Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    The most fun you can have destroying civilisation without becoming a government MP, Plague Inc. refines the Pandemic formula into a streamlined combination of strategy and twisted bio-horror.
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    Original and filled with black humour, Plague Inc. is a coherent and engaging strategy game, which compensates an essential presentation with a great amount of content for its small price.
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    80
    Plague Inc. reminds you in its own little way just how fragile yet tenacious humans are. Be a real shame if anything were to happen to them.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    The issues I had with the game revealed themselves because I played it a lot. I loved it and still do, and I'd readily recommend it to anyone. I only complain because I see a good game, but I know with some minor tweaks it can be great.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Plague Inc will snag your attention in all the right ways and keep it there long after you've come to terms with the fact you'll be indirectly responsible for human testing.
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    While Plague Inc. isn't ground-breaking iOS game, it's definitely one of the most refined. With features like self-mutating viruses, government collapses that actually effect the spread through a given country, unlockable virus classes, and an honest to goodness save feature (yay!), this is the apocalypse plague game to get.
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Plague Inc even has a sense for the importance of meta-game progression. Pandemic has special traits you unlock for later games, but Plague Inc gives you entirely new "classes" to unlock and play, starting with a hearty bacteria and progressing all the way up to manufactured bioweapons.
  8. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    From where we stand, it's a smartly designed and at times uncomfortable video game that's definitely worth $0.99. If anything, it'll make you think twice about rubbing your eyes after touching a doorknob.
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    75
    Plague Inc.'s gameplay is infectious.
  10. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    I had a hard time putting Plague Inc down, despite the game's copious amounts of downtime and bare-bones presentation. It's exhilarating (in a grim way) to see your rate of infection climb into the billions thanks to perfect planning, and then mutate in killer traits like Pneumonia and Fever to secure the end of human history.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is a superior game, and only 99 cents. Starting off as a small bit of bacteria, and eventually taking over the whole world, this brutalThis is a superior game, and only 99 cents. Starting off as a small bit of bacteria, and eventually taking over the whole world, this brutal game is harder than you might think. The human race will come up with ridiculous cures and will do anything they can to stop you. It's a gorgeous game with great music too! And it is so incredibly realistic. For example: A gold rush has occurred in South Africa. Every plane and boat will rush there. How cool is that!!!??? This is a must-have, 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This is a great app for only $0.99. Destroying all life on Earth has never been more fun or challenging. It is a very hyper-realistic game andThis is a great app for only $0.99. Destroying all life on Earth has never been more fun or challenging. It is a very hyper-realistic game and you will see all of the real life connections while playing it. There is also a wide array of symptoms, abilities, and transmissions you can give your disease. You really have to think hard to beat this game. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    This was an interesting game from the app store. A lot of creativity and experimentation to try out. I haven't played the game to get a veryThis was an interesting game from the app store. A lot of creativity and experimentation to try out. I haven't played the game to get a very high score at this point because I'm unable to find the exact point of it. As described on the app store, you are supposed to create the next plague of this world that could potentially wipe out civilization. But eradicating all human life seems to give you a low score. I believe to actually get the highest score possible is to make your plague last as long as possible without the world finding a cure or your plague killing everyone. This provides a great challenge for the more strategy game players. A great game for your consideration! Full Review »