Pocket Planes iOS

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Stream On
  1. Games Master UK
    Jul 24, 2012
    74
    Take away the freemium structure and the need to wait for ages between goes and we'd happily play it for hours at a time. [Sept 2012, p.110]
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Of all the iOS developers using the free to play model, NimbleBit has come the closest to getting it right.
  3. Jul 26, 2012
    67
    Pocket Planes is free, which makes it perfect to give it a try. Collecting money and bucks is slow if you don't spend real money, but in time you can expand your airline without taking out your wallet. Too bad, though, the game is incredibly passive; you do nothing but sending out flights and waiting for the money to roll in.
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    60
    There isn't much of a 'game' here, unless you count watching your plane fly to it's destination while tapping the screen to collect coins which appear in the sky a game. Somehow I can't see that being a listed feature on the iTunes description.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    With global events offering in-game rewards for communities who team up to service a single destination, it has a shifting short-term goal to keep you checking in, but you may struggle to justify your continued involvement in the long game.
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    50
    A simple and addictive time waster, but purely for casual players who just want something to tap at for a few minutes at a time.
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    50
    Playing Pocket Planes is like driving a car that steers itself. All I want is a wheel, NimbleBit. Give me just one tool that can be wielded in interesting ways to make an impact on the outcome of my play. I want the ability to play your game well, or play it badly. As it currently stands, the only choice you give me is to play Pocket Planes or not play it at all, and I'm going to take option B.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Pocket Planes is exactly what free-to-play games should be. There is of course the possibility of using real-life money to buy in-gamePocket Planes is exactly what free-to-play games should be. There is of course the possibility of using real-life money to buy in-game currency, but this option is far from obligating players to pay. It matters much more on how you're building your airline than how many real life money you spend on the game; and creating your own airline is a lot of fun: you will have to think a lot on what kind of aircraft you have and where your airports are placed. Events are a brilliant idea of Nimblebit and a great way of earning bux and money without having to wait a lot or having to spend real money. I give this game a 9 only because I think it may be a bit boring to just wait for your flights to arrive and the leveling system may block you from growing faster due to its airport limitations per level, but as this game is free and a lot of fun, everyone with an iOS device should give it a try. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    I love this game and now I play it everyday! If you liked Tiny Tower, this game is twice as fun and addicting. Tycoon lovers must have thisI love this game and now I play it everyday! If you liked Tiny Tower, this game is twice as fun and addicting. Tycoon lovers must have this airline experience! Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I like trains