Trials Frontier iOS

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 9, 2014

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
Stream On
  1. Grab It Magazine
    May 2, 2014
    The core experience of delicately balancing your rider’s weight alongside bursts of the throttle is as finely-tuned here as it is with a controller, far exceeding my expectations for simple touch-based inputs. [Episode 4, April 2014]
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    Trials Frontier is a great exponent of the genre on the mobile, if not the best. The only limitation is due to the impossibility of playing long session because of some bad choices related to in-app purchases.
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    Trials Frontier finally brings the famed stunt racing franchise to mobile, but how much does its free-to-play nature affect the game?
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    If you’re a Trials fan looking for a solid mobile package, then get this game. If you want a fuller experience, then you’ll have to look elsewhere.
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    Trials Frontier is an excellent action experience for iOS that nails the essence of Trials, and gives you so much for free making it well worth your time. Download Trials Frontier, you’ll be glad you did.
  6. Apr 10, 2014
    Trials Frontier is a surprisingly decent translation of the console series, successfully miniaturising the franchise’s precision gameplay for touchscreen, while keeping the free-to-play restrictions within tolerance levels.
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    If it wasn't buried under countless menus and all the red tape resulting from the freemium model, Trials Frontier would be a game to recommend to friends. The gameplay of Trials Frontier is smothered by its fun-breaking structure.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    Stunning mobile edition of the classic motocross saga Trials. Good and challenging fun with a graphical comic touch.
  9. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 7, 2014
    Frontier doesn't stand so well on its own, but it's a neat free appetiser. [Issue#249, p.77]
  10. Apr 12, 2014
    Even with some annoying free-to-elements that can be very difficult to swallow and take away from the Trials experience a bit, this winds up being a pretty sweet ride that stands out on its own.
  11. Apr 10, 2014
    Trials Frontier looks and sounds great, and plays smoothly.
  12. Apr 10, 2014
    It's not enough that Trials Frontier has mastered the gameplay of the series on its new platform. The inflated structure that surrounds it – whether you pay or not – obscures what makes Frontier worth playing.
  13. Apr 10, 2014
    A nice game of tricks and tribulations, traditionalist Trials fans might be put off by Frontier, but newcomers will lap it up.
  14. Apr 14, 2014
    A Trials game that asks for luck instead of skill is a misstep, and the freemium formula makes it more unforgivable.
  15. May 7, 2014
    Trials Frontier looks and is controlled like a Trials game, but the free-to-play elements are so rooted that you can’t ignore them, and you’ll probably leave the game very soon.
  16. 60
    For fans who've desired to take Trials on the go, there's a lot to enjoy here, but there's no denying that the F2P mechanics and digital controls sink the ruts a bit too deep at times.
  17. 60
    Amazingly fun game shoe-horned into an annoying freemium model with timers, limits on gas and endless dialogue. What could easily be the most fun Trials yet disappoints. I will be racing on with Bike Baron and Motoheroz HD, at least there I can play whenever I feel like it.
  18. Apr 10, 2014
    Frontier ultimately stands as a fun, polished motorcycle game bloated by its own free-to-play filler. It has plenty to offer – including some brilliantly spectacular visuals. Things are a little too repetitive, however, and something special is lost through Frontier’s particular capitalist make-up.
  19. Apr 10, 2014
    The upside is that the rebalanced difficulty makes Trials Frontier the perfect entry point for new players, but series veterans will have to keep waiting to get their full Trials fix on a smartphone.
  20. Apr 17, 2014
    Finally: Trials comes to iOS and in the end it is merely a watered down free-to-play version with focus on in app purchases.
  21. Apr 14, 2014
    Microtransactions, a lot of loading and somewhat sluggish controls prevent Trials Frontier from reaching true potential.
  22. Apr 14, 2014
    Trials would have been able to survive the free to play treatment. But coupled with the downgrade in precision and, consequently, the lacking will to challenge the player, Frontier just doesn't manage to 'wow' in the usual Trials way.
  23. Apr 10, 2014
    The true mark of a great F2P game is when you don’t feel like you’re being punished for not handing over some of the coin in your back pocket. A great F2P game Trials Frontier certainly is not.
  24. Apr 10, 2014
    Free-to-play works when you earn the trust of your players over time, but RedLynx instead prods you at every opportunity to remind you that you haven’t paid for your game yet. Even so, once dredged from beneath the cloying mass of microtransactions that suffocate it, Trials Frontier isn’t a bad game as such. It is, however, a very bad Trials game.
  25. Apr 10, 2014
    You'll still catch glimpses of the game you remember in amongst that clutter; whether that's enough to have you splashing out on virtual gems is another matter.
  26. Games Master UK
    Jun 7, 2014
    We've seen worse, but this is still a disgraceful payment system. [July 2014, p.79]
  27. Apr 15, 2014
    If you can deal with the business model, or are happy to waste a few hours before abandoning the game entirely, Trials Frontier is pretty, fairly playable, and reasonably fun. But stick around and the veneer is soon stripped away to reveal endless, soulless grinding to appease cartoon simpletons.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    Trials Frontier is a game where you can play it for a week and not get bored immideatly. Unfortunately, the game got an issue with questTrials Frontier is a game where you can play it for a week and not get bored immideatly. Unfortunately, the game got an issue with quest progression when you get to the tier 3 bikes and though it may seem like coins aren't an issue in the game, they will be quickly after 2-3 weeks of playing. Gems aren't difficult to get hold of. The fortune wheel after each track can be manipulated to get gems multiple times in a row or whatever item you want. There are no issues of playing this game without paying anything, it's just that the game is littered with the option to use gems.

    There are a few good things about it. The hourly slot machine is a good twist to the game and gives you a good amount of stuff if you use it a few times per day. Using it more gives you better rewards but the challenges get slightly more difficult. Which is good as this game franchise is all about skill progression. ANBA is a good tool to improve your times, even though sometimes it's choosing tracks that are difficult to get a better time on. And then there's the amount of tracks in the game. Right now I have about 55 tracks unlocked and about half of the map uncovered, but then you have the issue with the fuel, so you can't play all of them frequently.
    Then you have the most important thing. It's Trials and it got a good physics engine, you're still controlling the rider, not the bike when leaning. You can't complain that this game 'is the same **** as everything else'.

    There's a lot of things that can be done better and smoother. Some of the prices for things in game and in-app purchases should be lowered, at this moment a lot of them are very high. And there are many things that needs change, but are impossible to change unless RedLynx wants to completely change the F2P model of the game. But you should definitely try this game if you haven't played Trials before (and if you have). You can play this game for a while during the initial 10 levels without having to wait for fuel and then decide if it's worth it or not.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2015
    An utterly despicable game using despicable methods to make you pay to win. Why not release it at a fixed price? I would have gladly boughtAn utterly despicable game using despicable methods to make you pay to win. Why not release it at a fixed price? I would have gladly bought it. After a while you hit a wall where the game pits you against online players who have the better bikes and gear.. Why do that? Then you have tracks that are impossible to complete unless you pay to upgrade your bike... The amount you pay to get a full experience is more than quadruple the price of a console game and you could then buy a console too. If you want to progress normally like a console Trials game, I'm talking £79 $79 for a bunch of coins... Same price for diamonds and so on. Yeah back to the progress wall that you hit... You get to missions that you can't complete... Characters that you can't win against... Pitted against live opponents who have more power you... Then your story missions dry out because you can't get anywhere!! All geared to force you to pay. I'm not paying over £100 and more for a trials game on a mobile phone. Not when the superior console versions have never been more than £20. So yeah after I couldn't get anywhere there was no choice but to delete it. The one single point I give it is that it was ok while it lasted. What a waste of my time. Avoid. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2015
    I was really liking this game until I starting having problems connecting with my friends, then I could not participate in any competitionsI was really liking this game until I starting having problems connecting with my friends, then I could not participate in any competitions then I tried to reload the game and I lost everything. Did not like the game after that. Full Review »