Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    100
    Nihilumbra may tell a downer of a story, but that doesn't stop it from being one of the best platformers on iOS.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    100
    Any gamer who enjoys platformers should not miss this one. Anyone who appreciates a good story should play as well. Despite the few nicks in Nihilumbra's armor, I'm happy to give it five stars. It is an earnest experience. It might not be perfect, but it's a fine example of artists using a medium to tell a story. And it's tons of fun too.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    100
    While the puzzles are fun and challenging, it is the game's presentation that puts it over the top. The world of Nihilumbra is gorgeously realized through fantastic artwork, animation and a haunting soundtrack.
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    It's a triumph for those who favor experiential gaming over the challenge of eking out ever-smaller, incremental degrees of satisfaction from more skill-based titles.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    Nihilumbra is a must-play game, whether you're in it for the story or the art, the puzzles or the platforming.
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    The game is artistically wonderful, the gameplay is creative yet not repetitive, and there's replay value for those who want it. I can't praise this fantastic indie platformer enough.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    87
    Dark atmosphere, unprecedented drama for an App Store game, amazing finale. Finally, the iOS platform has discovered its own thatgamecompany.
  8. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    Nihilumbra is one of those games that are more about the emotional experience than the actual gameplay.
  9. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Nihilumbra provides a straight platforming experience that focuses on the gameplay and story instead of the usual Arcade-like snack-sized gaming we've seen dominate the App Store.
  10. Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Nihilumbra is a clever and fascinating puzzle platformer that succeeds in providing a unique mobile experience. Unfortunately it's slightly spoiled by several ups and downs and a really bad difficulty curve.
  11. 70
    Clever puzzles, immersive presentation, and an intriguing plot combine in one of the most ambitious and original smartphone games of the year.
  12. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    A gloomy, intelligent platformer, Nihilumbra will keep you playing until the bitter end.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Love this game on my Iphone!.

    This game is 100% innovative, totally high quality ! totally awesome!! When it comes to PC & Mac I will
    Love this game on my Iphone!.

    This game is 100% innovative, totally high quality ! totally awesome!!

    When it comes to PC & Mac I will buy it again!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    First off this gorgeous,unique and engrossing game is one of my own personal Top 3 games of this year so far along with Gene Effect andFirst off this gorgeous,unique and engrossing game is one of my own personal Top 3 games of this year so far along with Gene Effect and Project 83113.

    You really don't need my verdict after that do you? You should already be rushing to hit that download button already if you trust my judgement that is ;) Oh ok i'll humour you again then.

    An epic and eerie journey of a game with a story that is told in a really cool and unique way which compliments the actual game greatly.

    This game will pull you in and not let you go and you will certainly get lost in the experience especially when you have your headphones in to listen to the epic soundtrack.

    One game,which if you found as great an experience that i did,will have you not putting it down.

    Must own in my opinion and you can thank me later for pointing you in the right direction.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Nihilumbra is a wonderful journey. A platform adventure with gorgeus graphics, excellent gameplay and a sense of discovery in every corner.Nihilumbra is a wonderful journey. A platform adventure with gorgeus graphics, excellent gameplay and a sense of discovery in every corner. One of the best games in the App Store for sure. Full Review »