Plague Inc. iOS

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Stream On
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    The most fun you can have destroying civilisation without becoming a government MP, Plague Inc. refines the Pandemic formula into a streamlined combination of strategy and twisted bio-horror.
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    Original and filled with black humour, Plague Inc. is a coherent and engaging strategy game, which compensates an essential presentation with a great amount of content for its small price.
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    80
    Plague Inc. reminds you in its own little way just how fragile yet tenacious humans are. Be a real shame if anything were to happen to them.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    The issues I had with the game revealed themselves because I played it a lot. I loved it and still do, and I'd readily recommend it to anyone. I only complain because I see a good game, but I know with some minor tweaks it can be great.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Plague Inc will snag your attention in all the right ways and keep it there long after you've come to terms with the fact you'll be indirectly responsible for human testing.
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    While Plague Inc. isn't ground-breaking iOS game, it's definitely one of the most refined. With features like self-mutating viruses, government collapses that actually effect the spread through a given country, unlockable virus classes, and an honest to goodness save feature (yay!), this is the apocalypse plague game to get.
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Plague Inc even has a sense for the importance of meta-game progression. Pandemic has special traits you unlock for later games, but Plague Inc gives you entirely new "classes" to unlock and play, starting with a hearty bacteria and progressing all the way up to manufactured bioweapons.
  8. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    From where we stand, it's a smartly designed and at times uncomfortable video game that's definitely worth $0.99. If anything, it'll make you think twice about rubbing your eyes after touching a doorknob.
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    75
    Plague Inc.'s gameplay is infectious.
  10. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    I had a hard time putting Plague Inc down, despite the game's copious amounts of downtime and bare-bones presentation. It's exhilarating (in a grim way) to see your rate of infection climb into the billions thanks to perfect planning, and then mutate in killer traits like Pneumonia and Fever to secure the end of human history.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    2
    One of the worst games I've ever played. Got it cause it was featured on steam. The gameplay consists of you being a bacteria, virus orOne of the worst games I've ever played. Got it cause it was featured on steam. The gameplay consists of you being a bacteria, virus or parasite. You slowly evolve and infect the world's population, then you evolve lethal features and kill the world's population.

    While presented as a "Strategy" game, this is just a mathematical simulation, and I must say a boring one. All you have to do is make sure that your rate of infection is greater than the rate of death for all countries.

    You have absolutely no control over where you go, every 4 minutes or so you get to make an evolution decision. For an hour or so, you are staring at a few screens as some news tickers appear. In Every 40 seconds or so you click on a popup with some genetic material to break the boredom. After 30 minutes the news largely stop, and you are just looking at red bar and the blue bar for countries and devolving features to make sure your virus does not kill too fast.

    While the concept is new, the gameplay is unimaginative and I can't see myself replaying this again. I'm typically not big on morals in videogames, but this one left me thinking "Wtf am I doing this?" as I was reading all the gruesome symptoms that my plague has like "blisters, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, coughing,etc"
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is a superior game, and only 99 cents. Starting off as a small bit of bacteria, and eventually taking over the whole world, this brutalThis is a superior game, and only 99 cents. Starting off as a small bit of bacteria, and eventually taking over the whole world, this brutal game is harder than you might think. The human race will come up with ridiculous cures and will do anything they can to stop you. It's a gorgeous game with great music too! And it is so incredibly realistic. For example: A gold rush has occurred in South Africa. Every plane and boat will rush there. How cool is that!!!??? This is a must-have, 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This is a great app for only $0.99. Destroying all life on Earth has never been more fun or challenging. It is a very hyper-realistic game andThis is a great app for only $0.99. Destroying all life on Earth has never been more fun or challenging. It is a very hyper-realistic game and you will see all of the real life connections while playing it. There is also a wide array of symptoms, abilities, and transmissions you can give your disease. You really have to think hard to beat this game. Full Review »