Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    My big qualm with Temple Runner lies in the fact that the majority of the game's scenery looks the same. Yeah, the scenery does change here and there, but most of the time, gamers are running through ruined, temple pathways that look consistently the same. It all starts to blur together after a while.
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    80
    Temple Run tightens up and polishes the endless-runner for the 3rd dimension, giving players a unique and fun challenge that controls like a dream.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    You do know Running-Games. It's as simple as hell : a character continually running forward, and your reflexes only to prevent him from falling into traps, holes, or any hasard coming his way. Temple Run is one of them, with an Indiana Jones take. It's a good and thrilling one, and it's still free with in-app purchases, so go get it!
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    100
    All told, if this game isn't on your phone, you're doing yourself a huge disservice.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    75
    A fast and frenzied iPhone experience. The combination of swiping and tilt controls gives each session a frantic feeling. Right now the package feels a little basic and derivative, but still quite fun.
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    80
    It remains to be seen whether Temple Run is the greatest running game on the App Store, but it's without question one of the best. For a buck, it's definitely worth a look.
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    76
    Temple Run is a very good running game with accurate touch controls, frenetic action and lots of achiements and power-ups to unlock. It's simple and fun, and it's free. What are you waiting for? Go download it now.
  8. Aug 11, 2011
    70
    A solid take on the endless running genre that doesn't add anything, but is still fun all the same.
  9. Aug 12, 2011
    100
    It matches the sheer thrill and intensity of Canabalt, but with a completely new theme and perspective. We've all wanted to be Indiana Jones at some point, and now's your chance.
  10. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    The "endless running" genre consists of many excellent titles, with the likes of Tiny Wings, DoodleJump and Grim Joggers receiving high acclaim. Temple Run goes above and beyond, offering gamers a superb, addictive experience throughout.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    6
    This app's biggest flaw is its hype (which is not its fault). Unfortunately, any new players picking up this app will expect too much out ofThis app's biggest flaw is its hype (which is not its fault). Unfortunately, any new players picking up this app will expect too much out of it. While it is fun, I didn't think it had long-lasting appeal. There are some objectives and upgrades, but there was no real incentive to keep me playing. In today's age, setting a high score will not be enough of a goal for most players. I'm not sure why this app hit it so big, I believe there are more-addicting games on the App Store, but since it's free, might as well pick it up so you can fit in with the crowd. This app is now a staple on my iTouch, but only because it offers simple gameplay that my friends can quickly pick up if they borrow my device. Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    This is an extremely fun and addicting game. However, I'm concerned about the designs on this game. They're not very interesting andThis is an extremely fun and addicting game. However, I'm concerned about the designs on this game. They're not very interesting and realistic, however the ones on its sequel are and that's why I liked it better. Grade: B. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    It's an okay game. Repetitive and a little glitchy with either being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. There are some objectives andIt's an okay game. Repetitive and a little glitchy with either being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. There are some objectives and upgrades to get, things to collect and aim for (coins, power ups etc) but no real incentive to keep playing. However, to be fair, it is a very unique and nice looking, nice sounding still fairly fun infinite runner game with a well delivered idea and feel as you mad-dash for the free world outside of the temple. It has a dynamic camera as it swoops low when you skid underneath a tree and bends tightly as you go around the corners but like I mentioned earlier, there are some sensitivity problems so you will still have times where the game doesn't respond to your commands and therefore you either do something you didn't mean to or you don't do something you wanted to do which really does get irritating (usually how I die).which is mostly why I can't give it a higher score. Aside from that it's fun though just maybe not in long doses.... Full Review »