Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    100
    There's a lot of fun to be had in the game without spending any money, since you can find bux floating around and you'll earn some with every level.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    100
    Pocket Planes addresses the main concerns I had with Tiny Tower in the long-term: that there wasn't much of a point to the game, and little goal to attain. Pocket Planes is much more involved, with concrete goals, but still keeps the principles that make NimbleBit's social titles so fun and addictive. Even haters of 'social' games need to give this a shot.
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    100
    There's a lot of things going on in Pocket Planes. There's simulation, there's strategy, and then there's the world that you've created and the people you might have interacted with along the way. While it's probably true that the game's mechanics will only keep your interest for so long, there's a lot of game here to like. More importantly, though, Pocket Planes is just ... fun. Game business doesn't need to inform game design, after all.
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    Even sharing a similar formula, Pocket Planes is a much better game than the previous Tiny Tower, featuring an intuitive strategic gameplay and huge amounts of content for a free-to-play.
  5. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    Nimblebit has once again dropped you in the middle of a universe that feels like it was built just for you, and filled it with a deeper, more compelling mission. If you love strategizing, organizing, building something, and watching it grow, you'll love this game. Oh, and fun. If you love fun.
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    The game contains an intriguing blend of strategy, management and under-the-hood tinkering, and in contrast to the deceptive Tiny Tower there's much more genuine depth to the game beyond a superficial appeal to obsessiveness. Whether you felt burned out by that game or not, we highly recommend you try out NimbleBit's brand new addiction.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    Pocket Plane is a perfect example of a freemium game done well, an addictive time sink that sucks you into its simple routines and refuses to let go.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Pocket Planes is a free-to-play title, but the intake of both coins and cash come at a fairly consistent rate, allowing a player to progress without actually making an in-app purchase.
  9. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Pocket Planes showcases NimbleBit's deft-hand at creating miniaturized, yet still strangely addictive titles - keeping your fleet running is a more-ish exercise that will keep you entertained for days.
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    75
    I may be slightly disappointed by Pocket Planes, but that feeling only set in after a solid week of compulsively checking my planes, sending them out on jobs, and amassing an in-game fortune. Though it doesn't have the depth of a full-fledged simulation, the accessible mechanics and tempting rewards make Pocket Planes worth some short-term attention.
  11. Jul 24, 2012
    74
    Take away the freemium structure and the need to wait for ages between goes and we'd happily play it for hours at a time. [Sept 2012, p.110]
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Of all the iOS developers using the free to play model, NimbleBit has come the closest to getting it right.
  13. Jul 26, 2012
    67
    Pocket Planes is free, which makes it perfect to give it a try. Collecting money and bucks is slow if you don't spend real money, but in time you can expand your airline without taking out your wallet. Too bad, though, the game is incredibly passive; you do nothing but sending out flights and waiting for the money to roll in.
  14. Jul 3, 2012
    60
    There isn't much of a 'game' here, unless you count watching your plane fly to it's destination while tapping the screen to collect coins which appear in the sky a game. Somehow I can't see that being a listed feature on the iTunes description.
  15. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    With global events offering in-game rewards for communities who team up to service a single destination, it has a shifting short-term goal to keep you checking in, but you may struggle to justify your continued involvement in the long game.
  16. Jun 24, 2012
    50
    A simple and addictive time waster, but purely for casual players who just want something to tap at for a few minutes at a time.
  17. Jun 18, 2012
    50
    Playing Pocket Planes is like driving a car that steers itself. All I want is a wheel, NimbleBit. Give me just one tool that can be wielded in interesting ways to make an impact on the outcome of my play. I want the ability to play your game well, or play it badly. As it currently stands, the only choice you give me is to play Pocket Planes or not play it at all, and I'm going to take option B.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Pocket Planes is exactly what free-to-play games should be. There is of course the possibility of using real-life money to buy in-game currency, but this option is far from obligating players to pay. It matters much more on how you're building your airline than how many real life money you spend on the game; and creating your own airline is a lot of fun: you will have to think a lot on what kind of aircraft you have and where your airports are placed. Events are a brilliant idea of Nimblebit and a great way of earning bux and money without having to wait a lot or having to spend real money. I give this game a 9 only because I think it may be a bit boring to just wait for your flights to arrive and the leveling system may block you from growing faster due to its airport limitations per level, but as this game is free and a lot of fun, everyone with an iOS device should give it a try. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I like trains
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This clever little in-your-off-time game is free, nice, and doesn't require obscene quantities of cash to find nice. Buy, fly, and deck out your airline, buy airports, do events, anything a clever tycoon would want to do. Not much action or effort needed, as flying planes is a tap of the finger, but be wary, the game can be addicting. Pretty unique.

    It's also free, so go ahead. You've got nothing to lose, except maybe dozens of hours of your life.
    Full Review »