User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    6
    This app's biggest flaw is its hype (which is not its fault). Unfortunately, any new players picking up this app will expect too much out of it. While it is fun, I didn't think it had long-lasting appeal. There are some objectives and upgrades, but there was no real incentive to keep me playing. In today's age, setting a high score will not be enough of a goal for most players. I'm notThis app's biggest flaw is its hype (which is not its fault). Unfortunately, any new players picking up this app will expect too much out of it. While it is fun, I didn't think it had long-lasting appeal. There are some objectives and upgrades, but there was no real incentive to keep me playing. In today's age, setting a high score will not be enough of a goal for most players. I'm not sure why this app hit it so big, I believe there are more-addicting games on the App Store, but since it's free, might as well pick it up so you can fit in with the crowd. This app is now a staple on my iTouch, but only because it offers simple gameplay that my friends can quickly pick up if they borrow my device. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    Infinite-runners might be a dime a dozen on mobile devices these days, but "Temple Run" provides enough fun and unique of an experience to be worth your time. The reason it stands out is because of its complexity. Yeah you're still dodging obstacles and completing objectives, but things like buying upgrades and power-ups help give it depth. Also adding to the depth is the shear number ofInfinite-runners might be a dime a dozen on mobile devices these days, but "Temple Run" provides enough fun and unique of an experience to be worth your time. The reason it stands out is because of its complexity. Yeah you're still dodging obstacles and completing objectives, but things like buying upgrades and power-ups help give it depth. Also adding to the depth is the shear number of things you will do in order to avoid obstacles. You'll tilt and swipe your mobile device in order dodge, jump, turn, and slide your way to new high scores. The game is at its best when you have to do all of these things in a row at high speeds. The game also looks fantastic, but the sound is forgettable. Overall it might just be another infinite-runner, but thanks to its uniqueness it's still a lot of fun to play. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Temple Run is probably the most addictive App Store game you can buy. Even though it is a simple idea, there is a great amount of strategic work involved.Buy it!
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging. There are tons of unlocks and perks to help boost your character. I play this game everyday. It's not a game you can play for hours, it's one you will play for a long period of time, but only like 10 minutes here and there.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    It was a good game until everybody at my school started playing it started to ge annoying i like it better when only like 40 out of 2,300 people at my school played it. I just stopped playing it then but it's still a good game
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    4
    This game was fun for the first part, but once i hit a million points i lost the incentive to play any further. Since its free, you might as well get it and see if you like it. for much better games, try Sonic CD or Resident Evil: Degeneration.
  7. Jul 15, 2012
    6
    Temple Run brings the non-stop running game genre(if it is a genre) to new heights, with its addictive gameplay and excellent upgrade system all looks fine and dandy in the universe of running out of a temple for free world. It also is a very dynamic game, with the camera swooping low as you skid underneath a tree and bends tightly as you sprint around corners. Unfortunately the game isn'tTemple Run brings the non-stop running game genre(if it is a genre) to new heights, with its addictive gameplay and excellent upgrade system all looks fine and dandy in the universe of running out of a temple for free world. It also is a very dynamic game, with the camera swooping low as you skid underneath a tree and bends tightly as you sprint around corners. Unfortunately the game isn't perfect and its attempt at all this seems to occasionally make the game not respond to your commands. E.g. I go to turn a corner and the 2500m pop-up comes on and makes my character not turn, becoming a game with alot of lag. Another example is when I picked up the boost temporary upgrade and "guy dangerous" ran off of the track missing the corner while going really fast. These small things can really spoil the time and it should be fixed. That said, I recommend this to any iOS users. Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2014
    6
    The things i like about this game is the different things they give you as you play it more nad more i mean as yiu go further like as yoy go with the high scoure it gives you out different things to get your speed high and get your running skills powerfull . Temple Run is probably the most addictive game i have ever played. Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging.The things i like about this game is the different things they give you as you play it more nad more i mean as yiu go further like as yoy go with the high scoure it gives you out different things to get your speed high and get your running skills powerfull . Temple Run is probably the most addictive game i have ever played. Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging. There are tons of unlocks and perks to help boost your character. I play this game everyday.great game of running jumping and swiping which becomes addictive. the thing i do not likeabout this game is teh sound i think its abit weird they could have good music for their game and also some of the tasks are very easy to play. Once you got to know the game it is very easy for someone to play at the begining when i first start playing i find it very hard but when i have like played it about 3 times i find it very easy, if one game is easy yiou are less interested in the game to play so i think the game could have nice music and hard tasks for someone to play. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Tired of Angry Birds or Fruit Ninja ? Then Temple Run is a definitive creative game that needs to be played. Tight gameplay, nice challenges, neat graphics which I preferred more a 2D look rather than a dusty, bland look, but Temple Run is a important game no matter what type of gamer you're.
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    This game is fairly well done but... 1) it isn't cute or even nice looking, 2) the sound is quite poor (especially the coin gathering feels "flat"), 3) missions are not stressed enough (and there is only one mission per run so you don't have any choice). The feeling of running is well delivered, gameplay is smooth but it's the psychology that differs this game from Jetpack Joyride.... wellThis game is fairly well done but... 1) it isn't cute or even nice looking, 2) the sound is quite poor (especially the coin gathering feels "flat"), 3) missions are not stressed enough (and there is only one mission per run so you don't have any choice). The feeling of running is well delivered, gameplay is smooth but it's the psychology that differs this game from Jetpack Joyride.... well this and couple of hundreds of thousands sold units... Expand
  11. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    A great game of running jumping and swiping which becomes addictive, yet I have found doesn't dry out over time, and always feels fresh to play. You won't find a much better game for free.
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome game... It was very fun and addictive...Best free game I played, the best part is to achieve the objectives in the game and the extra powers we have in the game. Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    "Temple Run" is a great game for when you're bored and have nothing better to do. It's an infinite-runner game and is similar to "Jetpack Joyride". "Temple Run" has some nice animation and cool sound effects.
  14. May 5, 2013
    5
    Fairly enough, this game fairs worse than its sequel. You really need to look closely people. This game may be addictive but all you do is swipe on barely ANY obstacles.
  15. Mar 10, 2013
    2
    Now, i like skill games but not skill games like this because this game is always the same when running, making this game very boring. It's average, on the first play, however as i said before it gets longer and boring er. This game is rarely updated even when it is updated it isn't that good. This game has been copied a lot of times and I would say they are better. Even thought this gameNow, i like skill games but not skill games like this because this game is always the same when running, making this game very boring. It's average, on the first play, however as i said before it gets longer and boring er. This game is rarely updated even when it is updated it isn't that good. This game has been copied a lot of times and I would say they are better. Even thought this game is free, i still wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  16. May 30, 2014
    1
    I never saw how this game is so popular. The gameplay is shallow and repetitive, with no challenge whatsoever. The track never changes and there is nothing to keep you interested long term.
  17. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    some apps can be way stupid and not that big of an adventure or good game . Grade D ..................................................................
  18. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    It's an okay game. Repetitive and a little glitchy with either being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. There are some objectives and upgrades to get, things to collect and aim for (coins, power ups etc) but no real incentive to keep playing. However, to be fair, it is a very unique and nice looking, nice sounding still fairly fun infinite runner game with a well delivered idea andIt's an okay game. Repetitive and a little glitchy with either being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. There are some objectives and upgrades to get, things to collect and aim for (coins, power ups etc) but no real incentive to keep playing. However, to be fair, it is a very unique and nice looking, nice sounding still fairly fun infinite runner game with a well delivered idea and feel as you mad-dash for the free world outside of the temple. It has a dynamic camera as it swoops low when you skid underneath a tree and bends tightly as you go around the corners but like I mentioned earlier, there are some sensitivity problems so you will still have times where the game doesn't respond to your commands and therefore you either do something you didn't mean to or you don't do something you wanted to do which really does get irritating (usually how I die).which is mostly why I can't give it a higher score. Aside from that it's fun though just maybe not in long doses.... Expand
  19. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    This is an extremely fun and addicting game. However, I'm concerned about the designs on this game. They're not very interesting and realistic, however the ones on its sequel are and that's why I liked it better. Grade: B.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    You do know Running-Games. It's as simple as hell : a character continually running forward, and your reflexes only to prevent him from falling into traps, holes, or any hasard coming his way. Temple Run is one of them, with an Indiana Jones take. It's a good and thrilling one, and it's still free with in-app purchases, so go get it!
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    The "endless running" genre consists of many excellent titles, with the likes of Tiny Wings, DoodleJump and Grim Joggers receiving high acclaim. Temple Run goes above and beyond, offering gamers a superb, addictive experience throughout.
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    100
    All told, if this game isn't on your phone, you're doing yourself a huge disservice.