• Publisher: inkle
  • Release Date: May 2, 2013
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 6, 2013
    100
    If you have any kind of interest at all in fantasy fiction or role-playing games, you simply must play Steve Jackson's Sorcery! It really is just that good.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    90
    An utter essential. [Aug 2013, p.79]
  3. May 13, 2013
    90
    When the four-book work is finished, Sorcery! is likely to be one heck of an impressive gamebook experience. Inkle's groundwork is fantastic, making for an unusually vibrant piece of interactive fiction. It's a bit like a prologue at the moment, but every journey has to start somewhere. This one gets off on the right foot.
  4. May 2, 2013
    90
    A thrilling combination of fantasy novel and RPG, Sorcery! offers a wonderfully fresh take on interactive fiction.
  5. May 10, 2013
    88
    Sorcery! relies on the often-ignored power of strong writing, and it’s better for doing so. It’s a prime example of what can happen when traditional storytelling gets along with contemporary game design.
  6. Jul 28, 2013
    80
    Simply said, Sorcery! is a wonderful release that should light a fire in the heart of any fan of an era long-gone; this is a welcome addition to any iOS library. [Issue#137, p.123]
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    80
    It's short and perhaps too forgiving for some, but Sorcery is a fun romp that respects your decisions. [July 2013, p.83]
  8. May 15, 2013
    80
    The worst thing you can say about Sorcery! is that this first book feels short. But when you are enjoying a thing, that often tends to be the case. The best thing is that if it stays true to the books, it is only going to get better.
  9. May 9, 2013
    80
    Sorcery! is one of the best games that this reviewer has played on the iPhone and iPad, offering a plethora of options and an excellent story.
  10. May 7, 2013
    80
    This really is a lovely game though, even if the journey is all too brief when you consider the $4.99 price-tag. If you're concerned that this modern re-imagining might not do the original experience justice, cast those concerns aside.
  11. May 2, 2013
    80
    Sorcery is a high water mark for gamebooks, and the tabletop D&D Experience. Its presentation and content should engage you unless you really dislike reading and making choices.
  12. May 2, 2013
    80
    Capturing the magic of Steve Jackson's Sorcery! novels, the game of the same name is a great addition for adventure game book fans.
  13. May 21, 2013
    70
    A wonderful novelty, Sorcery! exists to serve a niche group of users and will struggle to find a captivated mainstream audience.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Hah! I just completed the game on my very first go, without dying once! But enough with the self-satisfaction.
    Sorcery is just a great game.
    If this becomes part of the future of mobile gaming, instead of just the endless horde of match-3-crap, physics puzzlers and enless runners, the future looks very bright indeed, my friends.

    The presentation is absolutely gorgeous, with a simple but beautiful 3D-map taking up most of the screen time, engrossing ambient sounds, wonderful music, and beautiful illustrations. The game is truly about storytelling, which has pros and cons. On the one hand you've got excellent writing, scenes that keep your interest, and a tale that really takes you along for a ride, instead of bothering you with all the statistics "under the hood". On the other hand, the game is still very much a book: if you've made your choices in a certain scene, that scene is over and the story moves on. Don't expect to revisit villages you've been to before, or walk back to a certain weapon's dealer. So while the story itself and the vivid descriptions of what's happening, including your own mental and physical state, truly immerse you in this world, the way the game unfolds still has its boundaries. Still, I was strangely okay with that: being in a gameworld where everything matters brings much more significance to your actions and choices, compared to just roaming some sandbox RPG.

    There were just two gripes I had with this game.

    One, it's too forgiving. I get that some gamers will be pleased to be able to go back to every decision they made in the game, just to see what the unchosen path might have brought. But in my opinion this seriously decreases the aforementioned feeling of significance: nothing really matters, because in one tap you can "re-choose" another way. I seriously advise new players to stick with their decisions. Trust me, it'll make your experience so much better, and your sense of accomplishment so much greater (Did I tell you I finished the game in my very first go without dying once? I did? Sorry...)

    Two, it's really short. Maybe I should have waited for all four books to have been released on iOS, like I did with the Walking Dead game, so I could have had a more continuous experience. Then again, the sense of yearning to find out what happens next is the biggest compliment a storytelling game can get.

    Highly recommended!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    True to the old style of gamebook gaming while adding an action battle element-- and the story is so exquisitely written. Well worth the asking price.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    I've played like every iOS game, and this game is excellent. Captures the D&D essence (not necessarily the rules) better than any game on the ipad, The writing is good, the art is good, that combat is fun, the spells are interesting, the amount of choices you get to make in the game are stressful in a good way and overwhelming. My only complaint is its too short, but I heard the next one is quite long so that should make up for it. Full Review »