say "TheI played this before the real PC version. But one thing: flint and steel is useless. it can only be used with TNT. Creative mode sucks. no crafting, no nether reactor working, NO TNT?!?! Creative is only useful in building. Survival is way better. If you want a better experience, crafting, tnt, flint and steel useful, more stuff, GET THE PC VERSION. It is worth 20 bucks. People say "The graphics are so crappy, the game is so crappy." IGNORE THEM! That is not a big deal. It is still good. Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    In November 2011 we were treated to Minecraft: Pocket Edition. A Minecraft game that had almost nothing to relate itself to Minecraft except for the blocky world. Almost two years later. Minecraft has reached version .7.2 Alpha and I'm happy to say that this game definitely feels like Minecraft. There are better controls, monsters to hide from, ores to mine, items to craft, houses toIn November 2011 we were treated to Minecraft: Pocket Edition. A Minecraft game that had almost nothing to relate itself to Minecraft except for the blocky world. Almost two years later. Minecraft has reached version .7.2 Alpha and I'm happy to say that this game definitely feels like Minecraft. There are better controls, monsters to hide from, ores to mine, items to craft, houses to build, and a sky to look at. Still, this doesn't mean that things aren't missing. Caves are nowhere to be found,so resources are harder to gather. Red stone nerds can't make any red stone machines. The list of omissions is still endless. Still, that doesn't mean that MCPE isn't fun and addicting. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2013
    5
    This game is still in early development stage and requires a lot of updates still. The current version of this game is barely Alpha, more like Indev. Just like Minecraft PC, you wander around and break blocks, and build things, but what this game lacks are Redstone contraptions, it has a very narrow selection of building materials, there are no caves, or infinite worlds. Becomes veryThis game is still in early development stage and requires a lot of updates still. The current version of this game is barely Alpha, more like Indev. Just like Minecraft PC, you wander around and break blocks, and build things, but what this game lacks are Redstone contraptions, it has a very narrow selection of building materials, there are no caves, or infinite worlds. Becomes very boring quickly.

    I look foward to the 0.8.0 Update though. I will continue to edit this review as the game progresses. A score of 5 is currently what the game is worthy of, as the game becomes better I will continue to raise its score.
    Expand
  17. Apr 11, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love minecraft I have it on the PC and the PS3 and I have it on my ipod. The PE is........ not the best best minecraft game. The survival gets really boring, creative is fine but it does not change from day to night.
    So over all I would not prefer this game.
    Expand
  18. Jul 10, 2014
    5
    Just plain boring. That's it!!!! It's just a lite or a demo version of a game that i don't like in the first place. It is addictive but in a lazy way.
  19. Feb 23, 2015
    6
    This game is okay. There are many better but It is worth playing. The graphics are fine but too squared. The controls are okay. The blocks are fun. The animals are cool. Minecraft is a good game for IOS but not the best. Haven't played it in AGES but it is worth $7.00.
  20. Jun 5, 2015
    5
    This game is a sandbox simulator worth buying,but you gotta pick PC or IOS? Bad thing is it makes users lose their interest fast and try to build cities and failing.i mean,it doesn't even have physics.blocks float midair like a Helicarrier when they should be reaching terminal velocity at 120 MPH.only thing that makes this game unique is... Is.... I don't know at all,there are way betterThis game is a sandbox simulator worth buying,but you gotta pick PC or IOS? Bad thing is it makes users lose their interest fast and try to build cities and failing.i mean,it doesn't even have physics.blocks float midair like a Helicarrier when they should be reaching terminal velocity at 120 MPH.only thing that makes this game unique is... Is.... I don't know at all,there are way better games and yet this one stands out for no reason.but it deserves a bricked 5/10! Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2015
    5
    Its not the best of Mobile games but I can see it being an awesome game. I love minecraft of PC but I find P.E a little boring. The mobs are not that great as the PC and the world gen is boring compared to PC.
  22. Jul 9, 2015
    7
    Pocket edition is the only minecraft version I really play.
    I have a huge world on it, thanks to the June 2015 world expansion update. I have built lots of buildings and cool features.
    The game offers a lot of great things and can be really entertaining and will allow you to unleash your creative flow. The game has lots of glitches, which involves the game cutting off during
    Pocket edition is the only minecraft version I really play.
    I have a huge world on it, thanks to the June 2015 world expansion update. I have built lots of buildings and cool features.
    The game offers a lot of great things and can be really entertaining and will allow you to unleash your creative flow.
    The game has lots of glitches, which involves the game cutting off during multiplayer, the game cutting off and rubbing out recently done stuff, and invulnerable floating signs that can be found throughout my world.
    Other than that, it is a lot of fun, and worth the £4.99 price.

    7/10
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. 60
    Not really worth the price in its current form, unless you're a die-hard fan of the Creative game mode of Minecraft. And yet it still manages to be a recommendable series, as there's something zen-like about just building to your hearts content.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jan 12, 2012
    56
    For now it's all craft and no mine. [Feb 2012, p.87]
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    40
    This iOS version, alas, is akin to the original's early iterations. You're only offered the sandbox creation mode, in which you potter about a vast landscape, placing blocks to build stuff. Recreate your own house; make a fairytale castle; spell out 'help, I'm bored' – the choice is yours. And that's basically it.