Monument Valley iOS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncoveringIn Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. Monument Valley is a strong contender for my mobile game of the year.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2015
    88
    This eautiful puzzle platformer is an atmospheric trip, but a tad too short. Well designed puzzles keep you occupied for couple of hours, but when the credits roll, you'll be crawing for more. [May 2015]
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block toThe puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    One of the best games for iOS; not a hard point to argue, but I know a lot of people are skeptical because of the price point. Incredibly wellOne of the best games for iOS; not a hard point to argue, but I know a lot of people are skeptical because of the price point. Incredibly well developed, takes full advantage of the iPhone's graphical quality, and is "simple" enough not to frustrate with its puzzles -- just a great atmospheric journey that sits with you for a bit. If you're a fan of Fez, you'll love this. Expand
  3. May 12, 2016
    10
    Nothing is impossible. You may not see a clear route but don't be discouraged. A different perspective may be all you need and everythingNothing is impossible. You may not see a clear route but don't be discouraged. A different perspective may be all you need and everything will fall in place. You may be unsure of your destination but remember its journey that matters. With every obstacle overcome you become more confident in your ability to see the hidden paths and navigate these twisted worlds.

    Monument Valley shines in its clever level design and focus on minimalism. All the sharp edges, even symmetry, and tri-tone blocks give this game a super crisp, clean, look. Even accounting for the perspective shifts its really easy to see where you can and can't walk. There is little to no unnecessary flair to distract you while you try to solve the puzzles. Sometimes you'll just want to take a break from playing to just enjoy the sheer beauty of this game. It even gives you an option to take a picture at the end of each level to share with your friends or keep as a reminder of your accomplishment.

    The goal in each level is simple. All you have to do is go from point A to point B. The problem is that there is no clear path. You'll either have to move and twist the map around to flow the way you need it or spin the camera to make what seem like impossible gaps to line up and connect perfectly. None of the puzzles are too hard. Ida's movement is quite limited so there are really only so many ways you can go. This is clearly designed just to be a calm and relaxing experience. You may be scratching your head every so often but don't expect too much challenge.

    Who is Ida you may ask. You control the princess Ida through her journey across the sacred geometry. Yes, there is a story here but its so light it might fly away. Don't take my teasing too seriously. I enjoyed what little bits of story and dialogue there was but it just wasn't very memorable. This game is clearly focused on its unique puzzles and vibrant art. There was absolutely no need to weigh down the experience with an overbearing or half-baked story. It would have gone against everything else the game stands for.

    In the end, I think anyone could enjoy this game and I would recommend everyone giving it a chance. The minimalism in both the art and sound design helps trance the player in a wonderful zen like state. Its a great escape from the hectic, fast-paced, and intricate games we normally see and play on our favorite consoles or gaming computers. A rare mobile gem that doesn't rely on the usual free-to-play revenue model. The only time it will ask for any money is for the DLC which is well worth it as it adds more of the same exceptional level design. Buy this game, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    Endlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile gamesEndlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile games since my phone is a bit outdated, but I am very glad that I decided to pick this one up.

    None of the puzzles outstayed their welcome, nor were the too difficult for most anyone to be able to figure out. This could be a great little game to play with your children. The atmosphere was engrossing and I truly loved the art style and aesthetics of this piece. It's hard to imagine being enraptured by little birds and a girl, but I loved the little caws, the pitter patter of the Princess' footsteps and the ambient music.

    For those who believe this game was too short, I get it. I wish it was a little longer too, but it is what it is. Also, the game is super cheap. To those of you that say it should have been free, maybe you don't understand how games are made, or are too overwhelmed by free-mium type games to care. Either way, I am very happy with my $3 purchase (seriously, you're complaining about three bucks...) and will be picking up any expansions/dlc that the devs have to offer.

    An easy recommendation, and a hearty 9/10 :)
    Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2017
    9
    This game is amazing! I got it on my birthday and slowly played it from beginning to end in two to three days. It is truly creative,This game is amazing! I got it on my birthday and slowly played it from beginning to end in two to three days. It is truly creative, imaginative, and mind-whopping. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    Love it, Nice little game that made me dreamy though but it was a zen like experience. The art style is incredible with 3D perception alongLove it, Nice little game that made me dreamy though but it was a zen like experience. The art style is incredible with 3D perception along geometries executed with clever aesthetics. Absorbing, beautiful, subtle,with a calm relaxing music. Pure magic. You'll need more. Just try this. Thank you Mr. President
    #HouseOfCard got me into this.
    Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and theNice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.