• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 7, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Stream On
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    100
    By combining the breakneck endless pace of games like Temple Run with Sonic’s old school sense of speed, Sonic Dash manages to champion two things quite well; taking an existing formula and bettering it, and developing a Sonic game that’s finally worthy of the hedgehog’s good name.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    To be fair, the power-ups (magnet to attract rings, head starts) are quite lazy, considering most running games use similar items. That said, Sonic Dash is a quality experience that no hardcore Sega fan should miss.
  3. Games Master UK
    May 9, 2013
    80
    Will have even the most cynical of Sonic bashers gurning with nostalgia. [June 2013, p.85]
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Sonic Dash is a quick automatic runner that harnesses the essence of the franchise in a great way. Perfect for both a five-minute break, and a lazy evening in the sofa.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    It's a bit pricey for an endless runner, especially considering that there is only one environment to run through, and it's mostly interchangeable with just about any other Temple Run clone out there, but this is also the best Sonic has played on a smartphone yet.
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    80
    Sonic Dash doesn't seek to innovate in the auto-runner genre, and for that alone it's disappointing, but if you scratch beneath the surface you'll find a game willing to throw a significant challenge your way.
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    78
    It's hard, eventually hard and well designed. There's nothing outstanding, but everything is correct. However, we don't really understand why it's so focused on in-app purchases when we have already paid for it.
  8. Mar 8, 2013
    75
    Sonic Dash isn’t a bad game as an endless runner, but Sonic fans might notice that the game has a certain lack of depth and variety when compared with his more traditional fare, or even other iOS games such as his own Sonic Jump or fellow mascot runner Rayman Jungle Run.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Pretty decent game, but running into random objects that come out of nowhere ruin the experience a bit for me. It's definitely a bit betterPretty decent game, but running into random objects that come out of nowhere ruin the experience a bit for me. It's definitely a bit better than Temple Run, but I still think subway surfers has it beat. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2016
    7
    Very fun and enjoyable and Sonic works really well for an endless runner, but there are two major cons this game possesses which are highVery fun and enjoyable and Sonic works really well for an endless runner, but there are two major cons this game possesses which are high priced characters, well I say high priced because a currency for buying characters called Red Star Rings can be really rare when playing and this doesn't really stand out well compared to other games of the same genre, so you may be familiar with some commonly used assets that seem quite dull now. Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2016
    8
    The graphics are great and the gameplay is great. Almost everything in this game is great or unique. Sure there is flaws but I gave this gameThe graphics are great and the gameplay is great. Almost everything in this game is great or unique. Sure there is flaws but I gave this game an 8 so it is great hey that kinda rhymed. Full Review »