• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncoveringIn Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. Monument Valley is a strong contender for my mobile game of the year.
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    85
    Monument Valley is a beautiful digital work of art that’s a joy to play with its fascinating puzzles and amazing looking levels. Every level plays with perspective, the laws of nature and a simply unique experience with its great use of color, sounds and music. Too bad it’s really short though.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block toThe puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Collapse
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful,This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful, addictive, with a calm relaxing music. Pure magic. I want more. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    This game reminded me of DampGnat's Wonderputt. That is a compliment of the highest form. This game is not only beautiful, but also very deep.This game reminded me of DampGnat's Wonderputt. That is a compliment of the highest form. This game is not only beautiful, but also very deep. Even though there isn't dialogue or cutscenes, the devs get their point across. It doesn't hurt that the puzzles and gameplay are flawless. Buy this game now and never look back. We need more iOS games like this. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    Endlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile gamesEndlessly charming, fun little noggin scratcher puzzles, amazing aesthetic choice and spot-on execution. I don't normally play mobile games since my phone is a bit outdated, but I am very glad that I decided to pick this one up.

    None of the puzzles outstayed their welcome, nor were the too difficult for most anyone to be able to figure out. This could be a great little game to play with your children. The atmosphere was engrossing and I truly loved the art style and aesthetics of this piece. It's hard to imagine being enraptured by little birds and a girl, but I loved the little caws, the pitter patter of the Princess' footsteps and the ambient music.

    For those who believe this game was too short, I get it. I wish it was a little longer too, but it is what it is. Also, the game is super cheap. To those of you that say it should have been free, maybe you don't understand how games are made, or are too overwhelmed by free-mium type games to care. Either way, I am very happy with my $3 purchase (seriously, you're complaining about three bucks...) and will be picking up any expansions/dlc that the devs have to offer.

    An easy recommendation, and a hearty 9/10 :)
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of the better iPhone games ever made. While it will only last you around an hour, that hour will be extraordinary, artistic, andEasily one of the better iPhone games ever made. While it will only last you around an hour, that hour will be extraordinary, artistic, and beautiful. "Quality over quantity" defines this game well. The art style is amazing, levels/puzzles are clever and well-designed, the plot is mysterious, and it's overall something you just have to experience. In a market over-saturated with Pay to Win games and IAP's, Monument Valley stands out and definitely deserves your attention at its $3.99 asking price. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2015
    9
    best cellphone game out there
    the puzzle's are fun and interesting while leading them with a great m.c.escher style of art. sureal landscapes
    best cellphone game out there
    the puzzle's are fun and interesting while leading them with a great m.c.escher style of art. sureal landscapes and puzzles are what make this game unique, with a hidden mysterious story that flows perfectly with little dialogue.
    Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and theNice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.