Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Drowning is a console-quality, first-person shooter game custom built for mobile devices.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    While other mobile FPS games might still be drowning in a sea of shoddy touchscreen controls, The Drowning offers just enough moments of ingenuity and potential insights to these traditional issues that gamers will always be able to keep coming up for refreshing breaths of air.
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    65
    One of the greatest promises for iOS becomes a repetitive game, where only its control and visual are worth highlighting.
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    Good ideas on controls and atmosphere don't succeed in keeping The Drowning above the surface of an average level.
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    50
    The scavenging for weapons and upgrades will deliver the fun, but that enjoyment can easily be hampered by the gameplay-limiting timer system.
  5. The Drowning is free to play, but the unrelenting focus on upgrades aggressively pushes players to buy virtual currency so they can upgrade faster...Kudos to the new controls, but the overall experience left a bitter taste in my mouth.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    50
    Its world is bland and uninviting, its free-to-play systems annoying and restrictive, and its gameplay shallow and repetitive.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    40
    For those who do stick with it, there are an absolute ton of weapons and items to unlock, and a variety of locations with both arena and base defense missions. But the game's ambition and the slow burn for progress may have been more than The Drowning can handle.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    Not a bad game, it looks good (gotta say that).
    But damn am I annoyed with the freemium model it tries to push so hard on you.
    That's a
    Not a bad game, it looks good (gotta say that).
    But damn am I annoyed with the freemium model it tries to push so hard on you.
    That's a shame, it could be quite decent if it had a premium price point attached!
    Collapse
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    I wanted to like this game so much more than I actually did — it looked good, had good atmosphere and I really loved that the developer wasI wanted to like this game so much more than I actually did — it looked good, had good atmosphere and I really loved that the developer was taking a risk by re-thinking and re-imagining shooter controls for a touch interface. I'd forgive relatively shallow shooter gameplay for that last point. But I can't forgive forcing a business model that is so disrespectful for gamers. This should have been a premium title, not another micro-transaction filled game designed only to separate gamers from their money. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    1
    What a let down the game is the same as all the other IOS games. It just wants your money and won't stop until it gets it from you (you needWhat a let down the game is the same as all the other IOS games. It just wants your money and won't stop until it gets it from you (you need to get gas but the only way is to buy it). The plot and graphics are decent but it's just a mask for this money steeling game. In conclusion buy a game that you pay for once. Expand

Trailers