Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nihilumbra is compatible with iPhone 4, iPod Touch 4 and iPads.Discover the huge world of Nihilumbra and join Born on his adventure to find himself whilst trying to escape from his inevitable curse. Born was created from the absolute nothingness. When he abandones the void and appears inNihilumbra is compatible with iPhone 4, iPod Touch 4 and iPads.Discover the huge world of Nihilumbra and join Born on his adventure to find himself whilst trying to escape from his inevitable curse. Born was created from the absolute nothingness. When he abandones the void and appears in the world, he begins a long odyssey where he will learn how to use the colors around, that will grant him powerful habilities; though he will have to pay a high price.The void must be one. It reclaims him and will never stop chasing him, destroying everything on its way. To keep being alive, Born will have to condemn the earth he walks, vanishing it forever.CARACTERÍSTICAS- More than 10 hours of gameplay.- Old school Playability inspired on classic games and totally redesigned for tactile devices.- Change ground physics using five different colors.- Use five worlds as your canvas and transform them at you will.- Two different control schemes. Classic buttons or tilting sensor.- Original soundtrack composed by Álvaro Lafuente. Earphones recommended.- Unlock a great surprise by completing the game. Replayability assured. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    100
    While the puzzles are fun and challenging, it is the game's presentation that puts it over the top. The world of Nihilumbra is gorgeously realized through fantastic artwork, animation and a haunting soundtrack.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    100
    Any gamer who enjoys platformers should not miss this one. Anyone who appreciates a good story should play as well. Despite the few nicks in Nihilumbra's armor, I'm happy to give it five stars. It is an earnest experience. It might not be perfect, but it's a fine example of artists using a medium to tell a story. And it's tons of fun too.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    100
    Nihilumbra may tell a downer of a story, but that doesn't stop it from being one of the best platformers on iOS.
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    87
    Dark atmosphere, unprecedented drama for an App Store game, amazing finale. Finally, the iOS platform has discovered its own thatgamecompany.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    Nihilumbra is one of those games that are more about the emotional experience than the actual gameplay.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Nihilumbra provides a straight platforming experience that focuses on the gameplay and story instead of the usual Arcade-like snack-sized gaming we've seen dominate the App Store.
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    A gloomy, intelligent platformer, Nihilumbra will keep you playing until the bitter end.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    El juego es muy bueno, todo lo que podiamos esperar de un videojuego de PC pero en el móbil. No es nada dificil, con lo bqueEl juego es muy bueno, todo lo que podiamos esperar de un videojuego de PC pero en el móbil. No es nada dificil, con lo bque dificilmente nos atascaremos durante la historia principal. El juego en si es muy sensible y pintoresco. Al llegar al final activa al jugador hardcore que hay dentro de nosotros para rejugar el juego en un modo que te hace estrujarte los sesos, en este aspecto es un juego perfecto. Collapse
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Totally unique game playing experience - this is the first Iphone game I've played and experienced some emotional response from. TightTotally unique game playing experience - this is the first Iphone game I've played and experienced some emotional response from. Tight controls and compelling gameplay + a badass atmosphere. Check it out. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Nihilumbra is a wonderful journey. A platform adventure with gorgeus graphics, excellent gameplay and a sense of discovery in every corner.Nihilumbra is a wonderful journey. A platform adventure with gorgeus graphics, excellent gameplay and a sense of discovery in every corner. One of the best games in the App Store for sure. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Love this game on my Iphone!.

    This game is 100% innovative, totally high quality ! totally awesome!! When it comes to PC & Mac I will
    Love this game on my Iphone!.

    This game is 100% innovative, totally high quality ! totally awesome!!

    When it comes to PC & Mac I will buy it again!
    Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    First off this gorgeous,unique and engrossing game is one of my own personal Top 3 games of this year so far along with Gene Effect andFirst off this gorgeous,unique and engrossing game is one of my own personal Top 3 games of this year so far along with Gene Effect and Project 83113.

    You really don't need my verdict after that do you? You should already be rushing to hit that download button already if you trust my judgement that is ;) Oh ok i'll humour you again then.

    An epic and eerie journey of a game with a story that is told in a really cool and unique way which compliments the actual game greatly.

    This game will pull you in and not let you go and you will certainly get lost in the experience especially when you have your headphones in to listen to the epic soundtrack.

    One game,which if you found as great an experience that i did,will have you not putting it down.

    Must own in my opinion and you can thank me later for pointing you in the right direction.
    Expand
  6. Gid
    Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This game is just what I was looking for. Something that is simple, yet enthralling. Something that lives with you even after playing. TheThis game is just what I was looking for. Something that is simple, yet enthralling. Something that lives with you even after playing. The story sticks with you long after you play, the puzzles are truly perplexing, and the overall design and soundtrack is worked to perfection. The only way you can get what I'm talking about is to experience it yourself.

    I'll try and dissect this bit by bit, while keeping it as short as I can (which usually means not very short), because I feel that this could help people appreciate this fully.

    The design on this game is gorgeous. The different environments are a pleasure to explore. Its a design that even by looking at it, you can tell that Beautifun put a lot of thought into every single detail.

    The narrative is brilliantly done. Though I might have heard this type of story once or twice before, it certainly shouldn't put you off buying this game. Being a vague as possible, you play someone who is considered lifeless and somewhere they don't belong, and as you explore the wonders that life can bring, you slowly start living yourself and becoming part of a new world. At some points, the game will say something that makes you think over, and even question, the character you're playing. I already feel like I've given enough away, so I'll move on.

    The puzzles are... kind of hard to explain. The story makes you replay each level after you have finished, only harder. This is very well done indeed, and it doesn't seem to be just a way to drag on gameplay, but rather show its true potential. I'll put it this way, the first half of the game focuses on story. For this reason, the puzzles lack a bit, but I prefer to see it as the introduction as to how to use the tools given. The second half, the game focuses purely on puzzles. This is where the game starts to shine. The elements you are given work extremely well together and, surprisingly, you don't find yourself repeating the same actions over and over, which was something I thought it would do.

    If I had to give it some constructive criticism, it would be this. In a puzzle game like this, where you are given different tools that you use all throughout the game, you want to make these tools as 'natural' as you can. I know I don't make sense, but I'll just explain what I was thinking when I played this game. There is an element called electricity, but the problem with this is that it seems a bit restricted as to what it can do. The electricity element can only react with electricity generators. This meant that there wasn't much flexibility for the player to experiment with, which is something that you do find in the other elements. I know I'm being knit-picky, but this is just because I can't fault this game really, and I feel as if I owe you something back, even though it's just petty advice.

    I think in this case you can learn something from others. The game I'm thinking of in particular is Portal. I'm a big Portal fan, and I haven't even played it really (I basically live through let's players). The thing I find most inspiring about this (in terms of game designing) is how minimal the portal device is. The game goes 'Here's a gun. It makes portals. Something goes in one and comes out the other. Now go solve some puzzles.' This helps puzzle games feel more realistic and less like a jigsaw puzzle.

    Now this isn't something you should put against the game. In fact, people will probably hate me for saying that, but I want it to be some advice to the developers (plus I'm probably the last person you should ask about game design, so don't take this too seriously). As I said before, you'll probably be spending your time better by actually buying this game rather than reading this review (honestly I don't know how you made it this far).

    And I said I would keep this short. In summary, perfect design, brilliant puzzles, great atmosphere and narrative. A must buy.
    Expand

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2012 Image
    Published: July 31, 2012
    The past month's best new iOS games include the first episode in an adventure based on "The Walking Dead" comics, an HD version of "Tiny Wings," and sequels to "Fieldrunners" and "Great Little War Game."