Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    100
    There's a lot of fun to be had in the game without spending any money, since you can find bux floating around and you'll earn some with every level.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    100
    Pocket Planes addresses the main concerns I had with Tiny Tower in the long-term: that there wasn't much of a point to the game, and little goal to attain. Pocket Planes is much more involved, with concrete goals, but still keeps the principles that make NimbleBit's social titles so fun and addictive. Even haters of 'social' games need to give this a shot.
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    100
    There's a lot of things going on in Pocket Planes. There's simulation, there's strategy, and then there's the world that you've created and the people you might have interacted with along the way. While it's probably true that the game's mechanics will only keep your interest for so long, there's a lot of game here to like. More importantly, though, Pocket Planes is just ... fun. Game business doesn't need to inform game design, after all.
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    Even sharing a similar formula, Pocket Planes is a much better game than the previous Tiny Tower, featuring an intuitive strategic gameplay and huge amounts of content for a free-to-play.
  5. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    Nimblebit has once again dropped you in the middle of a universe that feels like it was built just for you, and filled it with a deeper, more compelling mission. If you love strategizing, organizing, building something, and watching it grow, you'll love this game. Oh, and fun. If you love fun.
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    The game contains an intriguing blend of strategy, management and under-the-hood tinkering, and in contrast to the deceptive Tiny Tower there's much more genuine depth to the game beyond a superficial appeal to obsessiveness. Whether you felt burned out by that game or not, we highly recommend you try out NimbleBit's brand new addiction.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    90
    Pocket Plane is a perfect example of a freemium game done well, an addictive time sink that sucks you into its simple routines and refuses to let go.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Pocket Planes is a free-to-play title, but the intake of both coins and cash come at a fairly consistent rate, allowing a player to progress without actually making an in-app purchase.
  9. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Pocket Planes showcases NimbleBit's deft-hand at creating miniaturized, yet still strangely addictive titles - keeping your fleet running is a more-ish exercise that will keep you entertained for days.
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    75
    I may be slightly disappointed by Pocket Planes, but that feeling only set in after a solid week of compulsively checking my planes, sending them out on jobs, and amassing an in-game fortune. Though it doesn't have the depth of a full-fledged simulation, the accessible mechanics and tempting rewards make Pocket Planes worth some short-term attention.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Pocket Planes is exactly what free-to-play games should be. There is of course the possibility of using real-life money to buy in-gamePocket Planes is exactly what free-to-play games should be. There is of course the possibility of using real-life money to buy in-game currency, but this option is far from obligating players to pay. It matters much more on how you're building your airline than how many real life money you spend on the game; and creating your own airline is a lot of fun: you will have to think a lot on what kind of aircraft you have and where your airports are placed. Events are a brilliant idea of Nimblebit and a great way of earning bux and money without having to wait a lot or having to spend real money. I give this game a 9 only because I think it may be a bit boring to just wait for your flights to arrive and the leveling system may block you from growing faster due to its airport limitations per level, but as this game is free and a lot of fun, everyone with an iOS device should give it a try. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    I love this game and now I play it everyday! If you liked Tiny Tower, this game is twice as fun and addicting. Tycoon lovers must have thisI love this game and now I play it everyday! If you liked Tiny Tower, this game is twice as fun and addicting. Tycoon lovers must have this airline experience! Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I like trains