• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore a vast world on your motorcycle. Compete against your friends on Global Leaderboards. Master physics-based tracks to challenge the world's top riders for the best times. Race your motorcycle through a world of adventure, crazy characters, and unfairly addictive tracks!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. May 2, 2014
    80
    The core experience of delicately balancing your rider’s weight alongside bursts of the throttle is as finely-tuned here as it is with a controller, far exceeding my expectations for simple touch-based inputs. [Episode 4, April 2014]
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    If you’re a Trials fan looking for a solid mobile package, then get this game. If you want a fuller experience, then you’ll have to look elsewhere.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    76
    If it wasn't buried under countless menus and all the red tape resulting from the freemium model, Trials Frontier would be a game to recommend to friends. The gameplay of Trials Frontier is smothered by its fun-breaking structure.
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    65
    A Trials game that asks for luck instead of skill is a misstep, and the freemium formula makes it more unforgivable.
  5. 60
    Amazingly fun game shoe-horned into an annoying freemium model with timers, limits on gas and endless dialogue. What could easily be the most fun Trials yet disappoints. I will be racing on with Bike Baron and Motoheroz HD, at least there I can play whenever I feel like it.
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    59
    Finally: Trials comes to iOS and in the end it is merely a watered down free-to-play version with focus on in app purchases.
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    40
    If you can deal with the business model, or are happy to waste a few hours before abandoning the game entirely, Trials Frontier is pretty, fairly playable, and reasonably fun. But stick around and the veneer is soon stripped away to reveal endless, soulless grinding to appease cartoon simpletons.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. May 26, 2014
    10
    Trials Frontier is a great mobile experience. You have the great 2D physics based racing game plus uograding and playing a lot of tracks. Of course you have to pay at a certain point in the game but until then you are fine to enjoy the game for free.

    And i payed 20€ for the Trials Fusin game and puting that kind of money into Trials Frontier is totally fine for me. Plus you get unlocks if you finish certain tracks in both games. Its a really fun game and i am glad i supported the developers. You can do too.
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    7
    A decent Trials game made free-to-play on mobile devices. While they nailed the series physics based gameplay, the free-to-play structure and mission based gameplay do make it feel like a noticeably different experience. Grinding through missions and levels for characters might be a turn off for some, especially those who want a classic Trails experience, but for those who know that this style of gameplay is expected in most mobile games will not have an issue.

    As far as the in-purchases go, they aren't that big of a deal. Like most games they make it faster to progress, but the game provides many alternatives so that you don't have to dish out your cash. This may mean the game can feel like a grind for you at times, but it doesn't really ruin what is otherwise an enjoyable experience. The biggest issue I have with the game is that from a technical aspect it's not the greatest. Load times can be irritatingly long and freezing can occur during the loading screens. I also would have hard times getting the game to start without a wifi connection available. These issues are what got in the way of my fun the most.

    Overall the game has some pretty big issues. Issues that will turn off the more easily irritated among us. That being said it is still a fun game. Considering it's micro-transactions aren't necessary I have to say it's free-to-play structure doesn't ruin the series. So if you're a Trials fan who wants to take one of the series on the go, then I believe this will work for you. It has some noticeable changes to the series form, and some technical issues, but overall the expected Trials gameplay is here and I believe it will keep you coming back.
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    Trials Frontier is a game where you can play it for a week and not get bored immideatly. Unfortunately, the game got an issue with quest progression when you get to the tier 3 bikes and though it may seem like coins aren't an issue in the game, they will be quickly after 2-3 weeks of playing. Gems aren't difficult to get hold of. The fortune wheel after each track can be manipulated to get gems multiple times in a row or whatever item you want. There are no issues of playing this game without paying anything, it's just that the game is littered with the option to use gems.

    There are a few good things about it. The hourly slot machine is a good twist to the game and gives you a good amount of stuff if you use it a few times per day. Using it more gives you better rewards but the challenges get slightly more difficult. Which is good as this game franchise is all about skill progression. ANBA is a good tool to improve your times, even though sometimes it's choosing tracks that are difficult to get a better time on. And then there's the amount of tracks in the game. Right now I have about 55 tracks unlocked and about half of the map uncovered, but then you have the issue with the fuel, so you can't play all of them frequently.
    Then you have the most important thing. It's Trials and it got a good physics engine, you're still controlling the rider, not the bike when leaning. You can't complain that this game 'is the same **** as everything else'.

    There's a lot of things that can be done better and smoother. Some of the prices for things in game and in-app purchases should be lowered, at this moment a lot of them are very high. And there are many things that needs change, but are impossible to change unless RedLynx wants to completely change the F2P model of the game. But you should definitely try this game if you haven't played Trials before (and if you have). You can play this game for a while during the initial 10 levels without having to wait for fuel and then decide if it's worth it or not.
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    3
    I remove/delete this game from my ipad.. suck.. need new bikes for each mision,
    For new bike, u need booster to get win a blueprints..

    Booster?? u need real money to buy a booster for 2 hours run
    Collapse
  5. Apr 20, 2014
    2
    Trials Frontier could have been an excellent Trials experience on the iOS platform if not for the free-to-play business model. The game is riddled with tasks involving grinding and time sinks, all in an attempt to encourage the player to purchase resources, and that becomes expensive fairly quickly if one wants normal gameplay progression. Verdict: Not recommended. Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2014
    1
    This is probably the most frustrating game i have ever wasted my time on. It is based upon the 'pay to win play to lose' concept, giving you a mission to first race an oppenent and then spin a wheel to get a CHANCE to win the item you need, otherwise go back and try again. Some tracks are intentionally made impossible to complete without paying diamonds which are nearly impossible to get your hands on without paying up. Otherwise it can be a lot of fun To a certain point whereafter it gets stupid difficult and you will be spamming the retry button. I dont recommend wasting your time with this piece of s&!%. Expand