• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncoveringIn Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. Monument Valley is a strong contender for my mobile game of the year.
  6. May 13, 2015
    88
    This eautiful puzzle platformer is an atmospheric trip, but a tad too short. Well designed puzzles keep you occupied for couple of hours, but when the credits roll, you'll be crawing for more. [May 2015]
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block toThe puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Collapse
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Love it, not just a simple game but a dreamy idea that improves your imagination.
    Great design and a lot of interesting levels. If you're
    Love it, not just a simple game but a dreamy idea that improves your imagination.
    Great design and a lot of interesting levels. If you're looking for a good puzzle game, you found it .The experience of Monument Valley is sure to please both: experienced players and just-for-fun players
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2015
    10
    Great game great concept great puzzles great controles just a perfect puzzle game best game on mobile platform and thanks to ustwo thattheyGreat game great concept great puzzles great controles just a perfect puzzle game best game on mobile platform and thanks to ustwo thatthey released it on android also because they dont take money for making it exlusive on iphone Expand
  4. May 11, 2014
    9
    I just spent a very enjoyable and Zen-like two hours with Monument Valley on my iPad. It is a new, arty puzzler that brings to mind Escher,I just spent a very enjoyable and Zen-like two hours with Monument Valley on my iPad. It is a new, arty puzzler that brings to mind Escher, Journey and possibly Fez. It enjoys playing with your brain by playing with perspective. As a pointy-hatted princess, you have to make your way around structures that could not exist in the real world. To do so, you have to rotate levers, which may alter the environment, raise and lower paths, step on tricky-to-reach switches and befriend a blinking, yellow totem (!). If two paths don’t actually connect, but you can manipulate the view in such a way that they seem to line up, you can now actually walk across from one to the other.

    It is not an entirely new concept, but is done very well here. You will pleasantly struggle to grasp the impossible bending of space, but you won’t be stumped. There was only one instance where I was stalled for a longish amount of time, because I didn’t realize that lifting a lid from one end would reveal something else beneath it, than lifting it from the other end. My sense of reality was getting in the way of my embrace of surrealism.

    Monument Valley is a very short game with only ten – beautifully designed – chapters, so it won’t take you long to finish; about an hour or two. But the stylish, charmingly simple graphics, the poetic hints suggesting a melancholy backstory, the relaxing music and – of course – the surreal puzzle-platforming, make for a great experience. I guess some people will object to the relatively high price for such a short mobile game, but if you’re someone who values quality over quantity, then picking this up is – ironically – a no-brainer.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    Love it, Nice little game that made me dreamy though but it was a zen like experience. The art style is incredible with 3D perception alongLove it, Nice little game that made me dreamy though but it was a zen like experience. The art style is incredible with 3D perception along geometries executed with clever aesthetics. Absorbing, beautiful, subtle,with a calm relaxing music. Pure magic. You'll need more. Just try this. Thank you Mr. President
    #HouseOfCard got me into this.
    Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    Endlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile gamesEndlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile games since my phone is a bit outdated, but I am very glad that I decided to pick this one up.

    None of the puzzles outstayed their welcome, nor were the too difficult for most anyone to be able to figure out. This could be a great little game to play with your children. The atmosphere was engrossing and I truly loved the art style and aesthetics of this piece. It's hard to imagine being enraptured by little birds and a girl, but I loved the little caws, the pitter patter of the Princess' footsteps and the ambient music.

    For those who believe this game was too short, I get it. I wish it was a little longer too, but it is what it is. Also, the game is super cheap. To those of you that say it should have been free, maybe you don't understand how games are made, or are too overwhelmed by free-mium type games to care. Either way, I am very happy with my $3 purchase (seriously, you're complaining about three bucks...) and will be picking up any expansions/dlc that the devs have to offer.

    An easy recommendation, and a hearty 9/10 :)
    Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and theNice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.