Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Command let's you build your own ship, hire your crew, explore the universe and battle alien civilizations across the galaxy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 6, 2013
    90
    Star Command's violent romp through the galaxy is equal parts challenging and clever, making it a must-play for sci-fi strategy fans.
  2. May 2, 2013
    90
    Star Command ($2.99 , Universal) delivers the total package that creates a can’t miss experience. There’s just so much to appreciate, making it a must buy that you will end up savoring every minute of, while playing at warp factor fun.
  3. May 30, 2013
    80
    Star Command is a very unique iOS experience that I hope to see a lot more of in the future. The biggest problem I have with this game compared to FTL is that you aren’t going to see a lot of variety in your play experiences because, unlike FTL, there is a full story here that takes about four hours to run through so you’re pretty much tied to the same path every time you play with very little branching.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    77
    This is a smooth and engaging time-eater. [Aug 2013, p.79]
  5. May 13, 2013
    75
    When you get past the disappointment of what Star Command could have been, there is some fun to be had here.
  6. May 6, 2013
    70
    Star Command is an addictive sci-fi simulation experience, provided you're willing to stick it out until the second playthrough to get to the real meat of the game.
  7. May 16, 2013
    53
    Star Command couldn't live up to the expectations it set for itself. The great visual style and sharply written dialogue form the shell of a failed Kickstarter-project. Star Command lacks diversity, the entertaining space battles quickly become repetitive, the artificial intelligence is bad, it isn't well balanced and succumbs to a wealth of bugs.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game! Star Command is an absolute gem. It runs flawlessly on my iPad 2, it has ZERO microtransactions (thank lovely 8-Bit style graphics, and a lot of fun. If you've played FTL then you'll already have KIND OF an idea of what the game is like, however, it has less ship component management and more crew management. Its still a very different game to FTL but if you loved FTL (like I did) but wanted some more crew mgmt and more of a Star Trek vibe then give this a shot. Its a bargain at twice its current price! Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Star Command is a complete rip-off of FTL, but the developers did it pretty well on the smart phone screen. There are a few issues though, like the annoying menu and camera. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I went into this game knowing nothing of it. I recently got it from Humble Bundle (Android) and decided to give it a try. I must say, I had an enjoyable experience. Animations and frame rate were solid, and game play was different from usual mobile games. Its far from perfect though. Story felt lacking, characters felt almost forced. You don't feel like dialogue choices make any sort of impact in the game world. I can see why people are unhappy. Personally, I didn't have any issue with the problems others were having. Moving crew made sense, and while tedious, you're not doing much else while waiting for weapons to charge. A tutorial would be nice, but not impossible without one. The devs overstretched and underestimated costs. They didn't make things better with PR either, but considering this is their first release, I'm willing to forgive this as oversight and spur the moment feelings if they keep up with development and listen to their customers. By itself, Star Command is a decent game that could definitely use work. Not everyone will agree, but I say judge it on what it gives you, and enjoy the ride. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    I wanted this game to be good, so badly. I adored FTL and a mobile version, or any variant of that type of game is an exciting prospect. Unfortunately, the controls and micromanagement make the game absolutely horrific to play. I would often watch an engineer do nothing while the ship burned right in front of him, requiring you to click on his small person and move him a few steps closer so he would actually do something about it. The crew has no urgency and walks everywhere, while the ship is being blasted to pieces around them. Instead of trying to plan and use strategy during a fight, such as with FTL, I find myself busily trying to just keep up with the obnoxious amount of micromanagement. It's a shame because I really wanted to have fun with this game, except the control scheme absolutely ruins it. Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    4
    Calling this a "good" game is not doing the game industry any favours.

    I wanted Star Command to a "good" game, it had potential to be a
    GREAT game, but unfortunately missed the mark on almost all aspects. I spent most of my 3 hours playing this game wondering how they left out so many obvious features. So much so that it ultimately feels like 70% of a game. Poor controls make this more of a frustration than anything else. The story attempts to be funny but is mostly cringe worthy and completely uninspired. Your crew is borderline brain dead, standing in fire until death or walking their dumb asses right out of the gaping hole in the side of your ship etc.

    I dont often write bad reviews, but I make this exception because I truly did want Star Command to be great, yet it feels more like a rushed cash grab which only becomes more frustrating given its huge dev cycle.

    giving this game a good score only enables dev teams to pump more mediocre games into the market.

    What a let down.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    I picked this up via the September 26, 2013 Humble bundle, Played the android version all the way through. Let me start by saying this: the graphics are nice, the music is nice, but the gameplay and lack of challenge are where this "game" falls flat on it's face. Throughout the game there was ZERO sense of danger in battle, my shields were EASILY refilling way before the enemy ever attacked again, I never had to use dodge or shield boost, and I could leave the game sitting for hours in a battle and never die! Combat goes like this: Enemy always hits you first, you take a little shield damage, your shields are full before the next salvo. You wait, and wait some more as your weapons charge up. You push the weapon button, this starts a little minigame where you tap at the right time to fire your weapons, the better you do, the less time you will waste "in battle". Continue this until the enemy is out of health 10 minutes later. Hooray, repeat this fifteen times and you win the game! Good job you did two timing minigames a few hundred times. Only ONCE did I have my ship boarded and I assume that was because it was a tutorial mission with zombie cosmonauts. The only danger in the game is maybe two or three spots where your dialogue choice ends up having your ship get set on fire or boarded constantly during the fight. Additionally there is no diplomacy, and you don't actually customize your ship so much as choose two out of three weapons and two out of three special rooms. You also do not get to upgrade to a bigger ship unless you beat the game and do what is essentially newgame+, however the ship you have is invincible from the start so who cares about new playthroughs? Do not pay full price for this, it is NOT like FTL, and you will be disappointed and bored. Expand
  7. May 9, 2013
    0
    I don't know how they've cowed all the developers in to giving them favorable reviews. I just bought the game and have been playing it and can tell you that they are all bogus. Star Command is incomplete, has shoddy controls and I wish there was a return policy for software. A game is not the sum of its screen shots or media outlet reviews, buyer beware.

    I would wait to purchase this game.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews