Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plague Inc. is a unique mix of high strategy and terrifyingly realistic simulation. Can you infect the world?Your pathogen has just infected 'Patient Zero'. Now you must bring about the end of human history by evolving a deadly, global Plague whilst adapting against everything humanity can do to defend itself.Brilliantly executed with innovative gameplay and built from the ground up for the iPhone, Plague Inc. evolves the strategy genre and pushes the iPhone (and you) to new levels. It’s You vs. the world - only the strongest can survive!??Special launch price for the first 10,000 downloads!???Features: • Stunning retina graphics with a highly polished interface (Contagion guaranteed)• Full Save/Load functionality (28 Saves Later!)• Highly detailed, hyper-realistic world with advanced AI (Outbreak management)• Comprehensive in-game help and tutorial system (I am Legendarily helpful)• 10 different disease types with radically different strategies to master (10 Monkeys?)• 50+ countries to infect, hundreds of traits to evolve, thousands of world events to adapt to (Pandemic evolved)• Game Center and OpenFeint support for scoreboards and achievements Compatible with iPhone 3GS, 4, 4S, iPod touch (3rd). Requires iOS 4.0 or later. Localised in English.?P.S. Give yourself a pat on the back if you got all the themed literature references!?For the latest info on Plague Inc., or to ask us a question, visit us on twitter @NdemicCreations Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    The most fun you can have destroying civilisation without becoming a government MP, Plague Inc. refines the Pandemic formula into a streamlined combination of strategy and twisted bio-horror.
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Plague Inc even has a sense for the importance of meta-game progression. Pandemic has special traits you unlock for later games, but Plague Inc gives you entirely new "classes" to unlock and play, starting with a hearty bacteria and progressing all the way up to manufactured bioweapons.
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    From where we stand, it's a smartly designed and at times uncomfortable video game that's definitely worth $0.99. If anything, it'll make you think twice about rubbing your eyes after touching a doorknob.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    While Plague Inc. isn't ground-breaking iOS game, it's definitely one of the most refined. With features like self-mutating viruses, government collapses that actually effect the spread through a given country, unlockable virus classes, and an honest to goodness save feature (yay!), this is the apocalypse plague game to get.
  5. Mar 4, 2013
    80
    Plague Inc. reminds you in its own little way just how fragile yet tenacious humans are. Be a real shame if anything were to happen to them.
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    Original and filled with black humour, Plague Inc. is a coherent and engaging strategy game, which compensates an essential presentation with a great amount of content for its small price.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    I had a hard time putting Plague Inc down, despite the game's copious amounts of downtime and bare-bones presentation. It's exhilarating (in a grim way) to see your rate of infection climb into the billions thanks to perfect planning, and then mutate in killer traits like Pneumonia and Fever to secure the end of human history.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is a superior game, and only 99 cents. Starting off as a small bit of bacteria, and eventually taking over the whole world, this brutal game is harder than you might think. The human race will come up with ridiculous cures and will do anything they can to stop you. It's a gorgeous game with great music too! And it is so incredibly realistic. For example: A gold rush has occurred in South Africa. Every plane and boat will rush there. How cool is that!!!??? This is a must-have, 10/10 Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I brought Plague Inc for 69p in the App store and my god Plague Inc is worth every penny, the game is played on a simple map and menus and the simplicity of Plague Inc is augmented and backed up by raw strategy & tactical gameplay making the plotting and executing the downfall of the human race much more fun enjoyable and satisfying when you win and rewarded with a free unlocks such a different plague and bonus's plus theres special purchasable plagues a Necroa virus Zombie virus & Neurax worm mind control plague adding more replay value and content and there more coming, the game is prefect on iOS iPad or iPhone. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This is a great app for only $0.99. Destroying all life on Earth has never been more fun or challenging. It is a very hyper-realistic game and you will see all of the real life connections while playing it. There is also a wide array of symptoms, abilities, and transmissions you can give your disease. You really have to think hard to beat this game. Collapse
  4. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    An immersive and unique low budget strategy game. It's a very interesting experience which can be even educational for the curious minds. Despite it's horrible premise, the whole infecting humanity thing is handled very elegantly and you won't feel like a mass killer... more like a scientist in a hidden dark lab. The game could easily benefit from a better art, and more content (videos, sounds, etc), but the playability is very well achieved considering the task at hand. I hope the devs had a lot of success to remake it with AAA production quality. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    My sadistic side has been unleashed with this game, i never imagined myself loving a game so much that wants you to eradicate all life on earth.

    You can start with most kinds of plague types that everyone knows, including but not limited to: bacteria, virus and my favorite bio weapon. After you select your plague type it's time to select which country do you want to infect your patient zero (Pro tip: I recommend South Arabia or Turkey because these countries are at the center and they have way to much flights occurring). After that step the fun begins.

    From this moment on the game turns into a strategy game which you have to select the correct power up for the correct situation, You also have to make your disease invulnerable to medicine because eventually doctors try to find a cure to your disease.

    But i am not gonna give tips any more the rest is up to you to decide.
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    Very fun game to pass the time with, you have to use tactics and plan things out to win and unlock more. Costs an arm and a leg if you want to unlock the special types of plague but it's well worth it! The zombie virus especially adds a whole new level of complexity to the game. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    2
    One of the worst games I've ever played. Got it cause it was featured on steam. The gameplay consists of you being a bacteria, virus or parasite. You slowly evolve and infect the world's population, then you evolve lethal features and kill the world's population.

    While presented as a "Strategy" game, this is just a mathematical simulation, and I must say a boring one. All you have to do is make sure that your rate of infection is greater than the rate of death for all countries.

    You have absolutely no control over where you go, every 4 minutes or so you get to make an evolution decision. For an hour or so, you are staring at a few screens as some news tickers appear. In Every 40 seconds or so you click on a popup with some genetic material to break the boredom. After 30 minutes the news largely stop, and you are just looking at red bar and the blue bar for countries and devolving features to make sure your virus does not kill too fast.

    While the concept is new, the gameplay is unimaginative and I can't see myself replaying this again. I'm typically not big on morals in videogames, but this one left me thinking "Wtf am I doing this?" as I was reading all the gruesome symptoms that my plague has like "blisters, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, coughing,etc"
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews