The Simpsons: Tapped Out iOS

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
Stream On
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    A pretty standard social game, with two big differences: it's incredibly polished, and it knows its audience inside-out. It's a must-play for fans of the show, past and present. Its charm and style will embiggen your heart and soul.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    90
    It may not have the depth of Sim City or the dedicated following of FarmVille but Tapped Out is still a thoroughly entertaining and addictive experience; arguably the best videogame based on The Simpsons yet.
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    80
    It's Cityville with the Simpsons, simple as that. Fans of the TV series should definitely try this out.
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    A well done game, maybe simplified but very faithful to the TV series. It's entertaining and the interface works well; a must buy for all the fans with an Apple Device.
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    80
    Aside from its lack of any real innovation, the only nagging problem with The Simpsons: Tapped Out is its insistence that you connect to EA's Origin service, even if it's only used for online features such as visiting your friends' parallel Springfields for daily bonuses.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    The Simpsons: Tapped Out does nothing new when it comes to freemium gaming, but the opportunity to create one's personal Springfield, along with trademark Simpsons humor, makes it hard to resist. It's less "doh", and more "woo hoo."
  7. Sep 5, 2012
    77
    If it weren't for unlocking more things and seeing what the different characters have to say, it can get a little boring and uninteresting.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    This game is a well designed, incredibly rewarding social game using real-time to set characters on missions (each a set number of hours) andThis game is a well designed, incredibly rewarding social game using real-time to set characters on missions (each a set number of hours) and then returning later to collect the spoils of their labors. The game does have some very overpriced "donuts" being currency for premium content purchased with real cash, or won through the mystery box. It's fun, though you do need patience for this very addictive game. A must-have for any tablet owner Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    I've never played a game like this before, so this is coming from someone who is new to the whole "building a city" type game. I loved it.I've never played a game like this before, so this is coming from someone who is new to the whole "building a city" type game. I loved it. I've always loved anything Simpsons related and I took great joy in discovering new characters, missions, and buildings. But then the connection errors began... This game requires a connection to the EA servers at all times. This makes absolutely no sense to me and when it fails to connect (which seems to be often) you are unable to play the game at all. Thankfully I've not invested in buying special items (ie. donuts) so it's no loss for me. But I really miss this game. Haven't been able to connect to EA's servers for two days. When it works it's a lot of fun, but they need to fix this server nonsense. Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2016
    8
    I have to admit I've never even watched one episode of the show. I picked this game up on a whim because it was free, and because I've wasI have to admit I've never even watched one episode of the show. I picked this game up on a whim because it was free, and because I've was curious to see if "The Simpsons" are as funny as everyone says. Suffice to say that "Tapped Out" doesn't skimp out on any jokes or fan-service. It's very funny and filled with various characters, locations, and references to and from the show. The gameplay is mixture between a social game and a city builder. It's a lot of fun to play, but suffers from one key issue; timers. Everything from building a house to completing a quest takes a certain amount of real time. The problem with this is when you're waiting on one or more tasks to be completed you're not playing the game. So the core gameplay consists of starting up the game, starting a task, and then waiting for that task to complete. This makes it very much a casual gamers game, which isn't a bad thing, but I would rather sit down and play for more than a few minutes at a time while I wait for the game to send my phone an update telling me that a task has been completed. Still it's not a bad game, it has kept me entertained and coming back, and it will continue to. Even as someone who's not familiar with the show I found myself laughing a lot with this game. So even if you're not a fan this is worth a download. It's fun and humorous, and that's what keeps me coming back despite the timers. Full Review »