Real Racing 3 iOS

Real Racing 3 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Real Racing 3 brings some intense racing action to your mobile device.
Stream On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    91
    This is the best racing game available on mobile devices.
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    90
    Free-to-play or not, Real Racing 3 is a fantastic game that no iOS gamer should be without. Especially if they have Game Center friends to compete with.
  3. 90
    Amazing visuals, great controls and superb car physics. You might hate the freemium model introduced in Real Racing 3. But if you decide to skip the game because of this, then you will miss out on the greatest mobile racer ever made for mobiles and tablets. Sure, you can always buy the cheapest pack which includes a nice BMW. After all that will only be a third of the price for Real Racing 2. Go ahead no one is looking. If not, then lock your credit card away and drop repairs until you get enough in-game currency to put some cars in your garage. After that there’s no turning back. You will be hooked.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    If you do not mind waiting 20 or 30 minutes to repair your car after a race or if you love the freemium formula with its sneaky purchases system, Real Racing 3 is simply the best racing-simulation game available today on App Store.
  5. Games Master UK
    Apr 13, 2013
    70
    A great game with gorgeous looks spoiled by excessive in-app demands. [May 2013, p.86]
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    This is a sensitive employment of free-to-play, but despite its presentation and name, Real Racing 3 remains an arcade game in sim clothing, and one hamstrung by its host format. Limitations that keep it firmly in the tail-lights of deeper console experiences.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    30
    There's a good game somewhere within Real Racing 3 - and there are plenty of free-to-play games that prove this model can work successfully while respecting the player. Firemonkeys, and perhaps more pertinently EA, have got that balance horribly, horribly wrong, to an extent where the business model becomes the game - with gut-wrenching results.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 17 out of 40
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one aspect of the design I wish more games took into consideration. Anyone saying you can't go through a race without accruing damage is probably driving sloppily to be honest. Also, you can raise with damage, but you take minor performance hits to acceleration, top speed, etc. Some console sims DO penalize you for driving off the track or ramming other cars in terms of tire wear or the need for repairs. To me this seems pretty suitable for a mobile game to incorporate. The more skilled you are the more quickly and easily you'll progress.

    There are wait times for upgrades, but if you have more than one car (which is the case as you progress), then you'll be able to switch to another car. The time shift racing aspect definitely gives it a nice amount of competitiveness as well, as long as you have some gamecenter/facebook friends using the game. You'll still see other players around the globe playing, but it's fun to see a friend one-upping your own records. All in all, this is a great game at a very low cost. It is a sim at hear, so I wouldn't expect it to appeal as much to someone expecting a Need For Speed type arcade experience.
    Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Its a great mobile racing game that isn't a grind fest like most others.

    Many people are giving this bad reviews becuase EA. That's the
    Its a great mobile racing game that isn't a grind fest like most others.

    Many people are giving this bad reviews becuase EA. That's the only reason. Who cares about the publisher you buy a game for the game and its a solid game. Great multiplayer good racing mechanics and you can actually earn the premium currency quite easily.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    i dont get it with this people who say this game is bad they probably fanboying over GTracing
    , the game is pretty good actually, the sound
    i dont get it with this people who say this game is bad they probably fanboying over GTracing
    , the game is pretty good actually, the sound is one of the best on mobile , physics is unrivaled on mobile devices, the graphics is stunning, and many more.
    the only thing that make me dissapoint is the long wait times.
    i give this game a 8.1
    Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    6
    I think this is the best racing game I've payed on the ipad. The graphics are excellent, lots of great cars, it makes you feel like you'reI think this is the best racing game I've payed on the ipad. The graphics are excellent, lots of great cars, it makes you feel like you're really racing. Unfortunately with each upgrade the focus has become more about extracting the absolute maximum amount of cash from players. I've played since the game came out frequently several hours a day. I've spent about $30 buying extra gold to buy cars. It used to be that once you owned all of the cars in a race series, you could compete the series with cars updated with race dollars, earned by playing. Now every new series requires upgrades with gold in order to complete.

    I just bought the 66 Shelby cobra. I spent $20 to get the gold to buy it. In order to finish this series I will need at least 120 more gold to upgrade the car before I can even enter the few races. That will cost me another $20 or playing every day for 4 months.

    I own 73 of the 79 cars. The last 6 cars cost a total of 3000 gold. That would $300 or playing every day for 1500 days. $300 is ludicrous. That's enough for a home gaming system.

    On top of that is their tech support. I spent $10 and bought 65 gold. At the time I actually did it because I liked the game so much and hadn't paid a cent. I thought they actually deserved some money. Then my gold disappeared. I asked their tech support for help in late November 2013. Since then I have receive 3 responses, all asking for information, the same auto request each time. I answered each one with the information requested. I gave them the same info each time, exactly as requested. I've spent about 3 hours of effort trying to get help, It's January 30/14 and they have done nothing.

    Without a doubt the worst tech support I have seen since I got my first computer in1990.

    A great game but don't expect to complete the game unless you're rich. Don't ever expect help.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2015
    4
    The game is just bad, the driving its not that satisfating. The IAP is frustrating, there are hackers everywhere and the music is just awfulThe game is just bad, the driving its not that satisfating. The IAP is frustrating, there are hackers everywhere and the music is just awful aswell as the car sounds. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    2
    The only thing I like about Real Racing 3 is the cars. What I disliked are the use of multiplayer, service, the way to unlock the cars, andThe only thing I like about Real Racing 3 is the cars. What I disliked are the use of multiplayer, service, the way to unlock the cars, and the difficulty to win races in 1st place. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Tried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the gameTried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the game have a price (coming with the paid features) and do the basic better, it will deserve a "3" as score. Collapse

See all 40 User Reviews