Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plants vs. Zombies™

    Stem a zombie attack on your iPhone! Get ready to soil your plants in this brand-new version of the hit PopCap game! A mob of fun-loving zombies is about to invade your home, and your only defense is an arsenal of 49 zombie-zapping plants. Use peashooters,
    Plants vs. Zombies™

    Stem a zombie attack on your iPhone!

    Get ready to soil your plants in this brand-new version of the hit PopCap game! A mob of fun-loving zombies is about to invade your home, and your only defense is an arsenal of 49 zombie-zapping plants. Use peashooters, wall-nuts, cherry bombs and more to slow down, confuse, weaken and mulchify 26 types of zombies before they can reach your front door.

    Each zombie has its own special skills, so you’ll need to think fast and plant faster to combat them all. But be careful how you use your limited supply of greens and seeds… as you battle the fun-dead, obstacles like a setting sun, creeping fog and a swimming pool add to the challenging fun. Get ready to soil your plants!

    - Conquer all 50 levels of Adventure mode — through day, night and fog, in a swimming pool and on the rooftop
    - Battle 26 types of zombies including pole-vaulters, snorkelers and “Zomboni” drivers
    - Earn 49 powerful perennials and collect coins to buy upgrades, power-ups and more
    - Open the Almanac to see all the plants and zombies, plus amusing “facts” and quotes
    - Collect 13 iPhone-exclusive PvZ achievements
    - Replay levels in the all-new Quick Play arena
    - All the fun of the hit PC/Mac game — adapted for fun-dead fun on your iPhone
    - Hilarious graphics, great soundtrack and a bonus music video
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    100
    If the thought of a portable Plants vs Zombies appeals to you, or you just enjoy well made, fun, addictive games, this one is worth your time and money.
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    100
    Plants Vs. Zombies goes beyond the game, becoming something more like a phenomenon.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    100
    The real kicker here is that this fantastic game is only $2.99. What are you waiting for?
  4. Feb 27, 2011
    90
    The end product is really fantastic and stands right up there with PopCap's other hits like Peggle and Bejewelled.
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    90
    The gameplay is just as well-balanced and finely tuned as it is in the PC version. The presentation is up to the same high standards, while the control system is perhaps even improved. Like so many PopCap titles, PvZ is slick, pretty, charming and funny.
  6. Feb 27, 2011
    90
    This is a humorous and addicting casual game, far from the tense and gory experience found in most zombie games.
  7. Feb 27, 2011
    80
    Plants Vs. Zombies is another must-have game for the iPhone/iPod Touch, especially at the more-than-acceptable asking price of three bucks.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Such an amazing addictive game! I love it so much. There is so much depth to it. It takes hours even days to beat, plus all the fun littleSuch an amazing addictive game! I love it so much. There is so much depth to it. It takes hours even days to beat, plus all the fun little game modes. It's a must-buy!!!! Collapse
  2. Jun 19, 2015
    10
    As far as mobile games go (which I score differently than console and PC), it is pretty damn good. Other great ones: Hearthstone, Hitman Go,As far as mobile games go (which I score differently than console and PC), it is pretty damn good. Other great ones: Hearthstone, Hitman Go, Plague Inc., Kingdom Rush, Monument Valley. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    It is one of the best iPhone games but only has 2 main modes and misses out some of the PC features, but it is cheaper at onlyIt is one of the best iPhone games but only has 2 main modes and misses out some of the PC features, but it is cheaper at only £2. It has a lot of play time too. Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played it has so much missions it takes days to beat and the controlls are super easy I recomend it!!!!!!!!!
  5. Jan 16, 2015
    9
    Having recently made the jump over to free-to-play I was curious to see if microtransactions had shown their face and ruined an otherwiseHaving recently made the jump over to free-to-play I was curious to see if microtransactions had shown their face and ruined an otherwise excellent game. Thankfully they haven't. A few adds will pop up from time to time, but this is still the same excellent game. Only now you don't have to part with any of your hard earned money to play it.

    With plenty of plants to unlock and different zombie types popping up, your strategy will almost always be adapting and evolving. Just the change from levels taking place in the night instead of day adds some new challenges to work around. There's always something new, exciting, and very fun waiting around the next corner. The difficulty ramps up at a perfect pace.

    Given how addictive it is and how it's perfect for pick up and play sessions on the go, I highly recommend you check this one out. Especially since now that it has gone F2P and didn't bring any nasty IAPs with it. Even if you don't like it the price tag of $0.00 means you will not have lost anything by trying it.
    Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Still one of the best games I have played to this day on my Iphone, and with the upcoming PvZ2 I can only salivate with anticipation on theStill one of the best games I have played to this day on my Iphone, and with the upcoming PvZ2 I can only salivate with anticipation on the new challenges that await. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have given this game an 8 or so, but I HATE (H.A.T.E.) the most unfair minigame of all time: Vasebreaker. That minigame is a complete negative on this otherwise wonderful game. That minigame almost sucks out all the fun out of the strategy of the game by being so unfair. I hate Vasebreaker with every bit of my soul. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010  Image
    Published: December 21, 2010
    Whether you are a longtime iPhone user or you just received an iPad from Santa, you're probably looking for something fun to do with your Apple device. Here are this year's best-reviewed games available in the App Store.