• Publisher: Bulkypix
  • Release Date: Oct 10, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    100
    If you want to play a beautiful, clever physics puzzler, and learn a little something about fonts along the way, then Type:Rider is for you. Period.
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    100
    Type:Rider is an incredibly gorgeous, fun, educational game.
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    A great example of how the infectious indie scene is facilitating a gaming revolution. So much more than forgettable, popcorn entertainment, it manages to be a deep and enriching without sacrificing fun. [Issue 0, January 2014]
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    90
    In spite of these shortcomings, you absolutely must play Type: Rider. I don't care if you aren't interested in typography, because it doesn't matter. It's an intricately-designed masterpiece that constantly throws fresh challenges and situations at you for the entire run of the game.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    Type:Rider couldn't be a more unlikely game, really. It's a collision of visual and gameplay styles topped off with an incredibly narrow educational focus, and yet through ingenious design and polished gameplay it emerges as one of the best mobile titles of the year. You don't have to be a graphic design student to enjoy this one.
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    Type:Rider succeeds not only in making the story of typography looking interesting, but also, even better, in using that unusual background in the best way, with inspired graphics and interesting pieces of information.
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    If you’re looking for nonstop action, something tells me that you really have no interest in typography or simply platform puzzling. But, if you’re looking to slow down your gaming time and learn a bit about history, then you can’t do better than Type: Rider.
  8. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    But despite these minor annoyances, Type:Rider is still as elegant as anything in mobile gaming today, and the constantly changing canvas is always brimming with inspiration and captivating ways to think about words, and the letters that help to craft them in particular.
  9. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    Getting around has its frustrating moments, but Type:Rider remains a fascinating interactive exploration of typography that's unlike anything else on the App Store.
  10. Oct 12, 2013
    80
    As educational as it is fun, Type:Rider uses environments composed of letters to teach the history of fonts.
  11. Oct 11, 2013
    80
    Even floaty physics and control issues can’t derail this absolutely stunning interactive history of typography/platformer.
  12. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    A solid and entertaining platformer, Type:Rider has a few niggling problems, but it's still worth a look.
  13. Oct 16, 2013
    60
    Generous checkpoints alleviate some of the control issues, and the unique visual style is almost worth the price of admission on its own, but Type: Rider falls just short of its lofty vision.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    Just to mention - I've just finished the ANDROID version of the game, not the iOS, but I assume it's pretty much the same.

    Type:Rider is a
    Just to mention - I've just finished the ANDROID version of the game, not the iOS, but I assume it's pretty much the same.

    Type:Rider is a cool platformer which mixes nicely video gaming with knowledge.
    In the game you play as two dots, and you're going to run around with these two in a world which would teach you about the evolution of fonts and writing.

    The idea is nice, the execution is pretty awesome, and while I'm not sure how many people would be fascinated by the subject this game focuses, it's still a lovely way to pass some time, especially in this version which fits great to smartphones.

    The artistic style of the game is also very nice to watch, and the settings of each level are enjoyable, and while some sections could be rather frustrating, the game usually flows well and I really enjoyed most of it!

    I hope to see some more games like that in the future as this one presents a very interesting and unique ideas!
    Full Review »