Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    100
    All told, if this game isn't on your phone, you're doing yourself a huge disservice.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    100
    It matches the sheer thrill and intensity of Canabalt, but with a completely new theme and perspective. We've all wanted to be Indiana Jones at some point, and now's your chance.
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    The "endless running" genre consists of many excellent titles, with the likes of Tiny Wings, DoodleJump and Grim Joggers receiving high acclaim. Temple Run goes above and beyond, offering gamers a superb, addictive experience throughout.
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    80
    Temple Run tightens up and polishes the endless-runner for the 3rd dimension, giving players a unique and fun challenge that controls like a dream.
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    80
    It remains to be seen whether Temple Run is the greatest running game on the App Store, but it's without question one of the best. For a buck, it's definitely worth a look.
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    76
    Temple Run is a very good running game with accurate touch controls, frenetic action and lots of achiements and power-ups to unlock. It's simple and fun, and it's free. What are you waiting for? Go download it now.
  7. Aug 17, 2011
    75
    A fast and frenzied iPhone experience. The combination of swiping and tilt controls gives each session a frantic feeling. Right now the package feels a little basic and derivative, but still quite fun.
  8. Aug 11, 2011
    70
    A solid take on the endless running genre that doesn't add anything, but is still fun all the same.
  9. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    You do know Running-Games. It's as simple as hell : a character continually running forward, and your reflexes only to prevent him from falling into traps, holes, or any hasard coming his way. Temple Run is one of them, with an Indiana Jones take. It's a good and thrilling one, and it's still free with in-app purchases, so go get it!
  10. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    My big qualm with Temple Runner lies in the fact that the majority of the game's scenery looks the same. Yeah, the scenery does change here and there, but most of the time, gamers are running through ruined, temple pathways that look consistently the same. It all starts to blur together after a while.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    6
    This app's biggest flaw is its hype (which is not its fault). Unfortunately, any new players picking up this app will expect too much out of it. While it is fun, I didn't think it had long-lasting appeal. There are some objectives and upgrades, but there was no real incentive to keep me playing. In today's age, setting a high score will not be enough of a goal for most players. I'm not sure why this app hit it so big, I believe there are more-addicting games on the App Store, but since it's free, might as well pick it up so you can fit in with the crowd. This app is now a staple on my iTouch, but only because it offers simple gameplay that my friends can quickly pick up if they borrow my device. Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    some apps can be way stupid and not that big of an adventure or good game . Grade D ..................................................................
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    6
    The things i like about this game is the different things they give you as you play it more nad more i mean as yiu go further like as yoy go with the high scoure it gives you out different things to get your speed high and get your running skills powerfull . Temple Run is probably the most addictive game i have ever played. Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging. There are tons of unlocks and perks to help boost your character. I play this game everyday.great game of running jumping and swiping which becomes addictive. the thing i do not likeabout this game is teh sound i think its abit weird they could have good music for their game and also some of the tasks are very easy to play. Once you got to know the game it is very easy for someone to play at the begining when i first start playing i find it very hard but when i have like played it about 3 times i find it very easy, if one game is easy yiou are less interested in the game to play so i think the game could have nice music and hard tasks for someone to play. Full Review »