Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Real Racing 3 brings some intense racing action to your mobile device.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    91
    This is the best racing game available on mobile devices.
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    90
    Free-to-play or not, Real Racing 3 is a fantastic game that no iOS gamer should be without. Especially if they have Game Center friends to compete with.
  3. 90
    Amazing visuals, great controls and superb car physics. You might hate the freemium model introduced in Real Racing 3. But if you decide to skip the game because of this, then you will miss out on the greatest mobile racer ever made for mobiles and tablets. Sure, you can always buy the cheapest pack which includes a nice BMW. After all that will only be a third of the price for Real Racing 2. Go ahead no one is looking. If not, then lock your credit card away and drop repairs until you get enough in-game currency to put some cars in your garage. After that there’s no turning back. You will be hooked.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    If you do not mind waiting 20 or 30 minutes to repair your car after a race or if you love the freemium formula with its sneaky purchases system, Real Racing 3 is simply the best racing-simulation game available today on App Store.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    70
    A great game with gorgeous looks spoiled by excessive in-app demands. [May 2013, p.86]
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    This is a sensitive employment of free-to-play, but despite its presentation and name, Real Racing 3 remains an arcade game in sim clothing, and one hamstrung by its host format. Limitations that keep it firmly in the tail-lights of deeper console experiences.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    30
    There's a good game somewhere within Real Racing 3 - and there are plenty of free-to-play games that prove this model can work successfully while respecting the player. Firemonkeys, and perhaps more pertinently EA, have got that balance horribly, horribly wrong, to an extent where the business model becomes the game - with gut-wrenching results.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 14 out of 37
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one aspect of the design I wish more games took into consideration. Anyone saying you can't go through a race without accruing damage is probably driving sloppily to be honest. Also, you can raise with damage, but you take minor performance hits to acceleration, top speed, etc. Some console sims DO penalize you for driving off the track or ramming other cars in terms of tire wear or the need for repairs. To me this seems pretty suitable for a mobile game to incorporate. The more skilled you are the more quickly and easily you'll progress.

    There are wait times for upgrades, but if you have more than one car (which is the case as you progress), then you'll be able to switch to another car. The time shift racing aspect definitely gives it a nice amount of competitiveness as well, as long as you have some gamecenter/facebook friends using the game. You'll still see other players around the globe playing, but it's fun to see a friend one-upping your own records. All in all, this is a great game at a very low cost. It is a sim at hear, so I wouldn't expect it to appeal as much to someone expecting a Need For Speed type arcade experience.
    Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Its a great mobile racing game that isn't a grind fest like most others.

    Many people are giving this bad reviews becuase EA. That's the
    Its a great mobile racing game that isn't a grind fest like most others.

    Many people are giving this bad reviews becuase EA. That's the only reason. Who cares about the publisher you buy a game for the game and its a solid game. Great multiplayer good racing mechanics and you can actually earn the premium currency quite easily.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    i dont get it with this people who say this game is bad they probably fanboying over GTracing
    , the game is pretty good actually, the sound
    i dont get it with this people who say this game is bad they probably fanboying over GTracing
    , the game is pretty good actually, the sound is one of the best on mobile , physics is unrivaled on mobile devices, the graphics is stunning, and many more.
    the only thing that make me dissapoint is the long wait times.
    i give this game a 8.1
    Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet everAn absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet ever present, attempts to get the player to spend real money via IAPs; the "if you don't use our currency to speed up delivery, we'll make you wait" trick for upgrades and repairs; and the fact that while your car is easily damaged (and its performance is negatively affected), other cars are not at all affected not even superficially by your collisions with them. AI is generally stupid, too: if you try and pass another car on the inside of a corner, they'll haphazardly and senselessly crash into you.

    The ultra-negative reviews are just hating because hating on EA and Activision is the 'cool' thing to do now on the internet... I guess they think that it increases their street cred, or whatever. Either way, this game is actually pretty good: it's really not that hard to ignore the IAP cash-in attempts (the wait times are usually pretty short), and you can switch to other cars in the meantime, and the graphics and gameplay are by far the best I've seen in an iOS-based racing game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2014
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, with beautiful courses and scenery. I will pass on the question of payment, wait times, unreachable goals,This is a visually stunning game, with beautiful courses and scenery. I will pass on the question of payment, wait times, unreachable goals, etc., as these have been dealt with elsewhere. My one quibble is with game play, most especially the Melbourne course. This course is a bad joke - it is unrealistic, artificial, and the ONLY way to win races here is to play dodgem cars, and literally push other cars out of the way. This is ridiculous, and completely out of character with the rest of the racing. This course should be eliminated, and the regular Australian GP one used instead. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    2
    The only thing I like about Real Racing 3 is the cars. What I disliked are the use of multiplayer, service, the way to unlock the cars, andThe only thing I like about Real Racing 3 is the cars. What I disliked are the use of multiplayer, service, the way to unlock the cars, and the difficulty to win races in 1st place. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Tried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the gameTried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the game have a price (coming with the paid features) and do the basic better, it will deserve a "3" as score. Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews