The Simpsons: Tapped Out Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: THIS GAME IS LIFE-RUININGLY FUN! Homer accidently caused a meltdown that wiped out Springfield. D’OH! Now, it’s up to you to rebuild it! From the writers of The Simpsons, tap into a city building game that lets you create your own living, breathing Springfield... for FREE. HOW FUN IS IT? LET US COUNT THE WAYS!1. First, you can get it for free!2. Make Springfield just like you want it.3. Help Homer find Marge, Bart and the rest of his family and friends! (Ned Flanders, too.)4. Complete tasks to earn… mmm, donuts!5. Make Apu work ridiculously long shifts at Kwik-E-Mart.6. Grow and harvest Tomacco on Cletus’s Farm.7. Party down with Duffman at Duff Brewery.8. See how your Indolence, Consumerism, Gluttony stack up on the Conform-o-meter.9. Enjoy exclusive, never-before-seen animated scenes sure to please fans of TV’s longest-running comedy.10. Visit your friends’ Springfields, play pranks, and collect cash.11. And did we mention… it’s free to play?IS THAT ALL? Of course not! But who wants to read all this text on an iPhone screen? So you should CHECK OUT THE SCREENSHOTS because the screenshots really sell it… even though we really don’t have to sell this game… because it’s FREE!NOTES: - Play on iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPad, iPad 2, iPod touch 3 (3rd generation) or iPod touch (4th generation).- You must have an Internet connection to play, so please make sure your device is connected. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    A pretty standard social game, with two big differences: it's incredibly polished, and it knows its audience inside-out. It's a must-play for fans of the show, past and present. Its charm and style will embiggen your heart and soul.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    90
    It may not have the depth of Sim City or the dedicated following of FarmVille but Tapped Out is still a thoroughly entertaining and addictive experience; arguably the best videogame based on The Simpsons yet.
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    The Simpsons: Tapped Out does nothing new when it comes to freemium gaming, but the opportunity to create one's personal Springfield, along with trademark Simpsons humor, makes it hard to resist. It's less "doh", and more "woo hoo."
  4. Sep 30, 2012
    80
    It's Cityville with the Simpsons, simple as that. Fans of the TV series should definitely try this out.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    77
    If it weren't for unlocking more things and seeing what the different characters have to say, it can get a little boring and uninteresting.
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    50
    The Simpsons has everything you need for an excellent free-to-play game, including universal appeal, a wealth of material, and excellent little sound bytes like "D'oh" and Krusty's iconic laugh. It's just a shame that Electronics Arts has to choke the life out of that wonder with their oppressive Origin service.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Puzzlingly, it seems there are more than enough people whose standards for entertainment are low enough that companies can make a lot of money with products like The Simpsons: Tapped Out. The problem is, that this takes away resources for the development of 'real games'. Economically, it might be a sound strategy, but it's also one that could conceivably prompt me to quit this job some day.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    The Simpsons: Tapped Out has the same idea as other games like Smurf's Village or any other game where you have to build a town or city or anything like that. What makes the Tapped Out truly amazing is it's hilarious script, including 4 cut-scenes that will make you laugh time after time again. But what makes this just over the top is that, you know everybody. You're familiar with the Simpson's family and the Kwik-E-Mart. It makes the whole game enjoyable. A must get whether you're a Simpson's fan or not. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    This game is a well designed, incredibly rewarding social game using real-time to set characters on missions (each a set number of hours) and then returning later to collect the spoils of their labors. The game does have some very overpriced "donuts" being currency for premium content purchased with real cash, or won through the mystery box. It's fun, though you do need patience for this very addictive game. A must-have for any tablet owner Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    As others have said, there are elements of city building, a social game in that you can visit friends' towns. There are task assignments for characters and witty scripts but most importantly this is not a money grab game. It won't glitch up because you don't rate it at five stars. It is playable for free. There are some items that need cash to unlock, but they aren't truly essential to playing the game. This is also not a twitchy game. It's not for adrenalin junkies or those who want to play through. It is fine for all ages and you just need one mostly working finger.

    Suggestion for Developers: A fun expansion that they could do would be to have microgames which could be a little twitchy, like go to Krustyland and actually play the ring toss, or fish in Chalmers' pond.
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    7
    I have to admit I've never even watched one episode of the show. I picked this game up on a whim because it was free, and because I've was curious to see if "The Simpsons" are as funny as everyone says. Suffice to say that "Tapped Out" doesn't skimp out on any jokes or fan-service. It's very funny and filled with various characters, locations, and references to and from the show. The gameplay is mixture between a social game and a city builder. It's a lot of fun to play, but suffers from one key issue; timers. Everything from building a house to completing a quest takes a certain amount of real time. The problem with this is when you're waiting on one or more tasks to be completed you're not playing the game. So the core gameplay consists of starting up the game, starting a task, and then waiting for that task to complete. This makes it very much a casual gamers game, which isn't a bad thing, but I would rather sit down and play for more than a few minutes at a time while I wait for the game to send my phone an update telling me that a task has been completed. Still it's not a bad game, it has kept me entertained and coming back, and it will continue to. Even as someone who's not familiar with the show I found myself laughing a lot with this game. So even if you're not a fan this is worth a download. It's fun and humorous, and that's what keeps me coming back despite the timers. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    I've never played a game like this before, so this is coming from someone who is new to the whole "building a city" type game. I loved it. I've always loved anything Simpsons related and I took great joy in discovering new characters, missions, and buildings. But then the connection errors began... This game requires a connection to the EA servers at all times. This makes absolutely no sense to me and when it fails to connect (which seems to be often) you are unable to play the game at all. Thankfully I've not invested in buying special items (ie. donuts) so it's no loss for me. But I really miss this game. Haven't been able to connect to EA's servers for two days. When it works it's a lot of fun, but they need to fix this server nonsense. Collapse
  6. Apr 3, 2014
    7
    okay simpson's new game tapped out . is like the new minecraft. its enjoyable and fun but its to hard .
    Grade
    B............................................... Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Such a stupid game of taking care of your stupid house. It has no relation with the real meaning of the show. In the show, the Simpsons always talk for things about the sex. Here, it has nothing like this. Very
    irrelativeness.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews