Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is easy enough for anyone to pick up, hard enough to make even the most seasoned players pull out their hair, and a must-play for hack-'n-slash enthusiasts.
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    It’s the kind of game you’ll sit down to play one session of, and the next thing you know you’ve killed the battery on your phone.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Stunningly beautiful, jam-packed with replay value and secrets, and loaded with tons of great action, Wayward Souls is an absolute must-have.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    One of the finest action-adventure experiences you can have on any device, let along mobile, Wayward Souls is an essential purchase.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is a roguelike-inspired action-RPG that sets a high bar for other games to compare to.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls blend of action and mystery is a compelling mix that instils a sense of determined curiosity every time I pick it up for another round of dungeon crawling. Players that enjoy RPGs and action games will find the challenge, tactical depth and intrigue-laden plot and characters highly rewarding, however a measure of patience is recommended.
  7. May 14, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls is another hit from Rocketcat Games: a demanding, frustrating but wonderfully executed roguelike that stands out as one of the best mobile games of the year.
  8. May 9, 2014
    90
    It just goes to show that games with bold design and content-rich features can find a home on any platform.
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls offers engaging gameplay mixed with an expansive world to create a must buy iOS gaming experience.
  10. Jun 29, 2014
    88
    A charming and challenging mobile roguelike, with plenty of depth to justify the cost of admission. [Aug 2014, p.76]
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    Wayward Souls is a fun, very demanding and deep roguelike that should give you plenty of satisfaction.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Awesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deserves our support. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    In TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and you have that option available, this game probably isn't that fun. I played this for about an hour. It does seem to have a lot of depth. and its not easy. Seems to be a lot of ways to upgrade this, and attack with this and defend with that. There are many characters to play with as well. Its probably more fun than I had if I played more too. Its just I put down Dark Souls 2 down just awhile ago, and I haven't beat it yet, so I think I'd rather play that before I beat a game that is similar but not as good. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    Wayward souls is mostly enjoyable, but I feel that it requires too much out of the player. It doesn't really have a pick up and play style like some other mobile games. But what it does do is give you a mobile game that will glue you to your phone for a good hour or so. Also, there are multiple classes to play with within the game. With that said with my 5 or so hours of play I found myself always leaning towards the warrior class as he has the most health and his attacks are consistently accurate, all the other classes though are way too difficult to the point as where i can barely get past a few rooms before my character is dead or mostly dead. With that being said this game is pretty good overall as it has some fairly good looking 16-bit graphics, fun yet challenging combat, varied monsters and bosses, and is better than most other games you will find on the app store. Full Review »