Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Captivating, elegant, and fiendishly clever, Waking Mars delivers a science-fiction epic that's a delight to explore, and rewarding to play.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    89
    The detail is astounding. [Aug 2012, p.86]
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    88
    Despite some shadows and a not-so-deep game mechanic, Waking Mars is an amazing adventure game, with great atmosphere and wonderful sound design. A top notch experience from the developers behind Spider: The Secret of Bryce Manor.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    100
    Spider was an amazing experiment in storytelling; Waking Mars raises the bar on quality in long-form iOS games. Neither should be missed under any circumstances. Get this game. Whether you adore it as I do or not, it's worth experiencing.
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    Waking Mars is a smart, well-crafted game whose smart complexity means it won't appeal to everyone.
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Waking Mars offers a unique, engaging, atmospheric experience you won't find anywhere else.
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    Waking Mars mixes human curiosity with a fascinating storyline straight out of the pages of a sci-fi classic; learn to master Mars' complex ecosystem and find out whether or not there truly is sentient life close to home.
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    Just as Eufloria impressed us with its incorporation of naturalistic aspects into an RTS shell, Waking Mars has built its science fiction adventure around creating and cultivating plant life to reinvigorate the fourth rock from the sun.
  9. Apr 23, 2012
    100
    Waking Mars is just about the coolest new thing I've seen someone do with a side-scrolling Castlevania/Metroid exploration game.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 26, 2014
    8
    Waking Mars is one of iPad greatest essentials, setting a new combination of adventure and plat former. It is one of the best on iOS and is aWaking Mars is one of iPad greatest essentials, setting a new combination of adventure and plat former. It is one of the best on iOS and is a true pioneer. 81/100 Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    I actually have the game for the Android operating system but since I could not find that version of the game on Metacritic I entered myI actually have the game for the Android operating system but since I could not find that version of the game on Metacritic I entered my review here.

    Waking Mars is a wonderful and creative game which portrays the efforts of a two-person team exploring lifeforms beneath the surface of Mars. The life forms are portrayed as several individuals in a complex ecosystem, a feature that I particularly note for it's creativeness. I feel like this game could be used to engage students in biology classes, at least in the respect that it would give them a (rough) idea of how lifeforms arise and how evolution provides a process for competing organisms to arise, which in turn creates ecological balance. I also feel that it provides a nice counter-point to standard sci-fi video game and movie fare which generally seems to portray nature as a violent, mystical, inexplicable and seemingly always opposed to the existence of man.

    If you are looking for a unique experience amongst the myriad of (often mediocre) independent video games produced for the iOS and Android operating systems I would give this game a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
    Full Review »