Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: S:S&S EP is a 21st century interpretation of the archetypical old school videogame adventure, designed exclusively for Apple's iPad, iPhone & iPod Touch.

    It's a mix of laid-back exploration, careful investigation & mysterious musical problem-solving occasionally punctuated by
    hard-hitting combat encounters. S:S&S EP is an unusual genre-bending effort with an emphasis on sound, music & audiovisual style that has been positioned as 'a brave experiment in Input Output Cinema'.

    S:S&S EP has been recently described as "... an unlikely mix of Zelda and art house cinema. The game is equal parts Robert E. Howard, Shigeru Miyamoto, Tim Schaefer, with some David Lynch thrown in for good measure but there is more to S&S than these inspirations."
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    100
    This is one of the best games of 2011. Never thought I'd be saying that about an iPhone title.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    100
    A game that takes real chances to stretch the gaming medium without sacrificing the joy of play and discovery that makes the medium great. It's a bold experiment in having the adventure game genre take a meaningful, humorous and fun look at itself. Gaming doesn't need to find its Citizen Kane, but it may have discovered its Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead without even trying.
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    94
    Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery is an astonishing example of art direction, with gorgeous pixel art graphic style combined with one of the most incredible soundtracks in videogames history. The gameplay is probably not on the same quality level, but the final result is absolutely a must buy on any iOS device.
  4. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    With a beautiful soundtrack, lovely retro-visuals and a perfectly narrated story, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is a game you should absolutely own on you iPad. Maybe you'll like it, maybe not, but you can't deny the stunning quality of this act of love to the adventure genre.
  5. Apr 25, 2011
    83
    More videogame art installation than it is fun. It's enjoyable, but it compels you to win not by skillfully overcoming obstacles, but by simply spending lots of time in its world, which is as lush an ambiance as pixels allow.
  6. Apr 15, 2011
    80
    There's real poetry coming from those pixels. In between Princess Mononoke, Zelda, ICO and Shadow of the Colossus, Sword & Sworcery borrows from a lot of inspirations, digests them well, and adds its own style on top. It's a real and sensible adventure to discover, with fantastic visuals and musics, and a simple yet efficient gameplay. Its very low price makes it unmissable on the iPad. If you are looking for a fresh, different and referenced experience, speaking to your imagination more than your reflexes, then the journey is right ahead of you.
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    Despite an amazing sound design and some gorgeous 8-bits stylized visuals, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery is less an enthusiastic and challenging videogame than an interactive story, sometimes too repetitive and flawed.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This is the game i was waiting for on the iPad.

    Every time developers released pre-announced iPad games i ended up disappointed, nothing was
    immersive enough, nothing could keep me tapping on the "touchtronic device" for more than 20 minutes, nothing was as good as they described it.

    S:S&S EP really came through for me; like the other times i was watching the movies online and the hype was building up despite some reservations due to previous delusions.
    I couldn't be more wrong, this time everything i was looking for is acknowledged, this game is full of sensations, every scenario, every bit of music, every sentence is full of inspiration and if you can look at it in the right way you can't avoid to stare at the whole thing in awe.

    The gameplay is wonderful as well but it doesn't really matter for me, the story brings you to a point where you just don't care about the "how" but you focus more on the story and everything that's happening around you by moving naturally around, and i think this is a very good achievement for the developer, controlling the game just feels right, nothing is off.

    I was even scared at a certain point, running away from something, thinking how they could have managed it by putting it toghether some pixel and some very well-made music.

    This is the best iPad game to date, and it's gonna take a lot of effort for other developers to move it from the top.
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    simply amazing, nostalgic, magnificence. the best ios game yet and possibly one of the best games ever. at the 4 dollar price calling it a steal is an understatement. then there's the incredible music. its basically a pink floyd soundtrack over a tolken inspired landscape with hints of myst and earthbound like charm, go buy this now. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    S:S&S EP is one of those games that requires you to sit down in a dark room, put on a set of headphones, and let yourself become absorbed in it's ambience. In return the game provides you with some of the most clever, beautiful, engaging gameplay you've ever seen. Luckily the game is broken up into 20-30 minute long "acts" complete with curtains closing and sending you back to the home screen. It's a refreshing experience to play an iOS (or any OS) game to tell you straight up to take your time and just enjoy the experience. The best part about it though, is the tone. The story is told in the second person, which provides the game with a refreshingly antiquated feel which itself accentuates the art style.

    I don't think I've chuckled or smiled so much while playing a game in years, a definite must buy.
    Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    All told, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery is a magnificent game. It elevates experience of play far beyond the mundane of it's peers, and at many times moves the player emotionally in entirely unexpecting ways. Though easily billed as an "art game", I think such terms belittle the events of the game. It's not a game of irony that most art games are. Rather it's a moving experience that reveals the vast majority of games to be trite, shallow, and unambitious. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    This game is pretty, nostalgic, and has great music. Essentially, it's a game for hipsters.
    But it's dang good all the same. Sure it may not
    be thrilling and fast paced, but that's not what it's trying to be and you know that the moment you start playing. So go ahead, chill out and enjoy the world that Superbrothers, Jim Guthrie, and Capybara Games have created. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    7
    It's decent but there perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. These perfect scores are a joke. Expand
  7. May 7, 2012
    1
    Don't know what happened to my last review. However, let me summarise. This game is terrible and can hardly be called a game. The so called artwork is "nostalgic" yes, I appreciate it would have taken effort to create and that's what lured me, but really the artwork is limited to what you see in the screen grabs it is only repetitive and uninspiring once you get playing. And by playing I mean finishing the game in around an hour. Look at the walkthoughs online if you don't believe me, there really is no content to this game. The puzzles and game play verge on non-existant and are frankly completely unrelated to the plot. Think clicking inanimate items in a specific order on screen in order to solve them. The sound that is being talked up is really very average, like a student put it together with a keyboard and sound board. The high scores here should not be believed. Please don't purchase this game as I have done, I would rate atari 2600 games above this. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month

    iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month Image
    Published: March 30, 2011
    March's best iOS games include the latest Angry Birds title -- which also happens to be a rare movie tie-in with stellar reviews -- plus several updated 1980s-era classics and the first Tom Clancy shooter made for the iPhone.