Wayward Souls iOS

Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Stream On
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is easy enough for anyone to pick up, hard enough to make even the most seasoned players pull out their hair, and a must-play for hack-'n-slash enthusiasts.
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    It’s the kind of game you’ll sit down to play one session of, and the next thing you know you’ve killed the battery on your phone.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Stunningly beautiful, jam-packed with replay value and secrets, and loaded with tons of great action, Wayward Souls is an absolute must-have.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    One of the finest action-adventure experiences you can have on any device, let along mobile, Wayward Souls is an essential purchase.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is a roguelike-inspired action-RPG that sets a high bar for other games to compare to.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls blend of action and mystery is a compelling mix that instils a sense of determined curiosity every time I pick it up for another round of dungeon crawling. Players that enjoy RPGs and action games will find the challenge, tactical depth and intrigue-laden plot and characters highly rewarding, however a measure of patience is recommended.
  7. May 14, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls is another hit from Rocketcat Games: a demanding, frustrating but wonderfully executed roguelike that stands out as one of the best mobile games of the year.
  8. May 9, 2014
    90
    It just goes to show that games with bold design and content-rich features can find a home on any platform.
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls offers engaging gameplay mixed with an expansive world to create a must buy iOS gaming experience.
  10. Games Master UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    88
    A charming and challenging mobile roguelike, with plenty of depth to justify the cost of admission. [Aug 2014, p.76]
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    Wayward Souls is a fun, very demanding and deep roguelike that should give you plenty of satisfaction.
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    It isn’t perfect, but for anyone who likes action-RPGs or a worthy challenge, Wayward Souls is a solid choice.
  13. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 7, 2014
    80
    An extremely enjoyable rogue-like that works really well on iOS (but still, Vita version please). [Issue#249, p.76]
  14. May 8, 2014
    80
    Intense, engaging and devilishly hard Roguelike RPG granted with a very atmospheric 16 bit feeling.
  15. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Wayward Souls is an intense challenge, but that only makes the feeling of reward all the greater when you finally succeed, and unlock the next multi-floor deathtrap to explore.
  16. May 7, 2014
    78
    The fact that Rocketcat have so aptly nailed the ratio of bitter to sweet is an achievement unto itself: rarely does a game as punishing as Wayward Souls bear up so well under repeated playthroughs.
  17. Apr 25, 2014
    75
    You probably haven’t played anything on iOS to prepare you for Wayward Souls, even its spiritual successor. Some will try this game once and never play it again, while others will revel in the bloodbath.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Awesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deservesAwesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deserves our support. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    In TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and youIn TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and you have that option available, this game probably isn't that fun. I played this for about an hour. It does seem to have a lot of depth. and its not easy. Seems to be a lot of ways to upgrade this, and attack with this and defend with that. There are many characters to play with as well. Its probably more fun than I had if I played more too. Its just I put down Dark Souls 2 down just awhile ago, and I haven't beat it yet, so I think I'd rather play that before I beat a game that is similar but not as good. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    A perfectly executed rogue-like, and finally, a real challenge! This game reminds me of the old classics, where you can't just walk throughA perfectly executed rogue-like, and finally, a real challenge! This game reminds me of the old classics, where you can't just walk through the game, even on the harder difficulty. You really have to earn it, and you'll love every second of it. The difficulty is challenging without seeming totally impossible. You get farther and farther and it keeps you wanting more. The story is fantastic, which is rare these days, and I enjoyed how it unfolded through the plot lines of all six main characters. The game-play is intuitive and feels very natural, which is something lacking from a lot of action games out there right now. The graphics are phenomenal. It's as if they managed to modernize retro graphics - beautiful, yet nostalgic. The lighting in the game is my favorite pack; it gives it a very haunting touch. Replay value is outstanding on this title. The rogue-like nature of the games keeps every play-through different and exciting. Some play-throughs are fairly uneventful, and in others you will stumble across a secret door loaded with treasure, special dialogue, or unique monsters to battle. The hats are surprisingly fun to collect, and now the game features temporary pets as well, which leads me to another replay-value point: the developers are STILL actively releasing MEANINGFUL updates. New features, new dungeon layouts, the pets feature, more hats (I believe), and they are planning to release a new character in the spring with a whole new story line. Best of all, the new content will cost you nothing. This game is 100% pay and play - no in-game advertising or purchase whatsoever. None. This is an all-around fantastic game, and one that is well worth the money! Full Review »