Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    100
    The Room Two is a beyond worthy successor to the original in all ways. There is no reason to not play it. Here’s hoping that Fireproof Games can take what seems to be a great story, and more thoroughly flush it out in sequels to come.
  2. 100
    This is the best kind of portable game, the best kind of adventure game and the best kind of sequel.
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The Room Two offers more of what we loved in the first one--puzzle-filled rooms.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    100
    The Room Two isn’t just a game, but an experience that is not to be missed as it greatly expands upon an already outstanding game. It’s one of the best experiences you can play on the iPad to engross you in a mesmerizing touch centric challenge that is an absolute must buy.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    100
    Though perhaps not quite as tough as the first game, The Room Two's increased scope, effortlessly elegant mechanisms, and thick atmosphere make it another dark delight, and a game that should be on everyone's App Store wish list.
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    92
    An IPad essential, it delivers a polished and atmospheric collection of conundrums. [Feb 2014, p.76]
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    A great game only let down by its inability to encourage replayability. If you’re up for a puzzle experience that goes bump in the night, you should definitely pick it up. Well done to Fireproof for satisfying its fans’ anticipation. [Issue 1, February 2014]
  8. Jan 12, 2014
    90
    The environments and the atmosphere of the game are immersive thanks to its great visuals. Controls are almost perfect on iPad. Despite the relatively short longevity and an almost non-existent replayability, this is a game everyone should play.
  9. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    The Room Two is an essential title that every gamer should make it their mission to experience.
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    90
    The Room Two builds on the original game in smart ways without losing the thrill or depth of its finely tuned puzzle play.
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    90
    Bigger, better, stronger, The Room Two is an exceptional sequel to the equally exceptional first game.
  12. Dec 12, 2013
    90
    A brilliant sequel that expands the lore and scope of its predecessor, The Room 2 is a game that everyone should play.
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    86
    The Room Two is a great puzzle game that every fan of the genre should enjoy.
  14. Dec 19, 2013
    86
    The Room Two is more ambitious than its acclaimed predecessor in almost every way, boasting more thoughtful environments and some truly creative puzzle solutions.
  15. Apr 17, 2014
    85
    On every corner you’ll find a new secret or a sparkling metal ornament waiting to be investigated. It is short and offers hardly anything new compared to the predecessor. But is still is very unique – which you can’t say about too many mobile games which mainly consist of match-3 or endless-runner-clones.
  16. Jan 7, 2014
    85
    Easier than its predecessor, except for the final chapter. But The Room Two retains all the charm and mysticism that makes it unique.
  17. Dec 17, 2013
    83
    This sequel doesn't dramatically change the formula, but like its predecessor, you want to curl up in a dark room with this mobile title and experience all it has to offer.
  18. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    May simply expand on what the original did, but it does so with style. [March 2014, p.76]
  19. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    The Room Two might not have the stunning first impression offered by The Room, but it's still a mighty impressive game with stunningly interactive puzzles.
  20. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    A great sequel for one of the best puzzle games in years.
  21. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    The Room Two is more than just a worthy sequel, expanding the formula and experimenting with some new ideas - it's a fantastic, scrumptiously crunchy experience in its own right.
  22. Jan 6, 2014
    80
    It’s no accident that your role can often feel more captive than intrepid explorer; Fireproof skilfully demonstrates that escapism through escapology can be a potent conceit indeed.
  23. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of innovation, The Room Two is a solid puzzle game like its predecessor and another contender for the best mobile game of 2013.
  24. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    What was once fresh and exciting becomes expected, and the recipe can be so delicate that trying to repeat it with different ingredients can easily result in an indigestible disaster. Fireproof has taken a conservative approach that avoids those pitfalls, but it hasn't abandoned ambition in the process.
  25. Dec 13, 2013
    65
    After beating the game, the was one puzzle I couldn’t solve — why the The Room Two was such a disappointment.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    It takes time for one to register the pure, unbridled ingenuity that The Room 2 provides. As a sequel to my favorite App Store game, it seemed impossible that it could live up to the overwhelming expectations its predecessor set. But, once again, I was treated to another three hours of gaming bliss, discovering uncharted worlds, solving intricate puzzles, and having my mind blown time and time again. Not only is The Room 2 the greatest app ever made, it is quite possibly the greatest puzzle game ever conceived. Like The Last of Us, this game leaves me in a state of blissful confusion, unable to accurately portray the unbelievable experience that I just took part in. In short, The Room 2 is not a recommendable game. It is a necessity. Anyone who misses out on this cinematic, atmospheric, and downright beautiful journey through a mind-boggling landscape is doing themselves a disservice. Believe me when I say, this game redefines the genre, and the player that enters will never be the same as the player that leaves.

    10/10

    Follow me on twitter @cbeers2513.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Wow! I even enjoyed this one better than the first! I like how they kept the core aspect of the game the same yet added more scope to the game. It was a perfect formula in my opinion! The atmosphere in this one blew me away, they really improved it. It has some of the best production values for an IOS game. I hope they continue this series. Its one of my favorites on the iPad. Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Full Review »